The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: "RF Terminator" as dummy load?  (Read 5896 times)
AI8IA

Ignore
« on: April 28, 2016, 03:53:59 PM »

OK at the risk of being flamed beyond recognition, I'm going to ask this.

I "inherited" a box of several RF adapters from my old employer (where I spent 17 years as an RF field engineer) and I found a couple little Amphenol "1 Watt 50ohm RF Terminators." Can I use this as a makeshift dummy load if I keep the power way down? I don't need a dummy load all that often but the one I have is a big MFJ one. I wouldn't mind leaving this on my "B" antenna on the K2 if I wanna switch over, drop the power all the way down, and practice CW or what-not.

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Amphenol-RF/46650-51RFX/?qs=ukCXrI%2FP3JRTsXHF491B7Q%3D%3D

KE6EE

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2016, 05:32:21 PM »

I'm far from an RF engineer but I'd consider the following design parameters:

A. Likelihood of operator error.
B. Accuracy of resistive load.
C. Dissipation capacity, see A.
D. Longevity of device beyond a few seconds, see A and C.

Thus a simple QRPp dummy load design: 2 x 100 ohm 5 watt non-inductive resistors in parallel across a coax connector; resistors exposed to air for heat dissipation. Would no doubt handle a few continuous watts well. Cost: a few bucks.

High-end, sophisticated QRP dummy load design: 20 x 1000 5 watt non-inductive resistors mounted in metal box for some heat sinking and air circulation. Averaging of resistor values gives accurate load. Could handle 100 watts. Cost, with a new connector, some sort of circuit board, a ventilated box, all new components, maybe $40.

An RF terminator is suitable for use with test gear. Won't last long, if at all, as dummy load. Worth only a couple of bucks, however.

« Last Edit: April 28, 2016, 05:34:23 PM by KE6EE » Logged
WW7KE

Ignore