The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Counterpoise radials  (Read 4434 times)
KC0IGL

Ignore
« on: September 10, 2007, 05:07:43 PM »

I’m a newbie to the HF spectrum of Ham Radio and would greatly appreciate any advice you folks could give me.

Ultimately, and this’ll probably be next spring, I want to mount one of the Hi Sierra antennas to the room of my house.  Currently I’m using a Par end fed in a secret location with pretty good results; however I’m really itching to do better.  I live in a fairly active CCR community and from what I’ve been reading  the Hi Sierra looks like the best deal for my situation.  

Hi Sierra provides 10’ radials but from what I understand of radials, should be quarter length of frequency.  So even though ten feet equates out to about 12M Hi Sierra says that should be ok for most frequencies.    

The dilemma is my roof measures 40 x 25, so given the location of the future antenna I could have about 320 degrees of 20M radials and 70 degrees of 40m (orientated north).  Will any of this work for 80m?  I’m not sure how exact a radial would need to be in length for a given frequency. Will the 10’ radials supplied work fine for 10 through 15 or should I lengthen them for 15 because that is band I would favor.  And wire gauges any preferences?  I’m going to use brown insulated wires cause that blends in with the color of the roof, any problems with insulated?  Maximum power is 100watts supplied buy a nearly new Icom 718 and the roof as a maximum height of 25‘.

Thanks and 73’s

Bill  
WW5AA

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2007, 07:07:20 AM »

Bill,