The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 811a scorch marks  (Read 2776 times)
K3GC

Ignore
« on: December 24, 2009, 07:13:13 AM »

First off and this will become abundantly obvious. I am a newbie to amplifiers.
I have an Ameritron 811 which is working quite nicely despite some early errors.  Once or twice I flipped it on while it was tuned to another band.  Quickly changed, retuned, and no apparent damage (I guess this is one of the great advantages of tubes).
This morning I took the cover off to do an inspection of the inside of the amp.  All looks well except for the tube next to the transformer.  The side adjacent to the transformer is blackened.  The amplifier still tunes normally and puts out full power (I never load it for more than 500 watts.
Should I be concerned about this one tube or all the tubes?  If the verdict is that the one tube is about to die should I just replace that tube or should I replace all three?
Thanks
KD8GEH

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2009, 07:52:19 AM »

Hi Gene and welcome to the hobby.

Just a few tips:  Always post your call sign, most ops wont respond to anon posts. Secondly, clearly detail the amp model and bands your loading etc.

If you do that, I could help you.

73,  Dave KD8GEH
K3GC

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2009, 08:37:50 AM »

Sorry 'bout that.  The call is KJ4QFU.  The problem as stated (if it is indeed a problem) would occur on all bands.  I basically operate on 40 and 20 meters.
KD8GEH

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2009, 12:24:10 PM »