Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 3-400-z ? or...8163 ? Difference?  (Read 3237 times)
KB3LXY
Member

Posts: 134


WWW

Ignore
« on: February 12, 2006, 06:36:49 PM »

Hello all
I am looking for a set of extra finals for my Swan Mk-2 amp. It is  one of the early modles with the 400-z tubes in it.

Any difference in performance in the 3-400-z versus the 8163? Any other tubes fill the bill at the same or better performance levels?
thanks
JohnB
Logged
K0BG
Member

Posts: 10248


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2006, 06:57:03 AM »

You might find a pair of working 3-400s, but 3-500s are a lot easier to find. There is a slight difference in their plate capacitance, but you'll never notice it.

Alan, KØBG
www.k0bg.com
Logged

N9XTF
Member

Posts: 282




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2006, 08:05:19 AM »

I have a pair of full output 3-400z tubes in my L-4.  However, I was looking for a backup set to put on the shelf.  I priced NOS on the 3-400Z tubes, but the new 3-500ZG RF parts tubes were much cheaper.  My only delima would be to change the chimneys.

Hope you find what you are looking for!

73-Doug
Logged
WILLY
Member

Posts: 286




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2006, 12:12:44 PM »

 by N9XTF on February 14, 2006     

"...
However, I was looking for a backup set to put on the shelf. I priced NOS on the 3-400Z tubes, but the new 3-500ZG RF parts tubes were much cheaper. My only delima would be to change the chimneys. ..."


Maybe not your only delima.

Before you invest your money, to have spares on the shelf for a long period of time,  here are some things you might like to spend a few minutes reading:


http://www.eham.net/forums/Amplifiers/3686?page=1
From approximately the eight post on.

http://www.eham.net/forums/Amplifiers/3545
From approximately the seventh post on.

http://www.eham.net/forums/Elmers/104819
From approximately the seventh post on.
or text search the page for the word "bang".


http://www.w8ji.com/vacuum_tubes_and_vaccum_tube_failures.htm
Lots of good reading here.
For example:
"The quickest way to ruin a 3-500Z, or other glass power grid tube, is to never show anode color over a prolonged period of time! Storing a 3-500Z for many years without operation almost guarantees a flash-over will occur at the first application of high peak anode voltage. "

While this refers to the 3-500Z tube, before you invest in 3-400Z tubes for backup, you might want to inquire and find out if it applies to them too.   If so, I suppose the solution would be to rotate them every few months -  but that would be another topic.  Smiley

I hope this helps.

73
Logged
KB3LXY
Member

Posts: 134


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2006, 02:13:43 PM »

Thanks all
That is some interesting reading. I never heard of it before. The 500-z tube is too tall for the amp witout some mods to the sockets. The later model Mk-2 amps did use the 3-500-z tubes, and had a socket that was a little deeper into the chassis.
But...I may be better off finding a healty set of used tubes !!!
JohnB
73
Logged
KB3LXY
Member

Posts: 134


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2006, 04:26:20 PM »

It seems the 8163's are about the same size and dissapation as the -400-z Huh??
JohnB
Logged
AB5GU
Member

Posts: 48




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2006, 05:20:02 PM »

Hi John,

     I have 7 of the Swan Mark I and Mark II amps. They will both take a 3-500z or 3-400 tube. What you need are the shorty plate caps that Swan used. Then use the 3-500z tubes and go man go.
Marty
Logged
KB3LXY
Member

Posts: 134


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2006, 11:36:20 AM »

Thanks Marty
Do have any?? This amp is a brute ! It loads to full legal limit plus...with a haealthy 500cx as driver !
Great amp !! Kinda like a tank !!!!
73
JohnB
Logged
MASON
Member

Posts: 12




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2006, 04:41:47 PM »

My 8163's have graphite anodes and seem to hold up much better than the3-400 and they also take a licking and keep on ticking. Mason
Logged
KB3LXY
Member

Posts: 134


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #9 on: March 04, 2006, 01:04:41 PM »

...what manufacture are they?

73
JohnB
Logged
MASON
Member

Posts: 12




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2006, 12:29:16 AM »

They are amperex coded 1988. mason
Logged
WA1TUT
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: June 22, 2006, 09:25:25 PM »

to: AB5GU

Marty,

You've had several of the Swan Mark I amps?
The 3-500Z will really fit with short caps?
It seems to me that there is less than an inch clearance between a 3-400Z's top cap and the cabinet lid. Even with a shorty plate cap, won't the 3-500Z touch the cabinet?

Also, have you ever run the Swan Mark 1 on CW in the high voltage postion? The owner's manual sez to not do so, but I suspect that was due to the 1000 watt legal input at the time.
When I've run mine on 120V AC in the H.V. position, I get around 900 watts output. I do worry about transformer longevity while doing so, yet the CW duty cycle should be about the same as the SSB PEP duty cycle.

73,
Doug/WA1TUT
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!