Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: RFI carrier on 14.213 mhz  (Read 5263 times)
KC4FA
Member

Posts: 3




Ignore
« on: March 03, 2017, 07:48:50 AM »

Please, can anyone explain the RFI carrier signal on 14.213mhz? The signal seems always on from my QTH
in South Florida. Could it be an Over the Horizon Radar. It does not have the old woodpecker sound from 70's.

Thank You,
Gene
KC4FA
Logged
W1VT
Member

Posts: 3230




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2017, 11:57:34 AM »

http://www.voacap.com/area/index.html
You might be able rule out locations based on Voacap propagation coverage maps and the times at which you can't hear it.  If it is always on, 24 hours a day, it is likely a local interference source.
Logged
N4UE
Member

Posts: 877




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2017, 01:10:57 PM »

Too bad it's not on 14.313.

Just kiddin'

ron
N4UE
Logged

If you're not the lead sled dog, the view never changes......
N5EG
Member

Posts: 345


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2017, 02:05:47 PM »

14.213 MHz many times is from 100 Meg Ethernet, especially when using
unshielded cable (UTP).  Power down everything with 100BASE-T connected
and see if it goes away.

I've had good luck switching to shielded Ethernet cable in the hamshack.
Even better, changing to 1 Gig Ethernet seems to have mitigated the problem.

-- Tom, N5EG
Logged
WB4SPT
Member

Posts: 761




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2017, 05:10:51 AM »

14.213 MHz many times is from 100 Meg Ethernet, especially when using
unshielded cable (UTP).  Power down everything with 100BASE-T connected
and see if it goes away.

I've had good luck switching to shielded Ethernet cable in the hamshack.
Even better, changing to 1 Gig Ethernet seems to have mitigated the problem.

-- Tom, N5EG


A couple of weeks ago, I did a lab scan of a 1 Gig Ethernet circuit.  It had a solid carrier at 199.5 MHz, but not always on.   
Logged
KC4ZGP
Member

Posts: 1961




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2017, 06:00:07 AM »


Gene,

You are not going crazy. I hear the same at 14.212MHz as well as 14.273MHz. I'm in Middle-Georgia.

I do not have that eithernet thingy stuff Herr Tom mentioned but I do have DSL with AT&T.
It has a modem and a router.

I wonder.

At lunch, I shall power off all of it and see if the noise ceases.

Will advise.

73

Kraus

Logged
KC4ZGP
Member

Posts: 1961




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2017, 09:02:04 AM »


My research results.

I depowered the router, modem and wireless printer. The weird sound ceased.

I applied power to each device separately. The weird signal appeared with each device.

Apparently all three generate the same noise.

All three are in my radio room anyway. If I need the 'quiet', I shall disconnect all three items.

Who needs the internet anyway? It serves no purpose.

73

Kraus
Logged
W9IQ
Member

Posts: 3070




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2017, 09:56:48 AM »

Kraus,

Quote
I applied power to each device separately. The weird signal appeared with each device.

Did you actually unplug (at the wall outlet) each device and separately plug each one in? If you leave a wall wart plugged in and simply disconnect the cord from the device or turn the device off, the wall wart is still powered and the wall wart could be the offending device rather than the printer, router, etc.

- Glenn W9IQ
Logged

- Glenn W9IQ

I never make a mistake. I thought I did once but I was wrong.
KC4ZGP
Member

Posts: 1961




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2017, 10:46:30 AM »


Glen,

Yes I removed all three a/c adapters from the 120 volt power strip. The noise ceased. And then plugged one in I got noise.
Unplugged it and plugged in another one. Noise again. No two plugs were in at the same time.

I figured since the three devices are just feet away from my radios, I'm not bothered. It's alright.

Now I'll read your filter response.

Thanks.

Kraus

Logged
NB2A
Member

Posts: 12


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2019, 04:24:25 PM »

If this is locally based as I have a read in a few places then why do I get the same signals and strength in the mobile driving around in New York? This is not router or equipment based in the house as a primary cause.

73 de NB2A
Tom
Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 4101




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2019, 09:21:23 PM »

If this is locally based as I have a read in a few places then why do I get the same signals and strength in the mobile driving around in New York? This is not router or equipment based in the house as a primary cause.

73 de NB2A
Tom

We are responding to a zombie thread here, but may automobile computers put out a lot of carriers. I have successfully quashed many of mine in my 2010 Silverado, but they were very loud to begin with.  Obviously shut down your car and see what happens.  If still there, then it could be cable TV leakage, DSL carriers and associated power supplies at their transition points (like fiber to cable or DSL) or it could be something else. Start direction finding.  But it most likely in your automobile.  Drive out of town, what happens?
Logged
NB2A
Member

Posts: 12


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2019, 11:06:36 AM »

The interference is the same even with the car off all over my area in Long island New York on this frequency.  It has nothing do with my car but more to do with how dirty the RF spectrum has become.  The FCC is just as useless as the FAA at this point!
Logged
WA2ISE
Member

Posts: 1273




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2019, 02:25:14 PM »

Here's a spectrum of 20 meters of ethernet spikes.
Logged
WB4BYQ
Member

Posts: 185




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2019, 07:30:56 AM »

Have had the same problem with ethernet carriers on unshielded cat 5 cable.  Installed snap-on ferrite cores type 31 and wind at lleast 3 to 4 turns
at each end of the cable at the devices.  this will choke off the command mode carriers.
Logged
AE5GT
Member

Posts: 389




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2019, 02:42:40 PM »

Had problems here with ethernet net cat 5 , went to wireless . 
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!