eHam

eHam Forums => Digital => Topic started by: VK3ZSJ on October 17, 2004, 07:35:18 PM



Title: Kenwood TS2000 ACC2 & Rigblaster Pro
Post by: VK3ZSJ on October 17, 2004, 07:35:18 PM
Hi. Firstly, i must express disapointment that the Kenwoods ACC2 interface cable, brand new ,supplied with my Rigblaster, was soldered such that the pin3 fixed audio out was shorted to pin 4 Gnd. It took me a while to resovle that (chasing other candidates etc..). I also hope that it did no damage. The Kenwood doco states it has a 10k ohm output impedance.

On any mode except FM i seem unable to get sufficient "line out" levels, either direct from the ACC2, or thru the rigblaster, to drive the soundcard, despite setting the controls to maximum on the rig and the soundcard. I presently suspect the integrated soundcard on my PC (something like Ad97 brand). Has anyone else had such an experience, or can offer some advise please. Kind Regards Simon VK3ZSJ. PS: I am presntly driving the soundcard via speaker out jacks


Title: Kenwood TS2000 ACC2 & Rigblaster Pro
Post by: KG4RUL on October 18, 2004, 03:55:30 AM
I gave up using the TS2000X ACC2 plug.  My soundcard is connected through an MFJ interface to the Mike jack and the Speaker 2 plug.  This setup works well.

Dennis / KG4RUL


Title: Kenwood TS2000 ACC2 & Rigblaster Pro
Post by: AA4PB on October 18, 2004, 11:33:49 AM
I pretty much found the same issue with the Icom ACC1 fixed level audio output. The level is pretty marginal for sound card line inputs as well as several other TNCs and multimode controllers I've used over the years. My solution was to add an opamp with a small amount of gain (about 12dB as I recall).


Title: Kenwood TS2000 ACC2 & Rigblaster Pro
Post by: N3ZKP on October 18, 2004, 12:53:55 PM
Just to cover all bases ...

You do know the I/O levels on the ACC2 plug are menu-adjustable, don't you?

If you've already played with the menu levels, disregard the above. :)

Lon