eHam

eHam Forums => Computers And Software => Topic started by: N4NDX on September 11, 2011, 06:28:00 PM



Title: Echolink router problem.
Post by: N4NDX on September 11, 2011, 06:28:00 PM
I`m new with Echolink and I`m ready to play but I can`t get connected and was wondering if anyone knows a way around home routers.


Title: RE: Echolink router problem.
Post by: K2JK on September 12, 2011, 01:02:54 AM
You need to open ports 5198 to 5200 on any hardware and/or software firewalls, and forward those ports to the local IP assigned to your computer.


Title: RE: Echolink router problem.
Post by: N4NDX on September 12, 2011, 06:33:30 AM
I tried to follow your directions but had no luck finding the ports nor where to go to find them, I went to fire wall and browse the page and did not take me where I needed to be. I saw were you allow or not a program but that was as far as I went. Any other suggestions.


Title: RE: Echolink router problem.
Post by: KD8DEY on September 12, 2011, 08:36:15 AM
It would help if you mentioned the type of router you have along with your windows version.

usually to access router settings you type in the routers IP address in your browser then type in the default name and password to get into the settings menu (If you haven't already changed the defaults for security reasons).

Then you will need to open ports 5198-5200 and set up port forwarding to the IP address assigned by the router for the computer that you are running echo link on.


Title: RE: Echolink router problem.
Post by: N4NDX on September 12, 2011, 08:46:18 AM
I`m using a Belkin router and Windows 7 on my PC.

David


Title: RE: Echolink router problem.
Post by: KD8DEY on September 12, 2011, 10:24:48 AM
I`m using a Belkin router and Windows 7 on my PC.

David

Router Model number?


Title: RE: Echolink router problem.
Post by: K5WLR on September 12, 2011, 10:43:37 AM
Maybe this might help. Had issues with Echolink running through my router. I was setting ports 5198 and 5199 for UDP only. It did not work. Just for snicks and grins I opened both ports for both TCP and UDP. Success! It now works! Give that a try and see if it solves your Echolink problem.

73!  :D

Will Rogers
W4WLR


Title: RE: Echolink router problem.
Post by: N4NDX on September 12, 2011, 10:49:18 AM
I`m using a Belkin router and Windows 7 on my PC.

David

Router Model number?
Model # F5D8233-4v3 

Ver 3100


Title: RE: Echolink router problem.
Post by: KD8DEY on September 12, 2011, 11:31:54 AM
http://portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/Belkin/F5D8233-4v3/Echolink.htm

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/542-windows-firewall-add-remove-exception.html


Title: RE: Echolink router problem.
Post by: KD8DEY on September 13, 2011, 05:17:53 PM
No update??....


Title: RE: Echolink router problem.
Post by: N4NDX on September 13, 2011, 08:24:03 PM
I had to leave out of town for business and not back yet, but I will keep you guys inform when I get back. Thanks for keeping up.

73 de David/n4ndx