The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Adding Coil to AH-4-Tuned System  (Read 7029 times)
KG4NEL

Ignore
« on: September 14, 2003, 09:54:06 PM »

Hey -

I've got my HF through UHF mobile setup all working now, and of course, I can't stop thinking of ways to improve every bit of it. I guess that's why I'm a ham radio operator...but anyway, I was wondering if there's any way I can improve my HF antenna. Currently, it's a 102" whip tuned by an Icom AH-4. Maximum height above road is around 11.5', which clears local bridges nicely, although it doubles as a drive-by tree pruner on occasion. It tunes pretty well, covering 40-6m, and 60m sometimes, depending on its mood at the time. Never quite satisfied until I run out of money or ideas, there's room for improvement here.

I'd like to get it to tune 75m through 6m. Most of the nighttime HF ARES ops around here are on 75, as well as gaining reliable coverage of 60m. I was thinking of adding a small coil in the middle of the antenna. I have around a 108" height limit for the antenna, so I can still clear 12" bridges. My question is, would I gain 75m coverage if I added a center coil? If so, how much inductance do I need, and what size mast and whip do I need? If I did this, would I lose 6m as well?

Thanks for any help in advance...

Jim, KG4NEL  

AA4PB

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2003, 10:20:28 PM »

Why not use a 75M Hamstick with the tuner for 75M and replace it with the 102-inch whip for the other bands? The Hamstick will present a near 50-ohm load to the AH-4 on 75M and it should easily find a match.

I would not recommend trying to use the 75M Hamstick on other bands as you *may* develop some high voltages and arc-over of the Hamstick loading coil.

Bob  AA4PB
Garrisonville, VA
K0BG

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2003, 09:53:46 AM »