Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: RFI from Astron VS-35M Power Supply  (Read 6105 times)
VE3TMT
Member

Posts: 946




Ignore
« on: September 09, 2015, 08:12:40 PM »

Approximately every 60Hz across the HF bands I am getting about S-3 of noise. I disconnected the Astron and ran the radio of a 12V battery. The noise is gone. I read that some Astron models have a connection from the (-) terminal to chassis ground and this can introduce 60Hz hum and interference. Anyone have any experience with this?

Max
Logged
WB4SPT
Member

Posts: 695




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2015, 05:48:27 AM »

That's a linear supply with a 5mV spec output.  Do you have an oscilloscope?
Logged
VE3TMT
Member

Posts: 946




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2015, 05:55:46 AM »

Sorry, no scope here.
Logged
WB4SPT
Member

Posts: 695




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2015, 06:54:34 AM »

In lieu of a scope, AC or RF millivoltmeter;  I'd try a .01 to .1uF cap between - and +.   If not solved, try a direct connection from - to frame. 
Logged
WA2ISE
Member

Posts: 1189




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2015, 08:43:31 AM »

Small caps (like 0.1uF ceramic) across each rectifier diode may help.  Either the diodes are ringing, producing RF upon each power cycle peak, or external RF is getting modulated by the diodes turning on and off at the 60Hz rate.  The RF signal strength getting varied when the diodes being on vs being off. 
Logged
WB4SPT
Member

Posts: 695




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2015, 10:19:38 AM »

Small caps (like 0.1uF ceramic) across each rectifier diode may help.  Either the diodes are ringing, producing RF upon each power cycle peak, or external RF is getting modulated by the diodes turning on and off at the 60Hz rate.  The RF signal strength getting varied when the diodes being on vs being off. 

good input,  If Max is willing to go inside the unit, this is best.
Logged
VE3TMT
Member

Posts: 946




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2015, 10:22:53 AM »

No problem,

Ordering parts this afternoon.
Logged
AC7CW
Member

Posts: 1250




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2015, 11:52:58 AM »

The power supply has to be using full wave rectification of the mains after a stepdown transformer. That should produce noise at 120hz spacing. If something is happening only every other half cycle it's a problem in the diode bridge perhaps. With an O'scope you could sort that out in a minute.
Logged

Novice 1958, 20WPM Extra now... (and get off my lawn)
WB4SPT
Member

Posts: 695




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2015, 02:15:27 PM »

I think the premise here is that there is a diode, one of the high power rectifiers, causing RF hash.  In common topographies, only half the diodes are conducting at a time, thus the 60Hz, not 120Hz.  But, I gotta say it's odd for a rectifier system to produce enough energy at HF.  At 14 MHz this is the 233,333 harmonic... Most all of us are using AC to DC supplies without ever seeing this issue.  
Now, I have seen bench top linear supplies oscillate, due to control loop issues.
Maybe Max has a diode with a bad wirebond and its sparking Huh
« Last Edit: September 10, 2015, 02:19:25 PM by WB4SPT » Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 14722




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2015, 03:11:20 PM »

Reverse biased diodes are often used as RF noise generators although the output is really small and needs to be amplified to be useful. It could be an issue with the diodes so a bypass capacitor may help. You could also bypass the electrolytics with disk caps and/or the +/- output terminals to keep the noise from following the DC power wiring.
Logged

Bob  AA4PB
Garrisonville, VA
KZ1X
Member

Posts: 3332




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: September 11, 2015, 06:01:45 AM »

"Approximately every 60Hz across the HF bands I am getting about S-3 of noise."

How are you seeing every 60 Hz?  May I assume you are tuning and watching the S meter?
Or do you have a panadapter?  In what mode are you listening?

"I disconnected the Astron and ran the radio of a 12V battery. "

Terrific technique.

Many of the responders here are making the assumption that the power supply is creating the noise you are experiencing.
I feel a more likely mechanism is that the linear Astron is simply coupling to the radio a noise that's on your AC power line already.
To test this theory, please use a switching type power supply and see what happens.
Logged
VE3TMT
Member

Posts: 946




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: September 11, 2015, 06:06:43 AM »

"Approximately every 60Hz across the HF bands I am getting about S-3 of noise."

How are you seeing every 60 Hz?  May I assume you are tuning and watching the S meter?
Or do you have a panadapter?  In what mode are you listening?

Correct, I am using a panadapter display. 14.090, 14.150, 14.210, 14.270, 14.330 etc all the same buzz and viewable on the panadapter. Monitoring on USB.

The Astron is the only supply I have other than the battery so I am unable to test on a switching type power supply.
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 14722




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: September 11, 2015, 06:18:56 AM »

Run off battery. Connect a piece of wire into the antenna jack. Move the wire close to electrical power wiring, lamp cords, etc. and see if you detect the same noise. It's a good point that the RFI could be on the power line and coupled through the power supply to the radio.
Logged

Bob  AA4PB
Garrisonville, VA
AJ4EV
Member

Posts: 28




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: September 11, 2015, 06:25:03 AM »

You are seeing the noise every 60 KHZ not 60 HZ

73 de Terry
AJ4EV
Logged
VE3TMT
Member

Posts: 946




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: September 11, 2015, 06:26:15 AM »

Yeah, sorry meant every 60 KHZ

I've been reading where 60 Khz RFI is routinely caused by wifi routers, or the cheap DC adapters that power them. I'll check out my wifi system over the weekend.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2015, 07:10:00 AM by VE3TMT » Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!