Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New Acom Amps 1200 and 2100  (Read 56005 times)
N4MIT
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #90 on: January 10, 2018, 07:51:10 AM »

I just received an update from the sales manager at DX engineering... Basically DX Engineering has only received 5 acom 1200s since its release.  5 units total.  Secondly Acom has halted production while they on "holiday" and then move to a new facility.  This is a real poor way to stay in business in my book. 
Logged
KX2T
Member

Posts: 1103




Ignore
« Reply #91 on: January 10, 2018, 08:22:42 AM »

HRO has had 5 1200S amps that they have sold around Xmas, there next shipment will be 17 1200S amps, as far as delivery you have to call them but you might want to talk with them if you need to get one asap. There is one fellow ham on this forum who has received his 1200S and loves the amp, its IMD is better than what they specked it out at and it delivers and easy KW and then some.
Logged
N4MIT
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #92 on: January 10, 2018, 08:25:53 AM »

My bad... I ordered on December 18 2017 not 2016... I'm blaming it on my bronchitis  Angry
Logged
N4MIT
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #93 on: January 10, 2018, 09:06:22 AM »

HRO has had 5 1200S amps that they have sold around Xmas, there next shipment will be 17 1200S amps, as far as delivery you have to call them

I did call HRO and they told me that they do not expect any for at least 30 days. 
Logged
N4DJT
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #94 on: January 10, 2018, 07:24:52 PM »

Ordered the 1200s from DXE DEC 13 2017....still waiting...tic.....toc.....

Don N4DJT
Logged
N9AOP
Member

Posts: 1174




Ignore
« Reply #95 on: January 11, 2018, 09:38:13 AM »

I ordered a 2100 on 12/15 from DXE and got it on 12/18.  Obviously it was in stock and not in Bulgaria.
Art
Logged
KB6DYA
Member

Posts: 85




Ignore
« Reply #96 on: January 14, 2018, 12:57:56 PM »

The Acom 1200 review on U-Tube , The T/R relay is so noisy that it would bother me after awhile.The amp looks fine .if it was not for the noisy T/R relay.
For the Acom 2100 I would feel much better if they replaced the 4CX1000 with a 4CX1500b.
73 Oren
« Last Edit: January 14, 2018, 01:02:16 PM by KB6DYA » Logged
K6AER
Member

Posts: 5743




Ignore
« Reply #97 on: January 14, 2018, 04:02:46 PM »

Both tubes produce the same peak power. The 4CX1500B has additional cooling with more blower pressure and is rummered to have better IMD but I have not seen it in actual tests. Your power out is power supply limited. Remember the 2100 is rated at 1500 watts max.

For $900 less you could buy the OM-2000+ that is capable of 2300 watts PEP HF and 1700 watts on 6 meters.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2018, 04:09:41 PM by K6AER » Logged
KB6DYA
Member

Posts: 85




Ignore
« Reply #98 on: January 14, 2018, 06:19:04 PM »

I remember the discussion you and Reid about the tubes. The OM 2000+ has worse IMD3 than the Acom. If it was not for the Noisy T/R relay I would go SS even if is only 1 K. The OM 2000+ does not cover the hole 6 meter band ,only the first 2 MC.
73 Oren
Logged
K6AER
Member

Posts: 5743




Ignore
« Reply #99 on: January 14, 2018, 08:30:01 PM »

My OM-2000+ measured -36 dB on the third and -38 dB on the 5th on 20 and 40 meter band. I used two transmitter sources and combined them (45 dB port to port isolation) for my test. The original IMD test that Array solutions did was just a modulated transceiver with two audio tones. Their reading was -30 dB on the third. The IMD will never be better than the driver transmitter.

I can assure it covers the whole 6 meter band not that you can find anyone above 51MHz. Power out is only 1700 watts on 6 meters.

If the 4CX1500 was that superior why is ACOM not using it? They are actually cheaper in quantity. The noise level increase to push enough air through the tube at 1500 watts out makes it very noisy tube to use. The tube has extra heat sink fins to be able to handle the heat of 1500 watts continuously. At Alpha we used a pair of 4CX1000A's on the original 8410. Noise level at 12 inches in front was 76dBa.  Later Alpha switched to 4CX1500B's with a much larger blower and the noise level at 12 inches in front was 80 dBa. The IMD did not change a bit and the power out was the same. Three KW power supply limited so going to the 1500 series tube get you no increase in power out, just bragging rights and marketing synergy only stocking one tube.

I cannot speak about the T/R relay noise on the OM-2000+ for I do not do full break in CW. My hearing is down 74 dB.

If relay noise is a large factor you might want to consider buying a used amplifier and modifying the T/R circuit with isolated vacuum relays.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2018, 08:50:50 PM by K6AER » Logged
ZS5WC
Member

Posts: 715


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #100 on: January 14, 2018, 10:46:44 PM »

 :)Speaking to US Hams on 20m I hear many more Expert (SPE) Solid State amplifiers on the Air.
The Local Supplier rates very high and Bob looks after his customers.
So the new range of SPE Expert amplifiers might be worth your consideration.

Turnaround time for repairs and support second to none. AND amplifiers that are LIGHT WEIGHT makes for easy shipping and transport.

I run one myself and there is no going back.

73 de William
ZS4L / ZS5WC
Logged
KB6DYA
Member

Posts: 85




Ignore
« Reply #101 on: January 14, 2018, 11:41:59 PM »

HI William
 Is there any noise in the T/R relay in the SPE 1.5K or is it a vacuum  T/R? What about the fan noise?
73 Oren
Logged
ZS5WC
Member

Posts: 715


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #102 on: January 14, 2018, 11:59:07 PM »

 :)Hi Oren,
The relays are standard relays, but very quiet. The fans are audible but at very low levels..
I believe there is a vacuum relay / QSK mod from factory as well.
I never need headphones running the Expert 1K-FA.
Best is speak to Bob at Expert Linears and he could tell you more.
The specs and videos of them are on the net as too.

I run mine with the FTDX-3000, using the band data to control it, and it operates like a 1.2Kw rig.

73 de William
ZS4L / ZS5WC
Logged
EI2GLB
Member

Posts: 1022




Ignore
« Reply #103 on: January 20, 2018, 05:10:16 AM »

Word over this side of the pond is the 1200 was pulled from production due to bad imd,

And the are working on a fix, Simon Brown of Ham Radio Deluxe fame had one and had to return it due to bad IMD if anyone is on the Axon yahoo reflector it's all on there,

Very surprised at a company of the reputation of Avon to let this happen, if it was SPE it would be ok as there Italian but Avon are know for quality,

Trevor
EI2GLB
Logged
K6AER
Member

Posts: 5743




Ignore
« Reply #104 on: January 20, 2018, 08:46:37 AM »

Although the FCC does not require a minimum level of IMD, this could just be a batch of amplifiers had their bias set at the wrong level in production. In amplifier production, IMD will normally not be checked.

Their published IMD is -30 dB. About the same as everyone else.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2018, 08:51:39 AM by K6AER » Logged
Pages: Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!