Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: The FT4 Protocol for Digital Contesting.  (Read 2637 times)
VA3VF
Member

Posts: 3002




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: April 29, 2019, 04:28:49 PM »

So the question is - just how accurate does the clock have to be? I didn't see where Dr Taylor specified it...
I don't know for sure, but 1 second sounds to me as the absolute worst. Up to 0.5 seconds is doable by the masses. If more stringent than that, based on what I see on my JTDX screen, a fair number of people will 'hate' this mode.

As I write this post, I see DTs of up to 2.4 seconds on FT8.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2019, 04:37:48 PM by VA3VF » Logged
VA3VF
Member

Posts: 3002




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: April 29, 2019, 04:31:23 PM »

Has anyone tried FT4 yet.  It is up on the website  2.0.1 rc5.
My days of beta testing are behind me. I'll wait for the final version before I try it. Smiley
Logged
WA9AFM
Member

Posts: 339




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: April 29, 2019, 04:41:37 PM »

Downloaded RC5 late this afternoon.  Initially had trouble getting the freq's to take, but discovered an operator error; I had JT4 selected, not FT4.  Once corrected, all went as advertised.

Been monitoring for the past hour, decoded one or two stations.  I suspect activity will pick up in the next day or so.
Logged
K0UA
Member

Posts: 4813




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: April 29, 2019, 07:14:51 PM »

So the question is - just how accurate does the clock have to be? I didn't see where Dr Taylor specified it...
I don't know for sure, but 1 second sounds to me as the absolute worst. Up to 0.5 seconds is doable by the masses. If more stringent than that, based on what I see on my JTDX screen, a fair number of people will 'hate' this mode.

As I write this post, I see DTs of up to 2.4 seconds on FT8.

I have decoded some at 2.5 seconds.. but it seems very iffy. Misses some decodes on guys that far out.
Logged

73  James K0UA
ARRL Missouri Technical Specialist
VA3VF
Member

Posts: 3002




Ignore
« Reply #19 on: April 29, 2019, 07:22:30 PM »

I said I was going to wait for the final release, but I could not resist. Wink

Here are what I noticed so far:

1) OK and Cancel in the logging window switch places every few contacts;

2) When I make a configuration change and click OK, the mode changes to FT8. One person was calling me on FT8, I guess that was the reason why.

Still trying to figure out the Best S+P.
Logged
N5MOA
Member

Posts: 1720




Ignore
« Reply #20 on: April 29, 2019, 07:26:06 PM »

JTAlert doesn't seem to be working with FT4. Or likely I don't have something set correctly.

I had to edit the modes.txt file to add FT4 to log it correctly in my log.

Slightly less boring than FT8, but some band mode I need may show up using FT4.

Logged
VA3VF
Member

Posts: 3002




Ignore
« Reply #21 on: April 29, 2019, 07:45:30 PM »

JTAlert doesn't seem to be working with FT4. Or likely I don't have something set correctly.

I had to edit the modes.txt file to add FT4 to log it correctly in my log.

Slightly less boring than FT8, but some band mode I need may show up using FT4.


JTAlert is not compatible with FT4, and as per Laurie, it may no be until version 3 of JTAlert is released.

DXKeeper took the new mode without any changes from my part.

I think it'll be a fun contest mode. As for DXing, I'm not so sure, need more time.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2019, 07:54:06 PM by VA3VF » Logged
N5MOA
Member

Posts: 1720




Ignore
« Reply #22 on: April 30, 2019, 04:00:21 AM »

DXKeeper took the new mode without any changes from my part.


Yes, it took the qso and mode, but the drop down "mode" box, upper left below the "call" box was blank.
No FT4 to select.
Logged
VA3VF
Member

Posts: 3002




Ignore
« Reply #23 on: April 30, 2019, 04:45:20 AM »

Yes, it took the qso and mode, but the drop down "mode" box, upper left below the "call" box was blank.
No FT4 to select.
I just imported the ADIF. I won't upload the contacts to LoTW for now.
Logged
N3HAM
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #24 on: April 30, 2019, 05:21:10 AM »

Why is this being heard at 7047 to 7048? This is going to be a mess, the ARRL info on the roll-out was going to be on 7090.
Logged
VA3VF
Member

Posts: 3002




Ignore
« Reply #25 on: April 30, 2019, 05:41:37 AM »

Why is this being heard at 7047 to 7048? This is going to be a mess, the ARRL info on the roll-out was going to be on 7090.
No idea why, but that is the frequency that the software has in the frequency table.
Logged
VE3PP
Member

Posts: 169


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #26 on: April 30, 2019, 05:54:46 AM »

Why is this being heard at 7047 to 7048? This is going to be a mess, the ARRL info on the roll-out was going to be on 7090.
No idea why, but that is the frequency that the software has in the frequency table.

Right in the CW portion of the 40 meter band.  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes That's going to work out well isn't it?
Logged
N3HEE
Member

Posts: 587


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #27 on: April 30, 2019, 06:40:58 AM »

I also decoded FT4 signals on 7.047 last night.  I think that's because the software had a default frequency set for 40 meters.  I cant believe that was the intended frequency.  Anyway, I heard and made some FT4 contacts on 7.080 and 7.090 last night.  Very fast mode.  I also tried the RTTY RU mode and and it was cool.  But everyone was using classic FT8 style QSO's last night on FT4. 
Logged

Joe
N3HEE
CW Academy Advisor (Level II)
N3QE
Member

Posts: 5593




Ignore
« Reply #28 on: April 30, 2019, 06:59:04 AM »

I also decoded FT4 signals on 7.047 last night.  I think that's because the software had a default frequency set for 40 meters.

The QRP CW guys had been forced off 7039-7040 by PSK31 operation many years ago. Today 7039-7041 is a complete DEAD ZONE because of the neverending WSPR drones.

A lot of the CW guys had relocated up the band and indeed they will again be disrupted by the default frequency of the 7047-7050 FT4 activity creating a new dead zone.
Logged
W7ASA
Member

Posts: 548




Ignore
« Reply #29 on: April 30, 2019, 07:09:33 AM »

7047-7050 is jammed by FT4 : that's rude..

SPAMradio - there's an app for that.
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2] 3 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!