The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 3CPX1500A7 Eimac ProTek MKS  (Read 13250 times)
K6CKD

Ignore
« on: December 22, 2014, 10:47:25 AM »

We know that hams seem to favor Eimac.  We also have Pro Tek and MKS out there. They are being used in the MRIs. (magnetic resonance)
Three different brands for the CPX. Is there a difference in reliability?  Is there an insider here on Eham that actually knows about the reliability and longevity of these two other brands as compared to expensive Eimac? Undecided
W3RSW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2014, 11:57:06 AM »

May not matter since purchasing agents and bean counters make the purchasing decisions. Engineers and managers used to, but those days have disappeared into the "budgeting" and quarterly report maw.

I personally buy Eimac since I'm an independent amateur and have very few equipment with which to experiment.  It appears to be a lifetime investment for me and what few I have are very reliable.

So far the pair of 8875's I bought in the 80's are still yielding full output in my homebrew amp., - Updated with GM3sek's triode control board. I expect the pair of 3cx800a7's acquired not to long ago to last the same in rotation with an older, slightly degraded pair that came with a used commercial amp.

Time will tell for the newer and now supposedly better Chinese tubes. Except for gross defects covered under warranty, the ones that last don't really have enough time  yet for long term comparisons. I understand that emissions of some of the later built of these actually exceed som Eimac originals.