Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Fldigi PSK31 text garbled (using Icom 7300)  (Read 8562 times)
WB6DNL
Member

Posts: 65




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: July 10, 2017, 10:05:28 PM »

Jim, K0UA, suggested I install Flrig to use in conjunction with Fldigi (i.e., have Flrig control the xcvr with Fldigi as a client, which according to Fldigi is the preferred method of xcvr control). 

I installed Flrig without difficultly and configured it for the IC7300. I reconfigured Fldigi for Flrig rig control.  I turned on the 7300, set it up for USB-D, and opened Fldigi and Flrig.  Problem: (1) When I opened Flrig without Fldigi it opened fine; with Fldigi I got the following Windows 10 error message: “flrig.exe has stopped working - A problem caused the program to stop working correctly.  Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available.” It didn’t close the program and didn’t find a solution. (2) After this happened with Flrig, in Fldigi the Rig > Flrig tab showed that the “Enable flrig xcvr control as client” had been uncheck (i.e., it seemed to revert to the previous configuration).

Does anyone have a suggestion as to how to proceed? 

Dave
Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 4622




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: July 11, 2017, 09:25:37 AM »

We might need to join the FLdigi support group on yahoo, and see what someone with more experience can offer.

My original observations that FLdigi is a pain to get working still stands.  Smiley   Mine works with FLrig and FLdigi on the 7300 but I am using Windows 7 too not Windows 10,  There can always be issues with software versions.  Something is wrong, we just have to figure it out, it may take some time, and we may need some more help.
Logged

73  James K0UA
ARRL Missouri Technical Specialist
KD3WB
Member

Posts: 149




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: July 11, 2017, 09:52:12 AM »

Jim, K0UA, suggested I install Flrig to use in conjunction with Fldigi (i.e., have Flrig control the xcvr with Fldigi as a client, which according to Fldigi is the preferred method of xcvr control). 

I installed Flrig without difficultly and configured it for the IC7300. I reconfigured Fldigi for Flrig rig control.  I turned on the 7300, set it up for USB-D, and opened Fldigi and Flrig.  Problem: (1) When I opened Flrig without Fldigi it opened fine; with Fldigi I got the following Windows 10 error message: “flrig.exe has stopped working - A problem caused the program to stop working correctly.  Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available.” It didn’t close the program and didn’t find a solution. (2) After this happened with Flrig, in Fldigi the Rig > Flrig tab showed that the “Enable flrig xcvr control as client” had been uncheck (i.e., it seemed to revert to the previous configuration).
Does anyone have a suggestion as to how to proceed? 
Dave

Click "Configure", "UI", "User Interface", click on the "General" tab and uncheck "Prompt to save configuration" in the "Exit Prompts" box.  Then click "Save", then "Close".  I would also uncheck "Confirm Exit" as it's more trouble than it's worth.  Also, Fldigi doesn't automatically detect COM port numbers.  To see the available COM ports, press the Windows and "R" keys simultaneously, type "devmgmt.msc" into the "Open" box, click "OK", then expand "Ports".

Ben
Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 4622




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: July 14, 2017, 05:30:11 PM »

Dave, have you made any more progress in getting FLrig, and FLdigi to play together nicely?.. Mine is working, and If you have not made any headway, You can still call me. and we can try again a teamviewer session again. And let me poke around in your settings.
Logged

73  James K0UA
ARRL Missouri Technical Specialist
VA7CPC
Member

Posts: 2831




Ignore
« Reply #19 on: July 14, 2017, 07:54:23 PM »

I've never understood why "rig control" is really important, for digital modes.

For PSK31, the whole active band is one or two "waterfall-widths" wide:

. . . Doesn't anyone use a tuning knob ?

For RTTY, the active band is wider than that, but (the last I looked) "7.000" was an acceptable frequency for contest QSO's, unless one was in the top few entries.

Why not just _forget_ about "flrig", and use "fldigi" on its own?  I've never had a problem doing that.

.        Charles

Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 4622




Ignore
« Reply #20 on: July 15, 2017, 05:39:09 AM »

I've never understood why "rig control" is really important, for digital modes.

For PSK31, the whole active band is one or two "waterfall-widths" wide:

. . . Doesn't anyone use a tuning knob ?

For RTTY, the active band is wider than that, but (the last I looked) "7.000" was an acceptable frequency for contest QSO's, unless one was in the top few entries.

Why not just _forget_ about "flrig", and use "fldigi" on its own?  I've never had a problem doing that.

.        Charles



You still have to key and the radio over the USB link.  Are you keying your radio manually some way?.  How are your macro's going to unkey your radio when the buffer is empty?  For instance you hover over his callsign, right click and pop his callsign in the program, and press the ANS button.  The rig keys up, calls him and gives your callsign.  How do you do that without rig control.    Or you press the CQ2 button, the rig keys up sends the cq sequence twice and unkeys, how are you doing that without rig control?. 

I rarely change frequency when operating PSK31, and most of the activity is is as you pointed out just one waterfall full so the frequency or mode integration is not all that important, but the keying and unkeying of the radio over the Universal Serial Bus is important.
Logged

73  James K0UA
ARRL Missouri Technical Specialist
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 15051




Ignore
« Reply #21 on: July 15, 2017, 06:17:49 AM »

Have you ever been copying a very weak signal when one or more strong signals come on the air and push you AGC way up, reducing the receiver sensitivity thereby causing you to loose the weak signal? The solution to that is to switch in a narrow filter (I use 50Hz for PSK31). You then have to retune the VFO in order to place the weak signal inside the narrow filter. If you have rig control, that can be done with the click of a single macro button. A second macro can be used to go back to the original VFO frequency and wide filter so that the whole waterfall is displayed.

Logged

Bob  AA4PB
Garrisonville, VA
K0UA
Member

Posts: 4622




Ignore
« Reply #22 on: July 15, 2017, 06:27:54 AM »

Have you ever been copying a very weak signal when one or more strong signals come on the air and push you AGC way up, reducing the receiver sensitivity thereby causing you to loose the weak signal? The solution to that is to switch in a narrow filter (I use 50Hz for PSK31). You then have to retune the VFO in order to place the weak signal inside the narrow filter. If you have rig control, that can be done with the click of a single macro button. A second macro can be used to go back to the original VFO frequency and wide filter so that the whole waterfall is displayed.



Another good example of using rig control.  Of course I used Digipan for years without rig control on an old Kenwood 940, but that was a long time ago, and we have "moved on" in the way we operate now.
Logged

73  James K0UA
ARRL Missouri Technical Specialist
VA7CPC
Member

Posts: 2831




Ignore
« Reply #23 on: July 17, 2017, 07:31:46 AM »

OK -- I understand:

. . . "Rig control" includes PTT switching!

I use an ancient BuxComm digital interface, which has a PTT line to the transceiver, and a USB-to-serial adapter cable between the computer's USB port and the BuxComm's serial-port input.

With my current FT-450, which has "digital VOX", PTT switching is automatic.

With other rigs (FT-817, and IC-706mkIIg) which _don't_ have "digital VOX", I've always been able to configure digital-mode software (DM780 / Digipan / fldigi) to set a (virtual) serial port pin "high" or "low", to enable PTT control.   The BuxComm uses that serial-port pin:

. . . That uses the rig's PTT line on its DATA jack, _not_ CAT control.

I'm just a generation behind, I suppose. 

For contesting, I _have_ set up full CAT control, and it's handy to have.

.       Charles
Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 4622




Ignore
« Reply #24 on: July 17, 2017, 09:39:06 AM »

Yeah, there are as many ways to "skin the cat" as there are rigs, computers, and interfaces.  But with the single USB cable connecting the computer to the IC7300,  the best way is CAT control.

 NOT that there couldn't be other ways, as it still has a traditional Icom CI-V port too, and of course you could build an analog interface and bring PTT out of a serial port on the pc and key the send line of the rig,  But I want a single cable  the little standard USB A to USB B cable that you can find lying around anywhere to be the sole "interface".  No boxes, no ptt cables, no nothing.  The standard USB cable carries the audio both ways and the "serial" port for CAT control all together.  You just load drivers on the pc to create the serial port, and the the soundcard built into the rig looks like an external USB soundcard to the pc.

What I do is have a short USB A to USB B  cable coming out of the rig and out on the desk where I can get my hands on it and then I have another USB A female to USB A male going to the computer.  I can plug together and unplug them everytime I shut down the rig for surge suppression.  That way I don't wear out the USB connectors on either the rig or computer by unplugging them all the time, and I keep the rig isolated from the PC when not in use during lightning storms. If and when the USB connectors wear out, it is just a few bucks to replace them with new ones, without putting in the wear on the rig or computer ports. Plus it is east to get to.

Of course anyone can do it any way they like.  The beauty of amateur radio.  Smiley
Logged

73  James K0UA
ARRL Missouri Technical Specialist
WB6DNL
Member

Posts: 65




Ignore
« Reply #25 on: July 17, 2017, 06:48:06 PM »

Just a quick update on my effort to get Fldigi to work with my IC-7300.  (XYL is calling me to BBQ the chicken, so I’ll provide more later.)  Flrig and Fldigi are not playing nice per my earlier post.  For now, I’m giving up on Flrig and will try to get it to work using RigCAT.  A couple of questions: What boxes should be checked on the RigCAT Fldigi tab (in addition to “Use RigCAT”)?  Also, what does RTS and DTR mean? Is there an article or website I should review?  I’ve looked through the Fldigi manual, and just read Steve Ford’s book “Get on the Air with HF Digital.” 

Jim (K0UA): I just got the book “Work the World with JT65 and JT” and will work my way through that before actually trying to get on the air with JT65.  I’m getting a “Rig Control Error” (“Do you want to reconfigure the radio interface?”) when I open WSJT-X, but I’m guessing that may be because I’m opening the program without having the xcvr on.

Dave
Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 4622




Ignore
« Reply #26 on: July 17, 2017, 08:18:31 PM »

RTS is Request To Send, and DTR is Data Terminal Ready.  Old arcane terms from the RS232 (old serial protocol) that all computers used in the past.   These are "handshaking" protocols.  On the old DB25 connector DTR was pin 20 and RTS was pin 4 I think.  BUT you don't care about these.. leave them unchecked. Some people use these now virtual pins on the virtual RS232 that is imbedded in the USB connection to act as a key for CW, but you don't want to get into that either.  This is way beyond where you are going here.

Yes, you will get a rig control error if you don't hook to the rig, as it is looking for its virtual serial port, and since it is not there, it "pukes".

It sounds like we need another session... By the way there is a later version of wsjt-x out now that includes the new mode FT8 that everyone is talking about..  I know.. there is no end to this stuff, it just goes on and on.   If digital modes were easy, everyone would be doing them.... oh wait... Grin
Logged

73  James K0UA
ARRL Missouri Technical Specialist
WB6DNL
Member

Posts: 65




Ignore
« Reply #27 on: July 18, 2017, 09:37:11 PM »

Jim (K0UA) spent a lot of time on the phone with me today working on the ongoing problem of getting my IC-7300 and Fldigi to play nice. Result: Success! We gave up on using Flrig and went to Plan B, which involved using RigCAT.  The problem there was locating the .xml file for the IC-7300 that I had not properly connected to Fldigi, and moving it to the right location in the Windows directory structure. There may also have been a problem with an incorrect audio setting.  In any case, we’re operational now thanks to Jim.

Dave
Logged
WB6DNL
Member

Posts: 65




Ignore
« Reply #28 on: July 19, 2017, 03:03:52 PM »

I have a few operating Fldigi questions:

I understand that the buttons on the lower left of the Fldigi window are to adjust signal level (0dB to -70dB).  Mine is set to -20dB.  Is this a good place to start, and how do you know where to set the level?

What do the buttons at the lower right, just to the left of the AFC button, do?  They’re the only control not mentioned in the “Beginners’ Guide to Fldigi.”  I thought Jim (K0UA) said they were to adjust the radio’s transmit power, but I might have misunderstood.  I have it set at -7.2, but have no idea what the number refers to.

Related to #2, if I have the IC-7300’s power set at 50%, will controlling the transmit power from the software reduce power as a proportion of the radio’s 50% setting (i.e., reduce or raise it from the 50% (50 watt) level)?

Lastly, as a matter of eHam protocol, should I have posted these questions to this thread or should I have started a new one?

Dave
Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 4622




Ignore
« Reply #29 on: July 19, 2017, 04:00:05 PM »

I have a few operating Fldigi questions:

I understand that the buttons on the lower left of the Fldigi window are to adjust signal level (0dB to -70dB).  Mine is set to -20dB.  Is this a good place to start, and how do you know where to set the level?

What do the buttons at the lower right, just to the left of the AFC button, do?  They’re the only control not mentioned in the “Beginners’ Guide to Fldigi.”  I thought Jim (K0UA) said they were to adjust the radio’s transmit power, but I might have misunderstood.  I have it set at -7.2, but have no idea what the number refers to.

Related to #2, if I have the IC-7300’s power set at 50%, will controlling the transmit power from the software reduce power as a proportion of the radio’s 50% setting (i.e., reduce or raise it from the 50% (50 watt) level)?

Lastly, as a matter of eHam protocol, should I have posted these questions to this thread or should I have started a new one?

Dave


Dave I will let the designer answer the waterfall level controls :

The next two controls to the right of the audio frequency control are for the receive signal processing. The one that reads -10 is the max signal level for the waterfall/spectrum display. The one that reads 51 is for the range over which that control will display signals. Both of these are in dB. The default of -10 / 40 is a good starting point, but you need to adjust these for band conditions. You can see the impact of these controls most easily by putting the main display area in the spectrum mode. Changes in these controls will effect the waterfall instantly and for all past history displayed on the waterfall. You do not have to wait for new signal data to observe the affect.


As for the controls to the left of the AFC button, they control the transmit audio going to the transmitter.  so the -7 db you referenced is the audio level should be down about 7 db fro full output.  The number is kinda arbitrary as near as I could tell, but yes this is how you adjust the audio feeding the transmitter.

As for your last question about setting your rig to 50 watts and controlling the audio to set power.  The audio slider can never make the transmit power higher, only lower,  BUT lets say you wanted a 30 watt power level out,  If your RF power output control on the rig is set to 50 percent, doesn't it make sense that the audio supplied to the rig is going to have to be twice as loud to get to 30 watts versus if the rig was set to 100 percent? So in my opinion your risk of overdriving the rig would be much greater with the rf power of the rig set lower than if you left it at 100 percent.  Lets see what others say, but I have always operated my rigs at 100 percent power and adjusted the audio down to give me the lower power level I want to keep the rig within its duty cycle.
Logged

73  James K0UA
ARRL Missouri Technical Specialist
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!