The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Amps...Are they a MUST for HF ???  (Read 20239 times)
KI6HYC

Ignore
« on: May 20, 2018, 06:44:01 PM »

I am a newbie (1 week old) coming back to hobby after almost 11 yrs and wondering.

I've got myself a IC7300 and I attached a 40m-10m multi band dipole at my backyard. Highest point at 18 ft of the ground with other end about 7ft.
My QTH in Central CA...
I was able to talk few times people at Salt Lake City, San Diego, Hawaii...
I've heard further away stations many times but wasn't able to get heard by them.

My question is, during these listening session many times I hear those stations I hear clearly but can't reach mention that they have bla, bla radio with bla bla antenna and running a 750 Watt or 1000Watt bla bla amp.

My question simply is what does the amp accomplishes?
I mean I am a guitar player I know what a guitar amp does.
BUT, my question is, without changing my setup one bit, if I add a, say,  500Watt or 800 Watt amp will those people currently not hearing me jumping up their seat if I yell BOO over 500 or 8000 Watts instead of 100?

Does it worth to spend $1000 or $2500 for an amp or spend much much more less than to raise my antenna to 30 ft high or even get a better antenna etc?

My goal is  to competition.
Honestly I hate the idea of competition... Instead of saying 2 words and noting that I connected someone 10,000 miles way in South Pole I rather have a 30 minute nice conversation with another Ham at 500-1000 miles away.

So my goal is not to stand above in a pileup! But just to be heard clearly on a one on one conversation and reach to those in better levels when conditions are not perfect on the bands.
I mostly like 40m, 20m and 10m.

So, my question is " to Amp or Not to Amp?"

« Last Edit: May 20, 2018, 06:46:06 PM by KI6HYC » Logged

73, KI6HYC
Jim
K5WLR

Ignore