The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: TUNING THE AL-811  (Read 1786 times)
KB3RMX

Ignore
« on: October 05, 2007, 01:43:14 PM »

Hi Fellows
I just acquired a AL-811, seems like just about everyone has one of these. I'm new to the amplifier scene and am a little gun shy about how to tune this.  The directions that come with this are very vague.  I am using this on my Icom 756 Pro 3.  I understand that I do not need the interface with this rig like some other rigs need. I don't plan on running at max power.  I just want to use this for ssb about 400 watts output.  I would appreciate very much if any of you out there can give me some pointers before I load this thing up. I also will be using a palstar tuner inline with the amp. The antenna I'm using is a Hustler 6btv.
Thanks - Mike
N3JBH

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2007, 04:17:21 PM »

Hello Mike i have used both the 811 3 tuber and now using the 811-H 4 tube model and and also use a Palstar tuner. now i will let you know the first thing is using the wattmeter on the Palstar tune for max output period.

Now lets discuss grid current first if you running the 3 tube model dont ever exceed 150ma. on the grid.

if your using the 4 tube model dont go over 200 ma.

also set up the ALC if you need help there let us know. Now tune your tuner first for best match. then bring on your amp. first use CW mode for easiest tunning. Adjust your Plate control for max out. then adjust the load for same.

Keep an eye on the grid current. never exceed the grid current we talked about. Now many guys like to turn the load control clockwise a bit more then where the peak is. you will see the grid reduce some aswell.

This is called loading to the heavy side. much better then light loading.   repeat  the plate and load to besure this is good. and your done.

now a few comments never reduce out put  with amp control's