eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Yagi, Quad, Rotary dipole, LPDA | Hexbeam: G3TXQ by SP7IDX Help


Reviews Summary for Hexbeam: G3TXQ by SP7IDX
Hexbeam: G3TXQ by SP7IDX Reviews: 164 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $530
Description: A professionally engineered High-Quality,Heavy Duty, Light
Weight, Plug and Play no tuning necessary SIX amateur radio
bands 20-17-15-12-10-6 meters broadband hexagonal beam wire
antenna.Easy and quick to assembly. Made from high quality
components. Antenna designed by G3TXQ and made by SP7IDX.
More info on his website.
Product is in production.
More info: http://sp7idx-hexbeam.eu
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Hexbeam: G3TXQ by SP7IDX.

Page 1 of 17 —>

DG4SBZ Rating: 4/5 Nov 28, 2018 16:31 Send this review to a friend
heavy duty quality - very long delivery time  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
The hexbeam I am talking about is made by SP7IDX - quality is unbetable, but his answer and delivery times are terrible. Waldi delivered the HexBeam Mark III after 3 months, exactly one day before I started my vacation to "Langeoog" (Langeoog is one of the East Frisian Islands in northwest Germany), the beam was delivered well packed. Very last minute delivery HI !
After one and a half hours, the antenna was set up at the site. I used a Kenwood TS 480SAT with 100W output. The DX conditions were unfortunately very bad at that time - but some QSO to USA and South America on 20m were possible. Unfortunately, I did not have much time for further tests. Overall, the HExBeam Mark III makes a very stable impression. I will do some more tests on my next vacation.
 
IZ4HEO Rating: 5/5 Oct 14, 2018 10:18 Send this review to a friend
A good antenna for any reasons  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I have bought it last year and after waiting for a while, I received it in a very fast shipping. It is realized only with very high quality materials and installing it is very simple: I was alone and I had no problems in fixing it on my mast as it weights only 9 kg. The performance are very very good and reflect perfectly swr graph presented by Waldi. I had no problem at all with wind. Above all I like the advantage of having six band always available without tune needing and the small size that allow its installation everywhere. Installation manual is very clear and rich of example pictures.
 
EA2AJB Rating: 5/5 Oct 6, 2018 09:54 Send this review to a friend
Excellente Antenna and Well Made.  Time owned: more than 12 months
It is almost 7 years ago I put up my hexbeam on the roof. In 7 years only 5 clamps broken due to hailstone storm, so very satisfied with the materials of this antenna made by waldi. The antenna performs very well. I recommend this antenna 100 per cent to every ham. 73. Andres/EA2AJB
 
DL5NDA Rating: 4/5 Sep 24, 2018 16:09 Send this review to a friend
Macht Spaß  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Hallo YLs und OM.
Anfang letzter Woche wurde mir der Hexbeam geliefert. Am Dienstag begann ich mit der Montage am Boden. Nach gut einer Stunde war die Antenne zusammengebaut. Das hat richtig Spaß gemacht. Am Mittwoch konnte ich nur vormittags "mein Zeug" machen. Also Kabel vorbereiten, Werkzeug aufs Dach schaffen und nochmal alles im Kopf durchgehen. Donnerstag früh dann die Aktion auf dem Dach. Nach Abbau der Vertikal wurde die Hex aufs Dach geschafft. Meine Frau und unser Sohn haben mich dabei unterstützt. Es war nicht ganz einfach den Beam aufs Dach und an den Mast zu bringen. Elf Meter über Grund auf einer am Mast lehnenden und gesicherten Leiter macht man das nicht jeden Tag. Das Gewicht der Antenne kam mir da sehr entgegen. Die ganze Aktion, Vertikal runter Hex rauf, dauerte gut zwei Stunden. Das Verlegen der Kabel nochmal etwa eineinhalb. Anschließend der Probebetrieb. Das SWR paßt auf allen Bändern, unter 1.5. Gestern besuchte uns dann "Fabienne". Der Herbststurm fegte mit bis zu 120 Km/h über unser Dorf hinweg. Die Antenne hat es überstanden. Ich halte sie für ein gutes Produkt und eine gute Lösung fürs Einfamilienhäuschen oder Reihenhaus.
Leider ist da das Problem mit der Lieferzeit, bei mir 7 1/2 Monate. Ich hoffe für Waldi er bekommt das in den Griff. Zum Einen lebt er anscheinend davon zum anderen sollten auch andere YLs und OM die Chance auf solch eine Antenne haben dürfen.

Danke Waldi.

Karl, DL5NDA
 
DL5BL Rating: 5/5 Sep 15, 2018 13:09 Send this review to a friend
bester Bausatz  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Perfekt eingepackt angekommen, alles vorhanden.
Zunächst den Hauptteller und die Streben vorbereitet. Dann innerhalb einer Stunde alles zusammengebaut - viel Freude dabei gehabt.
Eine Anleitung ist nicht nötig!
jetzt brauch ich noch einen Mast dazu
Vielen dank, Waldi!
73 aus Oebisfelde, Bernd DL5BL
 
CT3HY Rating: 5/5 Aug 5, 2018 17:06 Send this review to a friend
Good quality antenna!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Yes i waited long time for the antenna to arrive, i think a little to much.
But for the antenna itself, was built with a excellent quality materials and exceeded my expectation. I recommend.
 
W6DOF Rating: 5/5 Jul 4, 2018 20:53 Send this review to a friend
Perfect right out of the box.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I had a bit of a wait to get the antenna, but it was well worth it. Waldi builds a very finished and very professional antenna. Everything fits together perfectly. When built, on a test stand at only 3 feet, the SWR was below 1.5 on all bands with NO adjustments. At 35 feet, the SWR is below 1.3 on all bands and is less than 1.1 across the entire 20 meter band. The performance reflects the beautiful fit and finish.
 
VA3LUK Rating: 4/5 Jun 17, 2018 21:17 Send this review to a friend
Good quality but need some tuning on 6,10 and 12 m  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I waited for an antenna about 2 months, which is not bad for me. Easy assembly and very good workmanship. I only had 2 problems with the anntena. After installation, I had to spend about 2 hours to tune up 6m band because the swr 1.1 was much below 50 MHz. At the time of tuning 6 m, the swr on 12 meters went to the top but I also managed to do it. A 10-meter band also needed matching to 28,500. which took a few minutes for me too. I did everything, and now it's ok. Antenna is working great. 2 weeks ago I had gusty wind up to 80 km/h and antenna survived. Although I had to devote some time to tuning 6m 12m and 10m I still recommend to buy the antenna from SP7IDX.
 
SM0CUH Rating: 5/5 Jun 12, 2018 20:59 Send this review to a friend
Compact Multiband Antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I was looking for the possibility to activate more bands including the WARC bands, but it always boiled down to the fact of limited space til I found the Hexbeam. It covers all bands from 6m to 20m and fits a small garden. SWR is very low on all bands and the Tuner is not necessary so I can quickly scan the higher bands to check for activity. An extra bonus: The Tuner disconnected releases about 5% extra output power from my ICOM Rig!
The 7meter aluminum mast offers a neat installation, and most people passing by do not even notice the antenna is there. XYL was upset when the Hex was assembled but up in the air it looks small and now fully accepted. Believe it or not but I erected the mast myself and I am not a strong man. We had strong winds the other day and I saw no problems, but I plan to lower the top section of the mast by ten centimeters or so to make it more robust at the end of the summer.
I am very excited about my Hex and it is so quick and easy to switch between different bands.
A Rotator is on my wish-list and I plan to put it on ground level.
 
OH2FUW Rating: 5/5 Jun 5, 2018 13:15 Send this review to a friend
great  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Hello! I ordered an antenna from Waldi in September last year and get it in March this year, exactly six months later. This is probably the only negative point, the rest of the antenna is simply great! Taking advantage of the early warm summer, I collected it last week and installed it on a self-made mast 10.5 meters high. Excellent performance, excellent quality and excellent features make this antenna irreplaceable for me. In late July, I'm traditionally going to rest on the island of Rhodes (SV5) and I want to take this antenna with me to participate in the IOTA Contest. I rate "excellent" 5, despite the long delivery it does not affect the quality of this antenna in any way. 73!
 
Page 1 of 17 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.