eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | ICOM IC-7610 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7610
ICOM IC-7610 Reviews: 74 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $5,245.00 AUD
Description: NEW ICOM HF Radio IC-7610
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.icomamerica.com/en/products/amateur/hf/7610/default.aspx
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7610 .

Page 1 of 8 —>

ON4VP Rating: 5/5 Mar 1, 2019 10:03 Send this review to a friend
Feature rich very capable radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've owned quiet a few Icom HF radios over the years. I loved my IC-7600 and IC-7700 a lot. Almost 18 months ago I could not resist buying the smaller IC-7300 meant to be a second HF backup radio. But it was so much fun playing with it I sold it and got the IC-7610.

Things I really like:

- Dual equal separate receivers.
- Solid performance, good audio on tx and rx.
- Decent noise reduction.
- Fully controllable over internet thanks to internal webserver.
- Well thermal designed.
- Fast USB3 port for SDR console on computer.
- Dual CAT possibility's thanks to USB and CI-V.
- Dual watch on different bands (and antennas).
- Tracking two vfo's (one on the best features).
- Dual spectrum/waterfalls.
- Easy to use split function.
- Separate volume and RF gain knobs.
- Mute function on the volume knobs.
- Preselector.

What I regret:

- In this price range no illuminated buttons.
- No power setting per band.
- Reference level waterfall not per band.

Overall I'm very pleased with the ergonomics and the performance of this radio. I think it has not the most quiet receiver on the market but does very well. I started to like the tracking function a lot. Hooking up two antennas you can monitor both receptions in real time. And with one (change) button switch to active tx antenna. Ideal for rx and tx report comparison. This way I did extensive tests with base verticals and portable antennas comparing performance. But also vertical against beam signals. You can set so both scopes are visible and check background noise, signal strength, etc.

At home I use the IC-7610 in combination with an Acom 600S solid state amplifier. Perfect combo. It takes a few times to get the exact drive level setting but once adjusted I can use the RF power % level to set drive power between 1 and about 15 watts according my needs.

Internal sound card performs well to. Thanks to two virtual comports real FSK keying, PTT or CW keying can be done without the need of external devices. Webserver works great. Did some remote qso's from my office through internet and had no lag. Oposit station could not tell I worked from remote location.

No radio is perfect. If I could I would rate 4,8.
Bit pricey but since I got it 14 months ago never regretted the purchase.
 
HB9TMC Rating: 1/5 Feb 22, 2019 17:52 Send this review to a friend
Not suitable for QRSS  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I got myself the 7610 as a Christmas present in December 2018. I thought the long known display-problems were resolved by then. It turned out I was wrong.
After just one week, burn-in effects began to show up.

Antenna port isolation is terrible.
I tried to measure AF-filter characteristics on a dummy-load on Ant2, while an antenna was connected to Ant1. When selecting Ant2, I have signals up to S7-S8 on the dummy load. I would estimate the isolation to 30-35 dB on 40m.

Wobbling carriers, "birdies" on 7040 kHz.
When receiving said frequency on the subreceiver and DigiSel enabled, I have signals that are produced within the receiver. Right on the QRSS and WSPR frequencies. Those modes are designated for low SNR operation, every tenth of a dB counts. Any noise is degrading the performance. These spurs make my 7610 unusable for QRSS operation.

Unstable transmit power.
I start a transmission with 5W. After 2 minutes of transmission I have 7.5W output power, without changing the input level. Not suitable for path loss measurements.


After those disappointments within the first weeks I didn't wanted the IC-7610 anymore. But Icom doesn't want to take it back.

So I've sent it in for repair in January. Since I haven't heard anything for 3 weeks I was asking how long the repairs would take. "3-4 Months usually".

I'm left disappointed by Icom quality and service.
 
KE4WY Rating: 5/5 Jan 8, 2019 23:57 Send this review to a friend
Nice Rig  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
We have owned this IC-7610 for around 9 months and it has operated trouble free, easy to setup and operate.
 
NN6EE Rating: 5/5 Jan 8, 2019 02:04 Send this review to a friend
BEST SECONDARY RIG!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I applaud my 7610 in ALL RESPECTS, and I can't find ANYTHING ABOUT THE RIG TO "NIT-PICK"!!! PERIOD!!! Our main rig is the ELECRAFT "K-LINE", but with our 7610/SPE 1.5K-FA amp both of them kick ASS!!! So with ELECRAFT K-LINE & IC-7610/SPE 1.5K AMP we CAN'T LOSE!!!

PS,
For our 7610 our price was "$3810" !!!
 
K4TB Rating: 5/5 Dec 30, 2018 20:01 Send this review to a friend
Another in the Fine Icom 7xxx Series  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I've owned most of the IC-7xxx series, starting with the 756, then the 756 Pro III, the 7600, and now the 7610. All of them set the mark in their times for a fine, general purpose, state-of-the art transceiver with leading-edge features. The IC-7610 certainly continues the tradition.

As soon as I turned on the IC-7610 for the first time I was immediately impressed by the clarity of the audio. Signals that were not even moving the S-meter and buried in the mud were still Q-5 copy! Stronger signals were studio quality copy.

Since the 7600 I've been hooked on the dual watch feature for working DX on split operations. Now the 7610 carries it a step farther with a fully separate second receiver. Instead of just using the same band and antenna, each receiver can be used separately for things like monitoring 6 meters with one while operating 20 meters with the other. The tracking function allows full space diversity reception which can really enhance intelligibility. Minor nits: The volume knobs are wiggly but I can live with that; the new touch screen layout for accessing many features takes some getting used to but eventually makes operating more efficient it seems; and when a speaker is plugged into audio out jack #1 both receiver audios go to the outboard speaker instead of #2 going to the internal speaker. You have to plug in speakers to both audio jacks to get full audio separation.

An idea I have for Icom if it's feasible would be to take advantage of the dual SDR receivers and add a software revision to provide a noise cancellation capability digitally, emulating the analog technique used in the Timewave and MFJ external noise cancellers on the market. After all, (at the risk of hearing growls from software programmers everywhere), "it's only software, right?" :)

Another great radio - thank you Icom!

 
KC2FQ Rating: 3/5 Dec 21, 2018 16:37 Send this review to a friend
Followed the hype  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I'm not as enamored with the 7610 as most of the other reviewers here. I too "upgraded" from the 7300 and found some features the 7610 actually doesn't have and found others much harder to use. I'll admit right up front I'm picky but I believe many here, even the ones who put up "WOW 5.0" reviews, will agree with at least some of my issues.

First impression - it felt cheap in the knobs. They all wobble a bit and the plastic feels thinner than the 7300 but that might be my perception because of the larger size and stature. This radio lacks several buttons the 7300 has and wastes the massive increase in front panel real estate on useless ones. MP-W and MP-R Ö really? I'd MUCH prefer UP/DOWN buttons or how about MEM/VFO. Speaking of the memories, the 7300 held splits in the memories for repeater use - 7610 does not and the lack of a MEM/VFO button makes getting to 60 meters and other memories unnecessarily cumbersome. The lack of an UP/DOWN button adds to the difficulty working with the memories and other functions in the rig.

One of the main reasons I "upgraded" was for the ability to scan around on the bands while doing FT8. To do that you must switch to the sub band which of course drags FT8 with it. I discovered it still receives on the main band but the FT8 panel shows the sub band freq and you know what happens when you tune around too long when the FT8 software doesn't "like" your frequency.

Icom could have done much better with this rig. I do not see it as being worth 3 times the 7300 especially when you actually give up a few features and functionality. Granted some of these things I've complained about would matter very little if at all to a hard core contester but for me they did. If you're a 7300 owner looking to "upgrade," I implore you to at least spend an hour with one at a hamfest or friend's house to make sure you can live with these issues. There are more but then I'd be nit-picking a bit too much. I'm sure some will feel I'm already doing that. I am returning the rig and I will either go back to the 7300 or try something else. I wish that new Yaesu was out already!
 
WD1V Rating: 5/5 Dec 11, 2018 16:00 Send this review to a friend
Wow!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Upgrade from a 7300 12/10/2018 - Ham 56 years - Into radios and scopes

New 7610 picked up at HRO and installed. Migration was easy - same mic, power cord, coax for antenna,
USB, MacLoggerDX connect, and key, simple enough. Turned it on and its just been wow, wow, wow.
Iím just kind of taking it in segments - [whatís this? - oh, wow, OK] - again and again. It doesnít
fail to amaze or wow. Its high quality. And the receive audio is the best Iíve heard. Everyone sounds
so good. Even signals that are just above the noise floor pop up, out, and sound great.

Iím using the second receiver in tracking mode 50% of the time - its like great * 2 - very awesome
stereo. Lovely. And the other 50% same antenna but looking at CW spectrum on the left and SSB
part of 80 on the right with completely independent filters, scopes, PBT settings, and volume and
RF gain controls. Splits are trivial. Definitely warrants a nice pair of matching speakers.

73 and a very Merry Christmas de WD1V
 
K7NG Rating: 4/5 Nov 6, 2018 17:46 Send this review to a friend
Pretty darn good radio.  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I dearly love(d) my Ten Tec Orion, but it appears that components made of unobtanium are making it an excessive challenge to keep on the air. So I went out to find a replacement. I chose the IC-7610.

I find that it has a few 'wowee, gee whiz' features but really I am interested in operating CW in contests and DX pileups, plus digital modes in casual situations... and ease of operation, ergonomics, and basic performance specs are of more interest.

....Good:
Control of the RX filters. Three stored values of which the parameters may be adjusted.

The noise reduction is great, and works very well in CW mode, which in my experience is the exception.

CW QSK TX is quite adequate. I don't send fast enough to bump my head against the QSK limitations some folks have griped about, I guess.

The CW audio boost is NOT as good as the Orion, though it works somewhat. This with the NR does get some pretty rough signals up to good-copy status.

The SSB TX seems to be very clean and bright sounding, according to on-air checks I've made.

I do like the I/Q output which interfaces to HDSDR. Heck of a band scope. At least in my configuration, I only get radio <> HDSDR control of frequency. Not mode, and no sub-rx marker or anything. I don't know if this is 'normal' or if I'm doing something wrong. For general band watching I haven't any complaints other than I never liked the way HDSDR looks.

.... Not as good (IMHO)
I wish I had a single button to push to bring the manual notch function into operation.

I'm not particularly impressed with the performance of the noise blanker.

The 'Digi-Sel' preselector is probably nice if you're in a multi-multi contest operation or field day, or have a lot of high-power hams living down the block, but it didn't have any discernable positive effect in my situation through a couple of contests I dabbled in.

I have noted that the receiver seems awfully prone to A/D converter overload with AGC OFF, but I seem to get by with using AGC most of the time where I'd have turned AGC off on the Orion. With AGC, overload doesn't seem to have occurred, ever. Maybe a future firmware update will improve this issue.

Why on earth can't the two meter displays be set to monitor different functions? You can bring up a 'meter all' feature so it should be quite possible to monitor two different functions simultaneously with those nice pseudo-analog meters. Maybe in the future?

The fan seems to be kinda noisy and comes on when the temp gauge isn't any higher than normal.
----------
No show-stoppers. Overall, I think the IC-7610 is a great radio so far, and I'm not going to work very hard to find 'issues' with it. The price tag is shrinking a little and since it will probably be the last radio I ever buy, I'm not feeling any buyer's remorse.
 
K7BIT Rating: 5/5 Oct 26, 2018 09:05 Send this review to a friend
OGM!!!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Excellent radio, great feature set, good manuals, exceptional user interface/ergonomics. benchmarked against TS-890S, TS-990S its a better all around radio.
 
WB6UQA Rating: 5/5 Oct 17, 2018 20:07 Send this review to a friend
Very Good  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
You can transmit on the second vfo by pressing the split button.You can go on the second receiver and turn on the NB and NR.I have a IC 7300 but use the 7610 more.
 
Page 1 of 8 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.