eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Keys & Paddles | Nye Viking Speed-X Keys Help


Reviews Summary for Nye Viking Speed-X Keys
Nye Viking Speed-X Keys Reviews: 34 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $40 (Approx.)
Description: First made by Les Logan, then by E.F. Johnson, and now by Wm M. Nye Company, the zinc bases of the Speed-X keys have been cast in the the same molds since the 1930's
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Nye Viking Speed-X Keys.

Page 1 of 4 —>

W9SA Rating: 5/5 Dec 16, 2017 07:23 Send this review to a friend
A great old key  Time owned: more than 12 months
I recently acquired a new radio and needed to hook up a key. I thought no problem because I have a small collection of straight keys and bugs. I tried several but settled on my rectangular Speed-X. The surprising thing is, this is the key given to me when I became a novice back in 1969! I worked a lot of stations with this key, a few crystals, and an HW-16. It's comfortable and the whole nostalgia thing is ok too.
 
K9FH Rating: 5/5 Jan 1, 2015 00:10 Send this review to a friend
Best straight key in my collection  Time owned: more than 12 months
This review is for the Classic Rectangular Speed-X Keys with Navy type knob. I had thought most straight keys were the same - until I used this key. Maybe it's the heavy brass armature or the navy type knob but this key has a solid feel like no other key I've used.
 
WF8O Rating: 5/5 Mar 15, 2014 11:47 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding CR!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I recently acquired a used Nye-Viking Speed-X straight key from an EBay auction. The oval base brass key was sporting anj 8-32 hex nut on one of the wire posts. I contact the MFG to request to buy a replacement knurled nut. A couple days later, Bill Nye personally called me to say he could only send a nickle plated one. I thanked him and took his advice that I go to the hardware store where I found an exact replacement! That'ssuper Customer Relations! He owed me nothing! I bought a used key off ebay! Great company!
 
KA0HVE Rating: 5/5 Jul 17, 2013 12:14 Send this review to a friend
Nicer than I realized.  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought my Nye Viking Heavy Duty Speed-X (114-320-001) new on 02/01/1980 for $10.95. I still have the box, receipt, and papers. This is a lovely key. Very adjustable with a crisp action. Replacement spring is available if needed. I'm adding the KB2 key base plate as soon as it arrives. This key is still being manufacture!
 
AI9K Rating: 5/5 Jan 24, 2013 23:42 Send this review to a friend
Great Straight key   Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Smooth operation, classic appearance, a crisp, clean feel like no other hand key I've used although I never tried one of those $400-500 keys.

My search is really over as I can't possibly see any other key beating this one!

A CW op since 1969 gives the Speed-X a 5...

 
AI9K Rating: 5/5 Jan 24, 2013 17:51 Send this review to a friend
Great Straight key  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Smooth operation, classic appearance, crisp clean feel like no other hand key I've used. I never tried one of those $400 keys though.

My search is really as I can't possibly see any other key beating this one!

The Speed-X rates a 5...
 
KB2HSH Rating: 4/5 Jan 11, 2013 18:13 Send this review to a friend
Solid classic  Time owned: more than 12 months
I still have the Speed-X that my mother purchased for me when I was in my late teens. It's a solidly built key and it has a great feel to it, and I have used it for nearly 20 years. However, it doesn't get a 5 ONLY because it is a basic key. There are many straight keys out there that are "prettier" or more solid in feel. For $40 in 1991, it's a tough act to follow.
 
K9KHJ Rating: 5/5 Sep 15, 2012 16:47 Send this review to a friend
My cold dead hands  Time owned: more than 12 months
Stumbled onto this at a hamfest, didn't think much of it but have fallen in love with the crisp feel and classic design. I will never, ever use another straight key.
 
N3US Rating: 5/5 Sep 8, 2012 08:40 Send this review to a friend
Great Manual Key  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Purchased my Nye Viking Speed-X with rectangular base a few weeks ago. I have been a ham since 1963 and my original Novice key was not this well built with such smooth action! I mainly use the Key for tuning up the Amp but I have made several QSOs with the Speed-X and it was so much fun to use. The Key is attractive to look at and does not move around.
 
KC8OYE Rating: 5/5 Oct 26, 2011 22:55 Send this review to a friend
nice key  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I got my Speed-X used from a local ham dealer for $5.. it didn't look very pretty, the plating was pretty much gone and it was rusting..
I took it apart, and hand polished the steel to a chome-like finish and it looks awesome again. This is my first key so I have nothing to compare it to.
 
Page 1 of 4 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.