eHam

eHam Forums => Computers And Software => Topic started by: K6SDW on December 31, 2018, 08:02:41 PM



Title: Chirp error uploading to Yaesu VX-7r HT
Post by: K6SDW on December 31, 2018, 08:02:41 PM
Hello All, CHIRP works downloading from Yaesu VX7r but always errors out when trying to upload to the HT radio and wipes out VX-7r memories!! Any thoughts here? I'm running Windows 7. The proflic USB to serial works FB as far as I can tell.

Tnx and 73


Title: RE: Chirp error uploading to Yaesu VX-7r HT
Post by: K7RJB on January 01, 2019, 09:36:34 AM
There are possible issues regarding Prolific chips due to major counterfeiting.
The counterfeit chips do not fully support the protocols.
Prolific has also changed drivers on the newer chips and Windows may not load the correct driver.
Old Prolific stuff is usually good, it's the newer Ebay and Amazon cheapo stuff that is suspect.

FTDI is my preferred choice of MFGR for these conversion chips.

Just a heads up,
This may or may not be your problem. YMMV

Have you checked the Chirp knowledge base?
It is very well supported, even to the extent of getting unrecognized hardware to work under Linux.


Title: RE: Chirp error uploading to Yaesu VX-7r HT
Post by: G4AON on January 01, 2019, 12:51:05 PM
I used to have a VX7R. The genuine Yaesu programming lead wouldn’t work under Windows later than XP, due to using a Prolific chip. I ended up using Oracle Virtual Box to install XP under my Windows 10.

I sold the VX7R and don’t miss it one bit.

73 Dave


Title: RE: Chirp error uploading to Yaesu VX-7r HT
Post by: WB8VLC on January 02, 2019, 11:18:39 AM
I stopped using Chirp for my yaesu radios for this same reason,

I have a VX5, VX6 and VX7 and I only use VX commander now.

http://www.kc8unj.com/vx7.html


Title: RE: Chirp error uploading to Yaesu VX-7r HT
Post by: K6SDW on January 02, 2019, 05:18:29 PM
Thanks guys, with some help I'm now using Commander and it works great!

73.......ed