The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Transceiver Advice for old newbe  (Read 2873 times)
KB5JO

Ignore
« on: December 16, 2005, 05:34:36 AM »

I was an amateur in the 60s (WB6HJZ), and in the 80s (KB5JO), inactive for 15 years.  Want to restart now am retired, interested in 15,12,10 mostly CW some SSB, less than 25 watts.  Don't want to spend thousands on this hobby, looking to set up small station in my home office without an antenna farm in the yard or on the roof.

Advice please about inexpensive transceiver and tuner that would permit feeding trapped dipole or random wire in the attic.  I've thought about the Ten Tec Argonaut and the ICOM 718.  Used would be fine, but I'm not interested in antiques or boat anchors.  Reliability and customer support is more important to me than features and gadgets.
AA4PB

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2005, 07:01:32 AM »

The antenna is the most important part of the station. An attic dipole with less than 25W is going to be a real handicap. The first thing I'd recommend is moving the dipole outside and up in the air if at all possible. Not only will that improve your transmit signal, it will get you away from the noise generating stuff inside the home and avoid a lot of RFI problems.

As far as transceivers, Ten Tec is a favorite of many CW people. Elecraft makes some nice QRP CW kits.

Bob  AA4PB
Garrisonville, VA
WB2WIK

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2005, 08:53:51 AM »

I agree: The antenna is far more important than the station equipment.  No exceptions to that rule.

For a low-profile, fun, low-powered station, put up a serious antenna and then "any" kind of rig will work well.