The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: National NCX-3 PA tuning problem.  (Read 688 times)
KF4CZV

Ignore
« on: July 16, 2019, 12:40:19 PM »

I’ve been working on restoring this rig off and on for a while now. I’ve done many tube receivers but this is only my second transceiver. The first was a Swan 250 which came out great and is my main 6 meter rig. I am woefully knowledge deficient when it comes to the transmitter part. Without going into detail (I will if asked) it’s as electronically restored, parts wise, as it can get. Driver and finals are new and all other tubes are tested strong. Receive side works great. My problem is twofold: I have very little experience tuning up a tube transmitter and find the instructions in the manual confusing. Here is the manual excerpt:

I’m tuning up first on 20 meters into a 300 watt dummy load through an MFJ power meter. Following the instructions, turning the Exciter get’s me to 40 watts. When I turn the PA Tune even a hair from fully cow, it instantly drops to zero. I’ve tried multiple times with the same results. When trying to follow the rest of the instructions, turning the PA Load also drops the power, although not as dramatically. I’m stumped. What am I doing wrong? Or, what’s wrong with the transmitter? My gut is pointing me to the PA Load control.
I do not have an O-Scope nor know how to use one. Meters, signal generators, tracers and that sort of test gear I do.
Before trying to tune this rig I looked at all the threads in this forum on tuning and was watching the MFJ meter for max power. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated! I want to use this rig in my shack alongside the Swan.

I have 2 videos on my YouTube channel showing the rig and detailing the restoration up to this point. I will post the links if you think it would be helpful.

Terry
KF4CZV

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2019, 04:38:35 PM »