Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Tokyo High Power or ACOM 1500  (Read 11454 times)
W5KAP
Member

Posts: 41




Ignore
« on: May 19, 2013, 05:42:21 PM »

Guys, (and gals), I am looking into purchasing a new amp.  Right now I run a an Ameriton AL-811H.  My rig is a Kenwood TS-2000 into a Steppir Big Vertical (so it can handle the power).  I have narrowed it down to two amps:   The Tokyo High Power 1.5FKX ( I think that's the name) and the ACOM 1500.  A bit of a difference in price I know.  I am looking for ease of use and a little overhead so I don't have to push the amp too hard.  I work mostly HF SSB but also want to do PSK 31 and RTTY occasionally.  I am aware that it's probably good either way but I would like to hear from some folks who know amps well.  I think the Alpha's are a bit out of my price range.

Cheers, Kenn W5KAP
           New Braunfels, TX
Logged

73 de Kenn
W5KAP
Member

Posts: 41




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2013, 05:43:11 PM »

Forgot to mention I have a dedicated 240V outlet in the shack

73 de Kenn
Logged

73 de Kenn
W8JX
Member

Posts: 13100




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2013, 05:59:11 PM »

I just was looking at the Acom amps a Hamvention today. The Acom 1500 is well built but while it is not a Auto tuner, it is very easy to tune and nearly fool proof. HiPower is a well built amp but Acom 1500 is rated 1500 pep and 1200 key down which beats hipower by several hundred watts. Also Acom will feed into 3 to 1 swr with no problems. Again both good amps but I would vote Acom here.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
W5KAP
Member

Posts: 41




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2013, 06:03:19 PM »

Thanks John, I appreciate the words of wisdom.  I am kind of leaning that way but there is a difference in price that I must consider too.  Hope you had a ball at Dayton.  I get to go every 10 years whether I like it or not!!  Next one in 2015!!!  IS there any other place that you know of other than Array Solutions where one can purchase one of these gems?

73 de Kenn
Logged

73 de Kenn
W8JX
Member

Posts: 13100




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 19, 2013, 06:20:04 PM »

No Kenn I do not. Then were dealing sunday/today and offered me 15% off if I wanted to take one home. Again they are both good Amps but 1500 is a legal limit amp and the hi power is not. If you do not need two antenna outputs and legal limit the Acom 1000 is about  grand less and about same power as hi power as it is rated 1000watts pep and continuous. Also Acom uses a vacuum relay for QSK and hy power does not. 
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
W5KAP
Member

Posts: 41




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2013, 06:36:59 PM »

Awesome deal and I have heard they are a good, reputable dealership.  I only ask a I worry when there is only one place to buy anything.  15% is a great deal and I hope you'll enjoy your amp a bunch.  I'll listen for you on the air and maybe I can hear you using it.  Just curious, is it out of the box yet?  heheheh

Cheers, Kenn
Logged

73 de Kenn
W5KAP
Member

Posts: 41




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2013, 06:40:55 PM »

John, you may be right.  THe 1000 looks good too and i'm sure I could live without that last 500 watts output.  It's more in the price range I was hoping for.  Does it also have the nifty TRI tune set up?

73 de Kenn
Logged

73 de Kenn
W8JX
Member

Posts: 13100




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2013, 07:05:00 PM »

John, you may be right.  THe 1000 looks good too and i'm sure I could live without that last 500 watts output.  It's more in the price range I was hoping for.  Does it also have the nifty TRI tune set up?

73 de Kenn

They both tune same way. The 1000 shares power supply with 1500 pretty much and why it is 1000 watts key down too. I did not buy one, I thought about it but maybe later. They offered 15% if I would take it and may have done more if I asked. I also looked at the 1011 which is a 700 watt amp but uses a pair of widely available and cheap 4cx250B's Same slick tuning and 250's only need a 30 sec warm up verse 3 min of other tubes.  I am stilling using a old Dentron with 4ea 572's at about 1000 watts. I like its 5 sec warmup.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2013, 07:07:29 PM by W8JX » Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
KH6AQ
Member

Posts: 7718




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2013, 02:15:25 AM »

Kenn,

the THP-1500 manual says for RTTY to reduce power by 20-30% and to use the optional fan. So you are looking at 700 watts RF output.

The ACOM 1500 will run 1200 watts RTTY out of the box and handle a 3:1 VSWR.
Logged
W9KDX
Member

Posts: 778




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2013, 07:03:02 PM »

Just a thought, as you seem to be going down a path I have seen before.  Moving up to a 1500 watt amp will give you a measurable difference over the 811H.  However, going to 1000 watts will not.  Before you spend $3000 for all that quality, you should make sure it is actually solving a problem.  For $3000, you could buy 3 more 811H amps and include shipping to one of the amp experts to take out all the bugs and factory defects.

But of course, that would make no sense.
Logged

Sam
W9KDX
SWL2002
Member

Posts: 895




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2013, 04:25:26 AM »

Guys, (and gals), I am looking into purchasing a new amp.  Right now I run a an Ameriton AL-811H.  My rig is a Kenwood TS-2000 into a Steppir Big Vertical (so it can handle the power).  I have narrowed it down to two amps:   The Tokyo High Power 1.5FKX ( I think that's the name) and the ACOM 1500.  A bit of a difference in price I know.  I am looking for ease of use and a little overhead so I don't have to push the amp too hard.  I work mostly HF SSB but also want to do PSK 31 and RTTY occasionally.  I am aware that it's probably good either way but I would like to hear from some folks who know amps well.  I think the Alpha's are a bit out of my price range.

Cheers, Kenn W5KAP
           New Braunfels, TX

Lets hope that you did not mean that you intend to run psk31 with the amp!
Logged
W6UV
Member

Posts: 1057




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: May 24, 2013, 08:41:45 AM »

Lets hope that you did not mean that you intend to run psk31 with the amp!

What's wrong with running PSK31 with an amp? I do. PSK31 is a weak-signal mode, not a QRP mode.

As long as you don't overdrive your audio, a high power PSK signal can be just as clean as a low power one.
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 13100




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: May 24, 2013, 08:52:24 AM »

Lets hope that you did not mean that you intend to run psk31 with the amp!

What's wrong with running PSK31 with an amp? I do. PSK31 is a weak-signal mode, not a QRP mode.

As long as you don't overdrive your audio, a high power PSK signal can be just as clean as a low power one.

There are those that have poor receiver bandwidth or want to believe in the magic all signals equal waterfall and shudder at the thought of someone running 500 watt PSK. If you have proper filtering it is not a problem. I have run about 500 watts on PSK a few times.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
G3RZP
Member

Posts: 543




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2013, 04:56:53 AM »

I am looking at the Acom 1500 too. Looked nice at Dayton, got a good review in QST, and for me, the fact that I have a pair of good 4CX1000A for spares is a plus. Having spares makes the chance of needing them remote!
Logged
KD8MJR
Member

Posts: 5159




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: May 28, 2013, 04:14:07 PM »

John, you may be right.  THe 1000 looks good too and i'm sure I could live without that last 500 watts output.  It's more in the price range I was hoping for.  Does it also have the nifty TRI tune set up?

73 de Kenn

Once you use a no tune up amp like the Tokyo Hy-power you will never want to go back.  the 2500 KFx is like having a 1500+ watt Radio, you never need to even look at the Amp much less tune it! The amp just follows you from band to band
and any operator screw ups or short circuits are caught instantly so you never need to worry.
Logged

“A lie can travel half way around the world while the truth is putting on its shoes.”  (Mark Twain)
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!