eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: VHF/UHF+ Amateur Base/Mobile (non hand-held) | QYT KT-8900 Help


Reviews Summary for QYT KT-8900
QYT KT-8900 Reviews: 22 Average rating: 3.8/5 MSRP: $~130.00
Description: Tiny Dual Band Mobile
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.446shop.com/Product/Pro659.Html
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the QYT KT-8900.

Page 1 of 3 —>

KC4UBC Rating: 5/5 Jun 6, 2019 18:46 Send this review to a friend
great for the price  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Well I've had my little rig for abt 6mnts now and have not had any trouble. Now the mic audio I was told was poor. So I went to work on that ASAP. Went to youtube and found a mod for the mic. I removed a resister that they said needed to be by passed. I got good reports from other hams around town. The rig is easy to program with software. It has a lot of options on board in the menu.
KT-8900 is well worth the bucks and if you shop around on ebay you can get one really cheap.
73
kc4ubc bill
 
4X1ST Rating: 5/5 Jun 9, 2018 15:45 Send this review to a friend
Excellent little mobile  Time owned: more than 12 months
I was given an 8900 by a good friend when I returned to the hobby in 2017.

If you're looking for an FM mobile dual bander, this rig will fit the bill.
It's probably not the most sensitive receiver in the world, and the squelch breaks open on noise too easily, but for the price it can't be beaten.

I do recommend using Chirp and an FTDI cable for programming the rig (forget the Prolific cables unless you have an ancient version of Windows). Chirp will let you add name tags to your memories.

Note that the standard 8900 does not have a speaker jack (but the internal speaker is plenty loud enough on the road).
 
K6ITR Rating: 3/5 Jun 8, 2018 20:33 Send this review to a friend
Great for a go-box, not for a mobile.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I had no grand expectations for a $66 dual band, so I took a chance. Mine is the Juentai JT-6188 Plus. It has the same kind of programming as most Chinese HTs and mobiles, so no issues there. The ability to assign alpha characters to memories directly without software is a welcome addition. The audio on receive is very loud, a definite plus. Transmit audio is good, I've been told. No issues with muffled or low audio. Transmit power, as far as I can tell, is lower than advertised, more in the 15-20 watt range, depending on frequency. The squelch control is questionable, it appears to be either off or on. Not much difference between the lowest settings. The biggest problem with this radio, at least for me, is the amount of static it emits when my car is moving and someone is talking. No problems sitting at a stoplight, but as soon as the car is moving, static appears. If no one is talking, the squelch breaks randomly. Different antennas and running it off a battery don't help. So this radio will be part of a go-box, or sitting on my desk as a base, where it will work just fine. I wanted it to work as a cheap mobile, but it's just too irritating.
 
N9APD Rating: 4/5 Jun 7, 2018 19:08 Send this review to a friend
Pretty good for the money  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'm revising my review a bit. I just got the RT System programming software and cable for my radio - and PC programming is clean and easy with this software & cable. Rather than fuss with the cable and software that came with it, get the RT systems stuff - it just works.

The radio is decent. Audio is VERY LOUD form the small speaker. The display only seems to show frequency, if there is a way to show other tags form RT systems, I have not found out how yet. Still, for $636USD I just can't complain. I bought it to fir into a small space, and that works like a champ.
 
N9APD Rating: 4/5 May 28, 2018 14:44 Send this review to a friend
Decent for the Money  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I just got my radio, branded at Juentai JT-6188 Plus, and I have had a bit of time to play with it. I have had for years an Icom IC-281H that fit my vehicle, but when I changed vehicles it did'nt fit in as well as I liked - I wanted something smaller. I have found that the 20w in the JT-6188 VS the 50W in the Icom does not change my operating areas much around my favorite repeaters. Receive is just as good as is intermod sensitivity - although I may change my mind on intermod on my next trip down to Boston or NY. The manual that comes with it is nearly useless unless you are a native Chinese speaker (seems like a direct Google translation). There are online manuals that are far more useful. The programming software made for it is just plain awful. I placed an order with RT Systems to close that gap - money well spent I suspect. The "Engrish: on the box and the manual are good for a chuckle. The radio is described as a "Double Transceiver of the Car" , and the box promises features like "Remote Dizzy:. I found myself locally dizzy trying to follow the manual. Anyhow, those shortcomings aside, it's hard to beat the radio at the $38 USD I paid for it. Even factoring the the RT Systems software and cable I'm still ahead in my estimation.
 
K0BEL Rating: 5/5 Apr 14, 2018 08:35 Send this review to a friend
Great for the price  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have now had the kt-8900 for almost 2 years. The audio is very clear and I am told by listeners that they cannot tell the difference between my ft-1900 and the kt-8900. Important note: Chirp works with these radios. IMHO, don't buy any dual band radio that can't use Chirp. Next, open the mic and double the size of the mic hole. Go right through the circuit board - Just don't severe the very obvious line next to the hole. Between the Miklor site and the google or yahoo group there is lots of info on this radio. With a j-pole on my roof I can very clearly reach repeaters at 109 miles and 58 miles away. the 25 watts is perfectly adequate in my area.
 
KG5YEZ Rating: 4/5 Feb 15, 2018 06:56 Send this review to a friend
Clone: Juentai JT6188Plus  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Reviewed the radio on this site before purchase. This radio QYT KT8900 is also marketed as JT 6188, TD 8900, MP 300 and 8900 mini. Found the Juentai on Amazon for $69 including shipping. The food, the form factor is fantastic. seems well built. It does get warm, mount with sufficient air clearance. Draw on recieve is about 500ma. Transmit seems around 4A. keyboard programming requires patience and discipline. CHIRP works but some accessory settings seem to get frazzled. The 'recommended software does not work with the 'recommended programming cable' because the amazon cable has the prolific chip set and the drivers on windows will need back revisions. On transmit the radio has good power, with a dummy load, VHF High was 22.1 Watts and UHF High was 17 Watts, below the marketing hype but respectable. The complaint is that, as others have indicated, the volume knob is horrible. Comfortable listening is a challenge. You will hear this radio in your vehicle despite your road noise!
 
M6KSR Rating: 4/5 Jan 5, 2018 05:15 Send this review to a friend
Nice little radio.  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've just bought one of these little sets and whilst the instructions were 'basic' I found YouTube helpful. My one issue is that whilst setting it up a letter T icon has appeared when I select the 70cm band but is not there on 2m, along the top just next to where th CT icon is displayed and niw 70cm will not rx or tx. Factory reset does not seem to work. Any ideas what I have done or need to do please? Thanks guys and 73.
 
KU3H Rating: 4/5 Jun 27, 2017 11:38 Send this review to a friend
Good but has problems  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have been using this radio in the car for some time now it works surprisingly well considering its low price relative to other dual banders. The major problem I am having, of all things, is the power connector/fuse assembly. It has poor contacts and I now have to replace it using the old soldering iron. The power lead is very short and cannot be removed.

My other complaints are its very hard to read display (not easy for elderly eyes) and difficult to use controls and buttons.

I used it for a full day during the MS-150 event last September and it performed as it was supposed to. Programming must be done with its own software.

Documentation is poor, as expected for a Chinese product.
 
K6SDW Rating: 3/5 May 8, 2017 22:27 Send this review to a friend
Another update  Time owned: more than 12 months
If you read my previous review I complained about xmtr audio and receiver PL.

Well, the dealer I bought rig from sent me new Mic and that made a big difference in my audio and my fellow hams to stop complaining about my audio. He sent mic free and no shipping.

Receiver PL issue, well known, can only be solved by buying newer rig........NEVER HAPPEN!!!!

Rig is well built and if the fu..... receiver PL worked as it should I would radio a 4 only because the programming is a nightmare.

Cheers all
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.