Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: FT-8  (Read 1655 times)
W3BJ
Member

Posts: 33




Ignore
« on: December 04, 2017, 10:18:23 AM »

anyone know how to set up TS990sat to WJSTx software. I load it on computer, all it does is just sit there. Copies nothing. gone thru setup mode, box comes up setup not right. tried a hundred times.
Logged
KK7JS
Member

Posts: 402




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2017, 10:51:56 AM »

Could you describe your setup in a little more detail? What kind of connection do you have between your TS990 and PC? Is there any other ham software you typically use with it?

I have a TS990 and use HRD. I recently installed WSJT-x and used the HRD configuration option and had it working in short order.
« Last Edit: December 04, 2017, 10:54:09 AM by KK7JS » Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 1468




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2017, 12:36:46 PM »

If you can't figure it out, you can email me and I will give you my phone number and we can talk on the phone and use teamviewer 12 so i can look at your PC, and we can get it going.  I have helped dozens of guys get set up.  Try yourself, but if you get frustrated, and can't make any progress, contact me.

James K0UA
Logged
KJ3N
Member

Posts: 390




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2017, 04:56:17 PM »

Did you install time sync software like the manual (you have read the manual, right?) tells you in section 3?
Logged
W3BJ
Member

Posts: 33




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2017, 05:35:06 PM »

Yes I installed time software. I have usb cable from USB port in rear of 990 to laptop win 7. I do not use HRD . It keeps telling me my setup confoguration is wrong. I dont know what to paramenters to use everything I use is faulted. My question is what databits, speed,   mainly the setup screen.
Logged
WW7KE
Member

Posts: 609




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2017, 05:38:10 PM »

My question is what databits, speed,   mainly the setup screen.

Check the manual for your rig first.  It may have the serial protocol fixed at a certain baud rate, parity, etc.
Logged

He speaks fluent PSK31...  One QSO with him earns you 5BDXCC...  His Wouff Hong has two Wouffs... Hiram Percy Maxim called HIM "The Old Man..."  He is... The Most Interesting Ham In The World!
W8VVE
Member

Posts: 237




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: December 04, 2017, 06:14:39 PM »

Did you download & install Kenwood's virtual com port driver?   Sam W8VVE
Logged
W3BJ
Member

Posts: 33




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2017, 05:02:44 AM »

I keep getting errror message: do you want to re-configure transeiver settings. I dont know what to change or where to set it. I can hear the ft8 signals fine, the wsjt program just doesnt put them on the screen I am sure its just a keystroke
Logged
AA2UK
Member

Posts: 383




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2017, 05:57:56 AM »


Do you have this document?
http://www.kenwood.com/i/products/info/amateur/ts_990/pdf/ts990_usb_audio_manual_e_rev1.pdf
Bill, AA2UK
« Last Edit: December 05, 2017, 06:01:40 AM by AA2UK » Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 1468




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: December 05, 2017, 02:31:17 PM »

We got him going..
Logged
W3BJ
Member

Posts: 33




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2017, 05:26:16 PM »

SUCCESS.  TAKES A LITTLE TWEEKING
Logged
KK7JS
Member

Posts: 402




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2017, 06:12:45 PM »

Glad to hear, and hope to hear you on the air.
Logged
W3BJ
Member

Posts: 33




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: December 10, 2017, 01:50:05 PM »

My WSJT program now shows me error message: hamlib: program times out while trying to communicate with rig.  I didnt change anything   was working fine.  Kenwood ts990 with wsjyx programs usb cable to win 7 laptop   John
Logged
AA2UK
Member

Posts: 383




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: December 10, 2017, 06:34:09 PM »

My WSJT program now shows me error message: hamlib: program times out while trying to communicate with rig.  I didnt change anything   was working fine.  Kenwood ts990 with wsjyx programs usb cable to win 7 laptop   John
Have you by chance hit the config tab in the main WSJT X Window?
Try a restart of the rig and the computer.
Bill, AA2UK
Logged
NN2X
Member

Posts: 247




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: December 11, 2017, 05:14:44 AM »

I used HRD, and then installed WJSTx software

HRD folks worked with me to set up...Nice feature from  WJSTx software it connects directly to the HRD software.

HRD, works directly into the USB, with one cable (Both signalling and control)...

Nice and clean...

I like this set up, as I can jump to PSK 31, or the magic mode Olivia using HRD, and then FT8 with WJSTx software. All seamless and only one cable to the rig (Via USB)

Also, if you have trouble, with HRD the help desk is awesome..

C U on the bands,

NN2X,
TOM
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!