eHam

eHam Forums => Amplifiers => Topic started by: W5KAP on May 19, 2013, 05:42:21 PM



Title: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: W5KAP on May 19, 2013, 05:42:21 PM
Guys, (and gals), I am looking into purchasing a new amp.  Right now I run a an Ameriton AL-811H.  My rig is a Kenwood TS-2000 into a Steppir Big Vertical (so it can handle the power).  I have narrowed it down to two amps:   The Tokyo High Power 1.5FKX ( I think that's the name) and the ACOM 1500.  A bit of a difference in price I know.  I am looking for ease of use and a little overhead so I don't have to push the amp too hard.  I work mostly HF SSB but also want to do PSK 31 and RTTY occasionally.  I am aware that it's probably good either way but I would like to hear from some folks who know amps well.  I think the Alpha's are a bit out of my price range.

Cheers, Kenn W5KAP
           New Braunfels, TX


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: W5KAP on May 19, 2013, 05:43:11 PM
Forgot to mention I have a dedicated 240V outlet in the shack

73 de Kenn


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: W8JX on May 19, 2013, 05:59:11 PM
I just was looking at the Acom amps a Hamvention today. The Acom 1500 is well built but while it is not a Auto tuner, it is very easy to tune and nearly fool proof. HiPower is a well built amp but Acom 1500 is rated 1500 pep and 1200 key down which beats hipower by several hundred watts. Also Acom will feed into 3 to 1 swr with no problems. Again both good amps but I would vote Acom here.


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: W5KAP on May 19, 2013, 06:03:19 PM
Thanks John, I appreciate the words of wisdom.  I am kind of leaning that way but there is a difference in price that I must consider too.  Hope you had a ball at Dayton.  I get to go every 10 years whether I like it or not!!  Next one in 2015!!!  IS there any other place that you know of other than Array Solutions where one can purchase one of these gems?

73 de Kenn


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: W8JX on May 19, 2013, 06:20:04 PM
No Kenn I do not. Then were dealing sunday/today and offered me 15% off if I wanted to take one home. Again they are both good Amps but 1500 is a legal limit amp and the hi power is not. If you do not need two antenna outputs and legal limit the Acom 1000 is about  grand less and about same power as hi power as it is rated 1000watts pep and continuous. Also Acom uses a vacuum relay for QSK and hy power does not. 


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: W5KAP on May 19, 2013, 06:36:59 PM
Awesome deal and I have heard they are a good, reputable dealership.  I only ask a I worry when there is only one place to buy anything.  15% is a great deal and I hope you'll enjoy your amp a bunch.  I'll listen for you on the air and maybe I can hear you using it.  Just curious, is it out of the box yet?  heheheh

Cheers, Kenn


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: W5KAP on May 19, 2013, 06:40:55 PM
John, you may be right.  THe 1000 looks good too and i'm sure I could live without that last 500 watts output.  It's more in the price range I was hoping for.  Does it also have the nifty TRI tune set up?

73 de Kenn


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: W8JX on May 19, 2013, 07:05:00 PM
John, you may be right.  THe 1000 looks good too and i'm sure I could live without that last 500 watts output.  It's more in the price range I was hoping for.  Does it also have the nifty TRI tune set up?

73 de Kenn

They both tune same way. The 1000 shares power supply with 1500 pretty much and why it is 1000 watts key down too. I did not buy one, I thought about it but maybe later. They offered 15% if I would take it and may have done more if I asked. I also looked at the 1011 which is a 700 watt amp but uses a pair of widely available and cheap 4cx250B's Same slick tuning and 250's only need a 30 sec warm up verse 3 min of other tubes.  I am stilling using a old Dentron with 4ea 572's at about 1000 watts. I like its 5 sec warmup.


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: KH6AQ on May 20, 2013, 02:15:25 AM
Kenn,

the THP-1500 manual says for RTTY to reduce power by 20-30% and to use the optional fan. So you are looking at 700 watts RF output.

The ACOM 1500 will run 1200 watts RTTY out of the box and handle a 3:1 VSWR.


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: W9KDX on May 23, 2013, 07:03:02 PM
Just a thought, as you seem to be going down a path I have seen before.  Moving up to a 1500 watt amp will give you a measurable difference over the 811H.  However, going to 1000 watts will not.  Before you spend $3000 for all that quality, you should make sure it is actually solving a problem.  For $3000, you could buy 3 more 811H amps and include shipping to one of the amp experts to take out all the bugs and factory defects.

But of course, that would make no sense.


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: SWL2002 on May 24, 2013, 04:25:26 AM
Guys, (and gals), I am looking into purchasing a new amp.  Right now I run a an Ameriton AL-811H.  My rig is a Kenwood TS-2000 into a Steppir Big Vertical (so it can handle the power).  I have narrowed it down to two amps:   The Tokyo High Power 1.5FKX ( I think that's the name) and the ACOM 1500.  A bit of a difference in price I know.  I am looking for ease of use and a little overhead so I don't have to push the amp too hard.  I work mostly HF SSB but also want to do PSK 31 and RTTY occasionally.  I am aware that it's probably good either way but I would like to hear from some folks who know amps well.  I think the Alpha's are a bit out of my price range.

Cheers, Kenn W5KAP
           New Braunfels, TX

Lets hope that you did not mean that you intend to run psk31 with the amp!


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: W6UV on May 24, 2013, 08:41:45 AM
Lets hope that you did not mean that you intend to run psk31 with the amp!

What's wrong with running PSK31 with an amp? I do. PSK31 is a weak-signal mode, not a QRP mode.

As long as you don't overdrive your audio, a high power PSK signal can be just as clean as a low power one.


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: W8JX on May 24, 2013, 08:52:24 AM
Lets hope that you did not mean that you intend to run psk31 with the amp!

What's wrong with running PSK31 with an amp? I do. PSK31 is a weak-signal mode, not a QRP mode.

As long as you don't overdrive your audio, a high power PSK signal can be just as clean as a low power one.

There are those that have poor receiver bandwidth or want to believe in the magic all signals equal waterfall and shudder at the thought of someone running 500 watt PSK. If you have proper filtering it is not a problem. I have run about 500 watts on PSK a few times.


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: G3RZP on May 27, 2013, 04:56:53 AM
I am looking at the Acom 1500 too. Looked nice at Dayton, got a good review in QST, and for me, the fact that I have a pair of good 4CX1000A for spares is a plus. Having spares makes the chance of needing them remote!


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: KD8MJR on May 28, 2013, 04:14:07 PM
John, you may be right.  THe 1000 looks good too and i'm sure I could live without that last 500 watts output.  It's more in the price range I was hoping for.  Does it also have the nifty TRI tune set up?

73 de Kenn

Once you use a no tune up amp like the Tokyo Hy-power you will never want to go back.  the 2500 KFx is like having a 1500+ watt Radio, you never need to even look at the Amp much less tune it! The amp just follows you from band to band
and any operator screw ups or short circuits are caught instantly so you never need to worry.


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: W8JX on May 28, 2013, 04:34:17 PM
John, you may be right.  THe 1000 looks good too and i'm sure I could live without that last 500 watts output.  It's more in the price range I was hoping for.  Does it also have the nifty TRI tune set up?

73 de Kenn

Once you use a no tune up amp like the Tokyo Hy-power you will never want to go back.  the 2500 KFx is like having a 1500+ watt Radio, you never need to even look at the Amp much less tune it! The amp just follows you from band to band
and any operator screw ups or short circuits are caught instantly so you never need to worry.

Myself I have no problem with having to tune amp (and it would not feel right not to tune it) and you still cannot beat a tube in watts per dollar and a tuner of some sorts is pretty much a must have with a solid state amp while Acom is good to go for up to 3 to 1 without the need of a tuner. The day I need a no tune amp to operate Ham radio is the day I am likely to quit hobby.


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: K7JQ on May 30, 2013, 07:24:17 AM
A "no tune" solid-state amplifier is just another technological evolution of our hobby. W8JX... why would you "quit the hobby" if you were forced to use a solid state amp? Remember back when you had to tune tube transmitters and transceivers? Did you quit the hobby when all you could buy were solid-state "no tune" transceivers?

Let's be logical here....a decision to go with a solid state amp isn't open to ridicule (maybe that's too harsh a word) that you are dumbing-down to an appliance operator. All the above posts have valid points...tube amps are (generally) cheaper per watt; they'll tune into SWR's as high as 3:1, etc. And remember...a solid-state amp is only "no tune" if fed directly into reasonably resonant antennas of less than 2:1. Otherwise they'll trip into a fault situation. So you still might have to tune a tuner, unless it too is automatic.

A decision to go one way or the other is purely individual, based on your own operating preferences and financial capabilities. Personally, I've had both, and currently use a THP HL-1.5KFX. It has served me well since 2007, with no problems through extensive contesting use. Good luck with whatever you choose.

73,   Bob K7JQ


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: G3RZP on May 31, 2013, 03:55:45 AM
A question for you guys with SS amps. Do you disconnect the amp from the antenna when not in use, or is there major protection against static and lightning induced EMP built in? Or has anyone had a failure caused by nearby thunderstorms when leaving the amp connected to the antenna but switched off?


Title: RE: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500
Post by: K7JQ on May 31, 2013, 07:54:37 AM
I have a THP HL-1.5KFX since 2007, which has operated flawlessly since then. Not sure if any "major protection" built in, but I have an Alpha Delta coax switch that I ALWAYS switch to ground when not in use. I never leave any antennas in-line, un-grounded, when not operating. Upon approaching thunderstorms, I disconnect all antennas outside. I also have an Icom IC-7600, which some users (and other Icom xcvr users) have reported ESD problems and damage. So far, no incidents on that either. Last summer, I had a direct lightning strike on my main antenna (ground-mounted screwdriver on a hill behind my house). It totally blew up the antenna and shredded the coax, but since it was disconnected outside, no damage to my radios. This summer, the replacement screwdriver is coming off the hill during our thunderstorm monsoon season. Don't want to go through that again :>)

73,   Bob K7JQ