The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Vertical antennas and chain link fences  (Read 13962 times)
N7GTE

Ignore
« on: March 27, 2003, 01:33:19 PM »

I would like to get feedback from any fellow hams that have had experience with mounting vertical antennas on/above/near chain link fences and use the metal fence as part or all of the ground radials. I am particularly interested in comments about Butternut verticals used in this way.
KG4YWS

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2003, 01:42:45 PM »

I would also like to know something about this item.  I am looking at installing a Hustler 4-BTV vertical to a line post of a chain link fence.  KK5VL had mentioned it in his eham.net review of the 4-BTV.  I would really appreciate knowing how it is best done. Thanks.
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2003, 01:45:03 PM »

I've had a lot of experience with this, but unfortunately, it's almost all bad!

Best results I've had with HF verticals and chain link fences is to get the vertical as far away from the fence as possible, and then use ordinary radial wires under the vertical.  I've never yet found the situation where a chain link fence, regardless of layout, length, height or construction, could make a reasonable counterpoise for an HF vertical.

WB2WIK/6
K0BG

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2003, 01:57:57 PM »

I second Steve's comments. And if it did work, you would have a skewed pattern. And another fact of life, few amateurs install enough of a groundplane to really make a difference. It takes at least 40 and preferably 60 or more radials to make a 1/4 wave vertical work like it should.

And if you choose a loaded 1/2 wave instead which typically doesn't require much of a groundplane, you have to be keep it as far away as you can from anything metallic, or it won't work very well either.