The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Icom IC-2200H power supply  (Read 6754 times)
PASSEDTHETEST12

Ignore
« on: February 23, 2012, 06:23:28 PM »

Hello,
I am a high school student who is very new to ham. I got a used radio (Icom ic-2200H), and  now I'm looking for a power supply. I'm on a bit of a budget, so alternative methods are welcome. Max draw is 15A in to the radio,so I was thinking a Pyramid PS14K in Parallel with a car battery. That or if someone want's to sell me a 15-20 A power supply on the cheep.

Thanks,
Nolan
 (No call sign yet)
PASSEDTHETEST12

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2012, 08:12:19 PM »

Okay, crazy new idea, What about one of these which I have: http://www.geeks.com/details.asp?invtid=G-500-DF&cat=PWR
KD8HYN

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2012, 09:39:01 PM »

Welcome to amateur radio, Nolan.

If my calculations are correct, 12v @ 15 amps would be a maximum of 180 watts.

While a computer power supply would produce a nice clean signal, I don't believe each individual channel/circuit/whatever can handle that, it's meant to be balanced across the connectors for the motherboard and drives etc. I attempted to power a 55w automotive fog lamp from a molex connector on my computer's PSU once and was greeted with a brief burst of light, rather large spark and almost instant shutdown of the PC. Started back up after a minute, but still. With no other load I suppose it could work but I haven't seen many other hams using these to power their shack.

I found this forum thread on QRZ on the subject for what it's worth:
http://forums.qrz.com/showthread.php?246634-ATX-Power-Supply-for-Ham-Radio

You could also home brew:
http://users.belgacom.net/hamradio/schemas/12-20amps%20power%20supply_on6mu.htm