The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Er...what is aprs used for ?  (Read 2673 times)
M6EES

Ignore
« on: July 21, 2018, 12:11:14 AM »

I am searching for a new angle on radio to keep me interested in this low part of the cycle. My kit is starting to gather dust...

Assuming virtually zero knowledge, could somebody tell me in laymans terms what hams use aprs for ?

Is it just sending reports of location from your radio that can be seen on a map later, or is there more to it than that ?

Interweb and youtube seem to assume a lot of knowledge.

KD5FOY

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2018, 02:26:43 PM »

http://www.g4ilo.com/aprs.html
KI7RS

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2018, 02:37:27 PM »

I'm really new to the hobby in general (May), and just started playing with APRS this weekend.  I did it for a few reasons, and the main one was I enjoy learning and trying out new stuff.  I think the GPS tracking and messaging that APRS provides is lost in the current world of everyone having a cell phone on their pocket.  I don't care if I really get into APRS fully, but I'm enjoying learning about it.  I use a backup radio, use an old Android phone, and I ordered an $18 cable.  I know it's kind of popular in the Summits on the Air crowd.  If some thing big happens to the grid I'll have the knowledge if I need it.        
SOFAR

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2018, 04:04:40 PM »

It's another way to make contacts.
If you look at the beacon info, there's usually a repeater frequency, and tone.
I have 146.520 followed by my name on my 'profile'.

Can also pick up general info, clubs send beacons with hamfest dates & hours.
N4SRN

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2018, 03:22:45 PM »

Well, it was doing just great when GPS, Cell Phones and the Internet came along and screwed it up. ;-)