Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: RFI-Free LED TV  (Read 10969 times)
W2MV
Member

Posts: 236




Ignore
« on: October 12, 2011, 06:16:43 AM »

I am looking for any info from owners of LED TVs related to RFI, good or bad.

Thanks
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 13232




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2011, 08:37:44 AM »

I have three here of differing brands and sizes and have seen no RFI for them.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
W2MV
Member

Posts: 236




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2011, 09:42:37 AM »

Great. Which brands?
Logged
W3LK
Member

Posts: 5639




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2011, 01:51:30 PM »

I have a 40" Samsung that is trouble free, both directions.
Logged

A smoking section in a restaurant makes as much sense as a peeing section in a swimming pool.
W8JX
Member

Posts: 13232




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2011, 04:01:18 PM »

Great. Which brands?

JVC, LG, Magnavox.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
W5DC
Member

Posts: 146


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2011, 05:44:00 PM »

LG seems to put effort in making their other product like washers and dryers rfi free.

Dunc, W5DC
Logged
W7VO
Member

Posts: 310


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2011, 02:28:15 PM »

I would stay away from the Samsung 55 inch model C7000 LED TV. I had a bad problem of RFI getting into the under cabinet touch sensors on 40M when running 1.5 kW to an inverted vee about 75 feet away from the TV, with the radio equipment in different building. It was causing the TV to change the input settings on its own.

I had a thread going on this previously. I tried ferrites everywhere to no avail, even inside the TV. I have heard from others with exactly the same problem, and the technician they sent from the factory ended up disconnecting the touch sensor board in the TV to fix the problem. Now I just use the remote and have never had a problem since.

73;

Mike, W7VO
Logged
K6KAP
Member

Posts: 86




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2011, 05:24:51 PM »

I have 50 inch LG Plasma TV. I can't even operate HF when the TV is on. It generates tons of broad spectrum RFI. I know you were asking about LED, but I thought this information might be beneficial to all.
GL

Mach, K6KAP
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 13232




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2011, 09:21:18 PM »

I have 50 inch LG Plasma TV. I can't even operate HF when the TV is on. It generates tons of broad spectrum RFI. I know you were asking about LED, but I thought this information might be beneficial to all.
GL

Mach, K6KAP

Not only are they BIG RFI generators, they are also VERY power hungry. You can run 4 or 5 LED HD TV's on what that Plasma takes. I have a 2+ year old 40 inch LED JVC that uses only 85 watts when I checked it. They push plasma because it is cheap to build and very near end of life cycle.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
W2MV
Member

Posts: 236




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2011, 10:29:00 AM »

Thanks to everyone who replied. We bought a Coby LED 32" TV (because the specs and picture looked good and it was on sale for $279) which will be installed within the next two weeks. I'll keep you posted.
Logged
W2MV
Member

Posts: 236




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2011, 11:52:50 AM »

Update: The new LED TV was installed last week. When turned on, it generates broadband RFI on the 21 and 18 MHz bands. I can't detect anything elsewhere.

Here's what I've done: installed a toroid on the a/c line cord: no difference.
Installed a toroid on the RG-6 coax: reduced the RFI by 1 or 1.5 S units.
I unplugged the coax at the TV: RFI gone!

So it seems that the RFI is being conducted via the coax (and the cable TV coax acting as an antenna)  but 1 toroid was insufficient.
I'm considering installing a high-pass filter on the coax at the TV to see what happens.
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 13232




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2011, 05:31:35 PM »

I'm considering installing a high-pass filter on the coax at the TV to see what happens.

You can find high pass cable TV filter that passes above 50mhz on Ebay for 10 bucks or less. I use a few here for insurance against RFI overload/swamping when running a KW HF as I use a external UHF TV antenna on a tower for HD broadcasts. 
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
W5DC
Member

Posts: 146


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #12 on: November 09, 2011, 06:36:14 PM »

You may find that a high pass filter on the cable going to the cable box disables the box controls.  I think my comcast box uses control signals around 10 MHz.

Dunc, W5DC
Logged
K8SI
Member

Posts: 22




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: November 10, 2011, 01:57:14 PM »

I have a 52-inch Sony Bravia LED hanging on the wall in the room right next to my shack, and no problems either way...no RFI generated by the Sony, and no RFI/EMI effects in the Sony even when I'm QRO.  My antenna is hanging at the end of the house above the wall the TV is hanging on.
Logged
K2DC
Member

Posts: 1551


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #14 on: December 12, 2011, 04:12:39 AM »

We have two LED or LCD monitors and 5 LED or LCD TV's in the house.  I've never heard a peep and I'm active on all HF bands.  Never owned one, but I've heard from many that it's the Plasma's that are the nightmare.

73,

Don, K2DC
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!