Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: SB200 tuned input band switch  (Read 28623 times)
W5KG
Member

Posts: 81




Ignore
« on: September 29, 2014, 10:43:21 AM »

I am in need of the tuned input band switch (wafer switch) for an SB200 that I am rebuilding.
I know that this is not for want ads but I figured more would see what I needed here and not in the want ads. I will check here for an answer or email me at  w5kg@suddenlink.net
Thanks
Don, W5KG
Logged
K5PB
Member

Posts: 27




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2014, 11:27:15 PM »

Hi Don,
It's been quite a while since I owned an SB-200 (good amp), but if I recall correctly, the input circuit switch was a fairly garden-variety 2-pole, 5-position wafer switch with 30-degree indexing.  This type of switch was made by CTS, Centralab, etc.  and was a stock item.  So I don't think it was unique to the SB-200.  If you look around, you might very well find one that fills the bill.

73 and GL,
Stu, K5PB
Logged
K8AXW
Member

Posts: 7036




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2014, 07:23:47 AM »

Don:

Suggest:  eBay

               Hamfests for rotary switches. PB is correct about looking over available
               rotary switches for a suitable wafer.  Nothing special about it if the    switching and indexing are correct.

               W8JI.com = Ask Tom if he has anything in stock.

               W1QJ   gudguyham@aol.com
       
               


               
Logged

A Pessimist is Never Disappointed!
G3RZP
Member

Posts: 1221




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2014, 02:43:54 AM »

I think KM1H does conversions of SB200s to 6m and ends up with the  bandswitches, input components etc. Try him, but I know his e mail address changed recently. Dig through the Amps reflector for his new one.

73

Peter G3RZP
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 13268




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2014, 03:36:32 AM »

I think KM1H does conversions of SB200s to 6m and ends up with the  bandswitches, input components etc. Try him, but I know his e mail address changed recently. Dig through the Amps reflector for his new one.

73

Peter G3RZP

I do not think 572's would be much good on 6m. I know that SB220's are converted though.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
K4RVN
Member

Posts: 261




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2014, 07:04:26 AM »

Don, try Lou W1 QJ . He converts Heathkits to 6 meters and has some parts available I think.
His info is on QRZ.com if interested.

Frank
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 13268




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2014, 07:09:52 AM »

Don, try Lou W1 QJ . He converts Heathkits to 6 meters and has some parts available I think.
His info is on QRZ.com if interested.

Frank

He does SB220's 
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
KB2FCV
Member

Posts: 2978


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2014, 07:34:28 AM »

I also suggest Lou. He helped me out with a few things I needed for my SB-200.
Logged
W1BR
Member

Posts: 4178




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: October 01, 2014, 07:50:01 AM »

Lou had converted SB-200 amps in the past. He probably has the parts. I'd suspect the input band switch for the SB-220 and SB-200 are likely interchangeable.  As far as I know, Carl, KM1H still does the SB-200 conversions. You could try him as well.

Pete
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 13268




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: October 01, 2014, 08:02:09 AM »

Lou had converted SB-200 amps in the past. He probably has the parts. I'd suspect the input band switch for the SB-220 and SB-200 are likely interchangeable.  As far as I know, Carl, KM1H still does the SB-200 conversions. You could try him as well.

Pete

I met Lou. Nice fellow. I remember asking him about SB200 conversions and he told me that the 572's efficiency on 6m was like 40% or less while 500z does a lot better.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
G3RZP
Member

Posts: 1221




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: October 01, 2014, 08:08:44 AM »

The 572B would not be my choice for 6 metres - except a push-pull pair of them as Class B modulators for high level AM! But Carl has done a  number of SB200s.
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 13268




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: October 01, 2014, 08:17:39 AM »

I think that the SB200 still is the finest amp ever built in its class. The amount of them still in service confirms this too.
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
W1BR
Member

Posts: 4178




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: October 01, 2014, 09:48:16 AM »

I think that the SB200 still is the finest amp ever built in its class. The amount of them still in service confirms this too.

That is as silly as running XP... the amplifier is dated. There is no support. It won't interface with modern radios for automatic bandswitching. It's legacy goes back to archiac FCC rules and regs that have been obsolete for decades. The 572 tubes are no longer in production. The design is over 40 years old! Huh Shocked

I think you should buy a very expensive modern amp and get ahead of the curve....   Grin Grin Grin
Logged
WN2C
Member

Posts: 550




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: October 01, 2014, 10:25:22 AM »

Don, not sure if this will work but check the link and give them a call.

http://harbachelectronics.com/shop/misc/sw-100-band-switch-wafer/

Rick  WN2C
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 13268




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: October 01, 2014, 10:36:38 AM »

I think that the SB200 still is the finest amp ever built in its class. The amount of them still in service confirms this too.

That is as silly as running XP... the amplifier is dated. There is no support. It won't interface with modern radios for automatic bandswitching. It's legacy goes back to archiac FCC rules and regs that have been obsolete for decades. The 572 tubes are no longer in production. The design is over 40 years old! Huh Shocked

I think you should buy a very expensive modern amp and get ahead of the curve....   Grin Grin Grin

The fact they still in demand and have aftermarket support says different. Not everyone wants automatic band switching with a amp or the complexity it has and difficulty to repair and high price tag. The 200 is easy to fix too. Its a better built amp than any modern AL 811 that cost more too. 572's are not impossible to find and I doubt they are going obsolete anytime soon.  
Logged

--------------------------------------
Ham since 1969....  Old School 20wpm REAL Extra Class..
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!