The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Is a simplex repeater useful in a disaster situation?  (Read 9126 times)
HS0ZIB

Ignore
« on: April 13, 2012, 05:14:02 PM »

I have one of the Argent units; bought it many years ago and used it to increase the range of the VHF HTs in a city area where I worked as a volunteer police officer (in Thailand).  The unit seemed to work very well - no complaints.

Now after the recent, (but thankfully small) tsunami here on Phuket Island, I've found this Argent unit again and was thinking if/how I could use it in a disaster siutation.

My first idea would be to permanently mount it atop my QTH antenna mast, allowing 2M HTs a greater coverage range in the vicinity of the international airport (I'm located 300 meters from the runway).  There is no 2M duplex repeater coverage in this area.

Or would it be more useful in a 'go-bag', and to deploy in a remote location?

My feelings are that if there were a major disaster in my area (tsunami/earthquake), then I/my equipment would be better-used to provide local and national radio comms from the region of the airport, which would probably be the first point of rescus/contact from outside the island.

Your thoughts/advice appreciated

Simon
« Last Edit: April 16, 2012, 01:11:29 AM by HS0ZIB » Logged
KG4RUL

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2012, 09:39:30 AM »

I would make it part of the Go-Bag along with a simple ground plane antenna that can be easily assembled/disassembled, a length of coax and some rope to hoist the antenna into a tree.
K1CJS

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2012, 06:31:24 AM »

The very principle of a simplex repeater would preclude it from being used in any sort of situation when many people could be transmitting at once.  It is very possible that such a repeater could cause communications fowl-ups rather than help.