The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: My First Ham set up  (Read 1670 times)
KD0IBG

Ignore
« on: June 29, 2009, 02:44:48 PM »

After looking at several forums and looking at different topics, I think I found a good starting set up. My situation is , I'm a fulltime RV'er working at different places around the country. I have a 5th wheel trailer that I call home. I just received my Tech
 license and my main interest is CW. I'm looking at an IC-718 or Yaesu FT-450, a G5RV or a Buddipole antenna, and a MFJ antenna tuner. What do you think of this setup? I would like to find something a little less expensive if possible. any comments pros or cons will be accepted as I'm just starting out with limited knowledge.

Thanks and 73,s Richard KD0IBG
AD7WN

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2009, 08:13:38 PM »

Congrats on getting your tech, Richard, and glad you're planning to work CW.

The FT-450 is a fine rig.  I'm sure you would have no regrets after getting it.  You could probably save a few hundred by getting a used one, but be careful there.  Much better to have the rig demonstrated to your satisfaction before paying for it.

Just my opinion, but I dislike the buddipole antenna.  If I were in your place, I would get a small loop antenna, such as the MFJ-1788.  That antenna is pricey, but it works well at low heights using vertical polarization.  It can be used without a transmatch if the pickup loop is carefully adjusted for best SWR.

You should consider the input from a great number of folks before making your decisions.

73 de John/AD7WN
KB2FCV

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2009, 01:46:06 PM »