Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New Acom Amps 1200 and 2100  (Read 56001 times)
KN1W
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« on: August 08, 2015, 02:59:01 PM »

Hello,
Do you fine gentlemen/YLs know if these amps are going to be available for the US?

http://www.acomcz.cz/zesilovace/acom-1200s-[id=AC1200S].html

Thanks in advance for any information,
de W1LEA ex.KN1W
Logged
W9GB
Member

Posts: 3379




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2015, 03:19:44 PM »

ACOM (based in Bulgaria) announced these 2 new HF amplifiers the last week of June 2015.
It is UNKNOWN whether ACOM or one of their US Distributors has submitted these amplifiers for FCC Certification.

The earlier 600S solid-state amplifier is available in the USA from these dealers:
HRO, Array Solutions, or DX Engineering.

DX Engineering (Ohio) recently announced they are carrying the Acom product line.
http://www.dxengineering.com/techarticles/dxepressreleases/acom-hf-power-products-now-available-at-dx-engineering

Array Solutions (Texas) has previously been sole source for the Acom amplifiers.
http://www.arraysolutions.com/Products/acom.htm

The British dealers (GB Antennas) are only accepting PRE-ORDERS,
for actual amplifier deliveries from Bulgaria -- expected by October 2015.
http://gbantennes.com/acom-1200s-hf6mwarc-p-759.html?language=en&osCsid=8038f7066cd567060cdae8b6a8cff2d5

What does that tell you?  Just In Time (JIT) production --
No orders, then minimal production build runs (limited quantities).
Carrying inventory of completed HF amplifiers for unpredictable (financially challenged) radio amateurs,
is not a profitable enterprise (no sales).
« Last Edit: August 08, 2015, 03:34:18 PM by W9GB » Logged
KN1W
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2015, 04:44:56 PM »

Thanks very much for the information, I know what you mean by the JIT products.
I will check the links provided.
Take care,
W1LEA ex.KN1W
Logged
KD8MJR
Member

Posts: 5557




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2015, 05:47:06 PM »

Thanks for the info.
I am looking forward to hearing more on these amps.
Logged

“A lie can travel half way around the world while the truth is putting on its shoes.”  (Mark Twain)
M0TTB
Member

Posts: 363




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2015, 01:19:50 AM »



The British dealers (GB Antennas) are only accepting PRE-ORDERS,
for actual amplifier deliveries from Bulgaria -- expected by October 2015.
http://gbantennes.com/acom-1200s-hf6mwarc-p-759.html?language=en&osCsid=8038f7066cd567060cdae8b6a8cff2d5


Just for minor clarification, they are a Dutch company, I believe the 'GB' comes from someone's initials (see George Van Der Burg PA8GB) ...coincidence there with your call and name  Smiley

Acom have at least 2 distributors in the UK,  the most trustworthy being Ron at http://www.vinecom.co.uk
« Last Edit: August 10, 2015, 01:26:58 AM by M0TTB » Logged

Andy
London'ish

Keeping order on
www.birdforum.net
www.shipsnostalgia.com
W3RSW
Member

Posts: 606




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2015, 05:12:20 AM »

Also fwiw in regards to original question in addition to the banner Dutch header, their advertisement states US version has 24/28 deactivated.
..if true, another lead or diode to clip. Grin
Logged

Rick, W3RSW
W8JX
Member

Posts: 13268




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2015, 12:03:55 PM »

Also fwiw in regards to original question in addition to the banner Dutch header, their advertisement states US version has 24/28 deactivated.
..if true, another lead or diode to clip. Grin

CB legacy lives on...
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
W5SRT
Member

Posts: 416




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2015, 06:32:12 AM »

A quality 1200 watt solid state amp, that's what I'm looking for.

Bring to America ASAP.

73

- Dan
Logged
VR2AX
Member

Posts: 1016




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2015, 12:07:03 AM »

Both look nice. I wonder whether having the new 2100 with a single 4CX1000 is an indicator the 1500 will be phased out.
Logged
W5SRT
Member

Posts: 416




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2015, 01:49:51 PM »

Both look nice. I wonder whether having the new 2100 with a single 4CX1000 is an indicator the 1500 will be phased out.

Looks like the 2100 does 1500W with no mode limitations, whereas the 1500 was limited to 1200W for continuous operation, so I'm guessing better cooling, maybe?  Seems logical that the 1500 would be phased out.
Logged
K7JQ
Member

Posts: 1306




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2015, 04:49:43 PM »

I read somewhere (can't recall where), seemingly official, that the 1500 will remain in the line. Apparently, the 2100 will have a heavier power supply with legal limit continuos all modes. Probably will be a few hundred dollars more.
Logged
NO9E
Member

Posts: 886




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2015, 01:29:45 PM »

ACOM600 competes with KPA500 and ACOM1200 with Expert 1.3k and JUMA1000. The last 3 are based on the same transistor module.

It seems that ACOM600 is not price competitive.  Not sure ACOM1200 will be. Expert 1.3k includes an automatic antenna switch with automatic antenna tuner for band segments. Makes for split-second QSY for multipliers even with non-resonant antennas (SWR < 3:1).     

Ignacy, NO9E
Logged
ZS6DX
Member

Posts: 100


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #12 on: August 15, 2015, 04:08:41 AM »

ACOM600 competes with KPA500 and ACOM1200 with Expert 1.3k and JUMA1000. The last 3 are based on the same transistor module.


No, the Acom 1200 and the Expert 1.3K do NOT use the same output transistors! The Expert uses a LDMOS device and the ACOM more conventional MOSFET devices.

73, Rudi de ZS6DX
Logged
NO9E
Member

Posts: 886




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2015, 03:27:06 PM »

Quote
No, the Acom 1200 and the Expert 1.3K do NOT use the same output transistors! The Expert uses a LDMOS device and the ACOM more conventional MOSFET devices.

73, Rudi de ZS6DX

OOps. Wonder why since the LDMOS devices are inexpensive and allow for smaller parts count. On the other hand, it took the Expert designer a long time getting 1.3k to market.   

W6PQL sells the LDMOS device for $208 and the complete KW board with copper sink for $825. I guess that in volume prices would be lower.   

http://w6pql.com/parts_i_can_provide.htm
Ignacy, NO9E
Logged
W9GB
Member

Posts: 3379




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: August 20, 2015, 06:45:02 AM »

I posted this information, 6 months ago, BUT I will do so again.

NXP and Freescale Announce $40 Billion Merger
March 02, 2015
http://www.nxp.com/news/press-releases/2015/03/nxp-and-freescale-announce-40-billion-merger.html

- Enhances NXP’s strategy to lead in the “Secure Connections for a Smarter World”
- Establishes #1 Automotive Semiconductor Supplier
- Establishes #1 General-purpose MCU Supplier
- Clear path to $500 million in annual cost synergies
- Combination is accretive to non-GAAP EPS in first full year

Eindhoven, The Netherlands and Austin, Texas, March 2, 2015 (CET) – NXP Semiconductors N.V. (NASDAQ: NXPI) and Freescale Semiconductor, Ltd. (NYSE: FSL) today announced that they have entered into a definitive agreement under which NXP will merge with Freescale in a transaction which values the combined enterprise at just over $40 billion. The merger creates a high performance mixed signal semiconductor industry leader, with combined revenue of greater than $10 billion. The merged entity will become the market leader in automotive semiconductor solutions and the market leader in general purpose microcontroller (MCU) products. The combined company will capitalize on the growing opportunities created by the accelerating demand for security, connectivity and processing.
====
WHY does this matter?

NXP and Freescale only had one product area, with significant overlap .
Wall Street speak, "One product line will have to be sold, jettisoned, or shuttered for approval".
That overlapping product line: LDMOS RF devices used in solid-state amplifier designs.

Initial news releases, from the executives, inducate that NXP will sell their products -- and keep the Freescale product line.  Adding to the confusion?  NXP stated its desire to rename Freescale products as NXP products -- WATCH for further developments/market confusion.

Jim, W6PQL used LDMOS for his VHF/UHF amplifiers,
BUT noted that it took a bit of work to get the NXP to "settle down" for HF amplifier usage.
http://www.w6pql.com/1_kw_sspa_for_1_8-54_mhz.htm

What I found was these parts worked very well indeed...you just need to provide some degenerative feedback to keep them stable (the gain is very high at HF). So far, I've tested this with the NXP BLF188xr and the Freescale MRFE6VP1K25H, and one plays as well as the other, no circuit changes are required.

I looked over several designs before settling on the NXP engineering example provided to me; it originally covered 3 to 30 MHz, but after considerable fussing with matching transformers and minor modifications, I managed to include 160m and 6m with a kilowatt over the entire range. Some bands are even better (1200+), but on the whole, 1kw is what you can expect when you attempt to cover such a wide range of frequencies.

« Last Edit: August 20, 2015, 02:32:44 PM by W9GB » Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!