Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: TT Omni V  (Read 275 times)
W0XX
Member

Posts: 1759




Ignore
« on: October 13, 2018, 06:12:35 PM »

Anyone (other than the Eham Reviews) have an opinion on the Omni V?  Never had any radio like that.  Just curious how good it is, aside from being older TT gear now.
Logged
W0XX
Member

Posts: 1759




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2018, 05:38:44 AM »

The "reviews" are like 5-6 years old. So curious how many folks are still using them..
Logged
N8YX
Member

Posts: 1229




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2018, 04:17:33 AM »

I have one.

In some ways it's a better rig than its successor, the Omni VI. Think of it as a cross between that rig and a Paragon/P-II in terms of feature set.

Particularly useful is the all-mode squelch.

I'd sell my Omni VI long before I would the V.
Logged
WZ7U
Member

Posts: 1013




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2018, 11:53:00 AM »

I like the look of the Omni V/VI, but I've never owned any. I would if the opportunity arose.

Look out, some anonymous poster will warn you not to buy used.
Logged

For this and every day, thank you Jesus
Philippians 4:8
DL8OV
Member

Posts: 898




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2018, 12:12:26 PM »

Like all TT rigs it will have very good QSK but spare parts could be a problem.

Peter DL8OV
Logged
W0XX
Member

Posts: 1759




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2018, 04:54:34 PM »

True, the older ones like these use a lot of discrete componentry so should be okay for a while
Logged
W0XX
Member

Posts: 1759




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2018, 04:20:04 AM »

If you remove the lithium battery to replace it, will it screw up the radio or do they retain the data (CPU, etc)>
Logged
W0XX
Member

Posts: 1759




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2018, 04:58:37 AM »

Believe if memory is working in my head, you have to leave the radio on.  On this radio, you turn it on, always on 14000.0 on display which I believe is indicative of a lithium battery replacement being required...not that familiar any more with teh TTs
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!