Hallicrafters HT-40

(1/5) > >>

Peter Nierengarten:
KD0ILS here... I was given a lot of older equipment from a Silent Key one of which being a Hallicrafters HT-40.  I'm relatively new with HF mostly hang around 2m and 70cm.  I have a copy of the owners manual, but it doesnt seem to help me much.  I have many questions...
  -  The only equipment i have with this is the transmitter and a copy of the manual 

-  When i tune it up and receive using my Hammarlund HQ-100 it just sounds like the mic is being activated.

-  Do i need to have a key in the key socket in order to use the mic? 

-  I made a microphone plug out of a PL-259 connector since it doesnt use a standard mic plug, i just cut down the center lead to an 1/8".  I was told that this unit requires a high impedance mic, i was curious what the ohm requirement is.  I have a 4 pin  "powered mic" that claims uses 5000Ohms would that work?

-  Should i replace the mic plug with a standard 4 pic socket?

-  I do not have the matching reciever/VFO so i'm using crystals.

-  If i'm using crystals and a microphone, do i need to short terminals 3 and 4 on the back of the unit?

-  I have a vacuum tube tester and they all appear to be operational

-  I get the same results whether i connect the radio to a 40w light bulb dummy load or a Slinky antenna

thanks for the help.  I was told this is a pretty good radio, and i'd like to see first hand.
73's 
-Pete

Vinnie Sallustio:
High impedance mic is like a Shure 444 or a unamplified D104. What I do is typically replace the mic connector with a 4 pin Cobra? Why do I do that? With all the crap that people bring me to fix, CB's, rigs, receivers, and such, it appears that the 4 pin cobra is the most common setup. That allows me to not rewire a mic every time I get a different rig. Plus newer D104 hand mics are already wired for a 4 pin Cobra.

I would not leave a modified PL259 for a mic connector.

Nelson Derks: