Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: FT-817 on 13.8 switching power supply  (Read 1780 times)
N7NV
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« on: May 04, 2019, 04:38:06 PM »

I wish to operate QRP only from home on an A.C. 13.8 DC switching power supply. All I read about is all the battery options..!  How do you hook it up with home AC power?  I can not find it mentioned anywhere.
Logged
N2DTS
Member

Posts: 967




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2019, 05:59:21 PM »

Yes, you plug it in the back of the radio.
Turn battery charge off so you don't damage the battery.
Logged
N2DTS
Member

Posts: 967




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2019, 05:27:07 PM »

Some switching supplies make a lot of noise so compare between it and just battery power.
I have a new ft-818 which I think is a really cool rig.
Logged
KB1GMX
Member

Posts: 1825




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2019, 10:26:45 AM »

When operating at home any small 12-14V power source that can supply 3A will do fine.
I know it draws 2A for TX, but a margin is nice and there are an abundance of small
power supplies in that range or slightly greater.

I try to avoid switch mode power supplies but not all of them are terrible for noise.
I have one that is silent on all bands save for part of 80M even then its tolerable.
Not a brand name item but it was a cheap flea pickup.

The alternate is a 7Ah gell cell and a small matching charger for it.  then you
can use the radio even during a power failure.

Allison

Logged
LA9XNA
Member

Posts: 265




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2019, 09:59:45 PM »

You can get 2-3A linear powersupplys very cheep.
If you are handy a bit  you cab probably build one yourr selves.
You get can a kit form Ebay for a few $.
https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=3A+power+supply+kit&_sacat=0&LH_TitleDesc=0&_osacat=0&_odkw=3A+power+supply
Just add a 3A transformer of at least 15V.
It is a good training to learn some electronics.
Logged
N8AUC
Member

Posts: 646




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2019, 11:00:50 AM »

I wish to operate QRP only from home on an A.C. 13.8 DC switching power supply. All I read about is all the battery options..!  How do you hook it up with home AC power?  I can not find it mentioned anywhere.

The manual shows exactly how to hook it up to an external power supply.
You can use almost anything you like, a small linear or switching power supply, or a 12V gel or AGM type battery.

My FT-817 will run with external supply voltages as low as 9VDC.

It's a very versatile little radio.
Logged
SOFAR
Member

Posts: 1492




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2019, 11:34:50 AM »

I wish to operate QRP only from home on an A.C. 13.8 DC switching power supply. All I read about is all the battery options..!  How do you hook it up with home AC power?  I can not find it mentioned anywhere.

 The supplied E-DC-6 DC cable may be used for DC connections.
https://www.manualslib.com/manual/339747/Yaesu-Ft-817nd.html?page=11#manual
Logged
KI6WJ
Member

Posts: 13




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2019, 10:44:28 AM »

If you don't already have a power supply , I use a SAMLEX SPS1206 and it s quiet.

Jim
Logged
N2DTS
Member

Posts: 967




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2019, 10:37:32 AM »

I have had good luck with things like laptop and router power supplies.
Some are quiet, or at least they are in the lower ham bands.
You just need to make sure of the voltage, not all are regulated.

Now days, there are some small but high power regulated supplies.
At work we have some small supplies half the size of a laptop supply that do 14 volts at 8 amps.
Logged
WB4M
Member

Posts: 329




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: June 17, 2019, 03:02:43 PM »

I used a small Astron 5 amp power supply (not a switcher) with mine.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!