The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Question about weather reports and email on HF bands and digital modes  (Read 1055 times)
KM6YCJ

Ignore
« on: February 26, 2019, 07:12:46 PM »

Hello,

I am new to ham radio and I'm not sure what I need or what to ask.

I am mainly interested in using ham radio to receive weather reports, and send and receive emails from remote locations in the USA West Coast. I cannot get NOAA 162.*** MHz weather channel reports when I am in the California mountains, so I am looking for an alternative source such as Weatherfax or emailed weather reports. I also would like to have email for emergancies. There are no 2m or 70cm repeaters where in the mountains, so I think I need a HF band (10m) radio for longer distance contacts.

I wanted a Yaesu 857, but someone said the 857 is old technology and I should look at a radio that offers digital modes, so I have been looking at the Yaesu FT-891, Kenwood TS-480, and icom 7100. The problem is I do not know which digital mode I would need to send emails or get weatherfax reports on HF bands. There appears to be 3 types; DMR, Fusion, and D-star. I do not want to have to buy extra boxes and converters to link between the radio and computer/laptop. I think Winlink or something similar would work for me for emails.

What digital mode and radio would be best for me for emails and Weatherfax reports; or something similar to Weatherfax (I do not need fancy graphics. Plain text weather reports is good enough)? I would be using this around Northern California, Nevada, and Southern Oregon, if the region matters.

I do not have extra money to try out different radios to see which would work for me, and I dont want something that will be obsolete in a few years.

Thank you.
KM6YCJ/AG

G4LNA

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2019, 03:06:48 AM »