Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 3CX800A7 Source  (Read 2505 times)
KO4NX
Member

Posts: 179




Ignore
« on: December 28, 2004, 12:53:52 PM »

Hello All:

Has anyone found a good source for Eimac 3CX800A7's? After looking at the price RF Parts and others are selling them I am now considering medical pulls.

Also has anyone tried the 3CPX800A7 as an alternative? Any problems one could think of using this tube in a Ten Tec Titan?


73

Rich Miller
AJ3G

Logged
K8AC
Member

Posts: 1912




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2004, 02:30:48 PM »

Check with Jan, N0JR.  He sometimes has brand new 3CPX800s at a good price (medical surplus, not pulls).  I bought a pair from him a while back and saved a lot of money.  Jan often advertises the tubes on QTH.com classifieds.  
Logged
K8AC
Member

Posts: 1912




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2004, 02:32:02 PM »

Neglected to mention: I tested the 3CPX800s in my AL-800H and saw no difference in any operating parameters.  
Logged
KO4NX
Member

Posts: 179




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2004, 06:03:36 AM »

Thanks for the infomation, I will look him up for sure!


73

Rich Miller
Logged
N0TONE
Member

Posts: 173




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2005, 09:46:25 PM »

www.wa8wzg.com

Tom's a straight-ahead guy.

Tip - don't be too concerned about the price of those tubes.  Unless you do something really dumb, you'll get 20 years out of a pair.  Every amp I know of with that tube in it has grid and cathode over-current protect circuits, and as long as you don't go over those limits, you can't hurt them.  

AM
Logged
N4DEK
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2005, 03:04:53 PM »

Alpha 86 has NO grid protection but I always keep my grid current looooow.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!