The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: All mode receiver ?  (Read 641 times)
AA9KG

Ignore
« on: December 04, 2017, 07:06:31 PM »

I am trying to get into working FO29 and AO7 and already own a yaesu 857d. I want to be full duplex and don't think I really need a full transceiver.  Maybe something like the icom r7000 or something like that?  I am very new to working the birds but quickly found out how hard it is to work ssb or cw when you can't spot yourself.
Any/all help would be appreciated.
Brian. AA9KG
WD9EWK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2017, 07:46:47 PM »

I am trying to get into working FO29 and AO7 and already own a yaesu 857d. I want to be full duplex and don't think I really need a full transceiver.  Maybe something like the icom r7000 or something like that?  I am very new to working the birds but quickly found out how hard it is to work ssb or cw when you can't spot yourself.
Any/all help would be appreciated.
Brian. AA9KG

For FO-29, your 857 could do what an 817 does in this old AMSAT Journal article:

http://www.amsat.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/FT817-Arrow-SSB_Satellites-200501.pdf

There are videos on YouTube showing this technique in action with FO-29. I have a couple on my YouTube channel:

https://youtube.com/watch?v=iy-G6rD_xl4
https://youtube.com/watch?v=QRrtYiXLq28

and one done by a friend earlier this year at the Palm Springs hamfest:

https://youtube.com/watch?v=Tqx7Beibi7M