Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: RFI on 40m only  (Read 168 times)
VE3TMT
Member

Posts: 955




Ignore
« on: December 08, 2018, 02:24:38 PM »

Running TS850S, issue is I am getting RFI back to the radio on the 40m band only. I have an mfj-915 line isolator in line and I've tried moving it around with no effect.

Any ideas?
Logged
KA5IPF
Member

Posts: 1561


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2018, 03:45:39 PM »

Let me guess. Running an inverted "V" and a full length power cord?
Logged
VE3TMT
Member

Posts: 955




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2018, 04:22:47 PM »

Let me guess. Running an inverted "V" and a full length power cord?

Alpha Delta DX-B sloper. Power cord is full length!
Logged
VE3TMT
Member

Posts: 955




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2018, 05:59:47 AM »

Let me guess. Running an inverted "V" and a full length power cord?

Alpha Delta DX-B sloper. Power cord is full length!

I've narrowed it down to the audio out line from the PC that carries the digital mode tones to the radio. Unplugging it solved the problem. I use more CW and RTTY anyway.
Logged
KA5IPF
Member

Posts: 1561


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2018, 05:38:50 PM »

Measure that power cord and compare it to a wavelength on 40m.
Logged
W9IQ
Member

Posts: 2213




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2018, 05:51:14 PM »

Let me guess. Running an inverted "V" and a full length power cord?

Alpha Delta DX-B sloper. Power cord is full length!

I've narrowed it down to the audio out line from the PC that carries the digital mode tones to the radio. Unplugging it solved the problem. I use more CW and RTTY anyway.


Try putting three or four turns of the audio cord through a type 43 toroid. As a preventative measure, do the same with any other associated cords.

- Glenn W9IQ
Logged

- Glenn W9IQ

I never make a mistake. I thought I did once but I was wrong.
AA2UK
Member

Posts: 840




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2018, 09:40:41 PM »

What Glenn said, this is classic RF feedback.
Bill AA2UK
Logged
VE3TMT
Member

Posts: 955




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2018, 12:40:34 PM »

Will try this...thank you.

Max
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!