The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Preference of studying for Extra Class  (Read 24986 times)
N2LWE

Ignore
« on: December 01, 2009, 01:56:12 AM »

Does anyone have a preference in study material for the Extra Class license? ARRL study material or Gordon West W5YI study material? Its been along time since I studied back when I went for my General Class around 1990. Back then I used Gordon Wests cassettes for code and the book for theory. Has anyone used his new material? I'm interested in the program that comes with 6 CD's and the theory book that costs $59.95. I've never used the ARRL material so I can't comment on that. Any thoughts?
WV4L

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2009, 06:01:37 PM »

Joe,
I used the ARRL book to study. I made copies of the questions in the back to use like a chapter test whenever I finished a section. I have never used the Gordan West materials so I can't make a comparison. I did of course spend time taking the online tests and making note of where my weaknesses were so that I could go back and re-read those areas. The online tests were a real help by mixing items up and giving me a chance to focus on test my taking skills.Some of the math I had to get help with, but that was easy since I work in a High School and the math teachers were very willing to help me reacquire some of my lost math skills.  Good luck on your preparation, I'm sure you'll do just fine.

Wayne C.
WV4L
KG4RUL

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2009, 06:23:09 PM »

I used the ARRL manual and their Extra Q&A book to study for my ticket.  I have used the flashcards for technician classes I have taught so I have to assume that the Extra flash cards would also be useful.
KB3LSR

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2009, 06:23:20 PM »