The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: RFI INTO SAMSUNG MONITOR  (Read 18777 times)
N4XYZ

Ignore
« on: February 01, 2011, 11:09:16 AM »

Hi All
I have a Samsung SyncMaster B2330 LCD monitor in the shack.  The monitor has infrared touch menus.   When I run 400+ watts on 80 or 40 CW I get into the menus bad.  I have grounded the monitor frame, added ferrite on the power line and additional frrute on the video cable.  I think this monitor is like the old touch lamps.  Does anyone have any experience with this type of problem?

Thanks in advance

Dave N4XYZ
W5DC

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2011, 12:00:47 PM »

My antennna is very close to the shack.  Last fall, I purchased a Samsung monitor from Costco.  When I tried it while transmitting, I found that I couldn't use any transmitter power over 40 watts without the monitor blanking out.  The next day, I returned it to Costco and replaced it with an LG monitor that was a bit more expensive but which has worked flawlessly?  I tried clamp on filters but they had no effect.

I've heard of other people having the same problem with Samsung monitors.

Dunc, W5DC
KH6AQ

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2011, 12:26:51 PM »

The first thing to do is to "threshold" the problem. Remove the ferrites. Increase TX power until the problem just occurs. Add ferrites with the power cord and the video cable(s) going through the same ferrite cores. Does the threshold increase, decrease, or remain the same? If the threshold increases add more ferrites.

N4XYZ

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2011, 01:56:28 PM »

W5DC and WX7g

Thanks for the reply.  I got my monitor at Costco also and shold have taken it back but I have had it a while now so I don't think that is an option