eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - HF & HF+6M | RF Kit RF-2K+ Help


Reviews Summary for RF Kit RF-2K+
RF Kit RF-2K+ Reviews: 11 Average rating: 4.5/5 MSRP: $2800.00 aprx
Description: we used the time and experience of our first HF Amplifier project ( B26-RF01) to develop new features and improved components.

Outcome of our research and development is a 2xLDMOS HF Pallet in the range of 2500Watt.

We used the time and experience of our first HF Amplifier project ( B26-RF01) to develop new features and improved components.

Outcome of our research and development is a 2xLDMOS HF Pallet in the range of 2500Watt.

This is the first 2500 Watt HF commercial produced HF Pallet you can buy on the market.
this is a kit you finish your self this is not a cheap amp but if you want a one and done amp this is it you can set it p for the drive level of your choice by just changing the pad on the input i set mine up for 25 watts max so i could run it on am on 160 meters and 75 meters on ssb i run 5 watts in to it and run about legal limit it is not a plug and play unit you will learn how to set it up one word of advise do not skip around while doing the alignment do not go back and recheck past steps be positive and move forward the antenna tuner is a add on, the firmware is not ready for it yet as of 1/2018 should be out in the 055 release there is a yahoo group too! there is even a map of owners of these amps it will need 220 at at least 15 amps it has a 4 antenna switch built in and you assign antennas to bands but can switch them as needed off the front touch screen life is to short for QRP 73 from n8obu
Product is in production.
More info: http://rf-kit.de/en/Products.php
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the RF Kit RF-2K+.

Page 1 of 2 —>

N6MZ Rating: 0/5 Jun 12, 2019 15:15 Send this review to a friend
AVOID  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I received one of these amps for evaluation. I could not find any information to help me build the interface for my transceiver, nor could I find any info regarding two issues (a bug during boot, and overheating on 6m). To get any kind of information on this product, one must join their "email group," since there's ZERO technical info on the Rf-kit web site. After trying THREE TIMES over the span of a week to join the "email group," I received an extremely rude email response from their so-called "moderator" saying "You waste my time." Well, PLEASE DON'T WASTE ANY MORE OF MY TIME, I'll never do business with you. 73
 
PA8AD Rating: 5/5 Dec 26, 2018 16:08 Send this review to a friend
Great legal limit LMOS kit!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
Professional design with super performance for legal limit power on HF. Using it now for 6 months mainly in contests. Producing almost no noise. With a super cooling concept ensuring the temp not going above 50C degrees in intense CW contests. Simple kit to build. Just plug in the Rasberry, fit some coax cable and calibrate. Nice touch screen but also fully remote via LAN or WIFI. Great value for money with good support.
 
W1BIC Rating: 5/5 Dec 26, 2018 14:52 Send this review to a friend
Great "Smart" Amplifier  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I bought this at Dayton, May 2018. Shipping from Germany was a super FAST 2 Days through DHL, and it arrived in perfect condition. After reading the Alignment instructions, I realized it was a bit over my head, but thanks to Gary W4EEY for helping me with the final calibration of this beautiful piece of equipment!

This Software Defined amplifier has 2 computers that seem to make it nearly impossible to do something stupid that would let the smoke out.

I use my IC-7300 that drives this amplifier exclusively through RemoteHams.com and the built in remote control of this Amplifer through VnC (iPhone or Android) works Every Time.

A very reliable piece of equipment for 50% of what you will pay for something similar.

Here is a cool map of Locations of B26-PA owners:

https://www.google.com/maps/d/u/0/viewer?ll=36.26588620222498%2C-81.68308519769957&z=3&mid=1vR4slilGdQhGJCGbK979ouZ9xQ5epj91
 
K9HZ Rating: 4/5 Dec 25, 2018 16:58 Send this review to a friend
The Good and the Bad  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've owned the RF-2K+ now for more than a year. As an RF designer of LDMOS amplifiers myself, I was attracted to it's nice user interface and various automated features, and purchased it more to compare/ contrast/ review it against other designs in the same category. After using it, and with the release of other commercial amps in the same category with the same features, I will probably sell it... and from that perspective I don't have a lot of long term capital invested in it like others, so have a clear mind towards reviewing it.

The Good:

The RF-2K+ is a solidly designed amplifier loaded with plenty of features for those on a budget. An internal antenna tuner, selection of four antennas, touch screen and remote control, and wifi capable interface makes this an amplifier that everyone on a budget should look at. The heart of the amp... a dual BLF188 (now 189) brick with associated protection is extremely well designed. IMD is near the lowest I've measured on an LDMOS amp... even of my designs. The interface to this brick is an Arduino (used for signal processing, I/O, keying, conversions, metering, etc.) and a Raspberry Pi (user-machine interface). The interface is well done, has plenty of user information, and is selectable for different languages and layouts. The kit comes ready to assemble from instructions (more on this later) with just a few simple additional purchases to complete the kit (Fans, Raspberry Pi, Attenuator, etc.). The amp is an easy build for anyone with a little of building experience, connecting cables, mounting hardware, and testing and calibrating. The calibration takes a little while but yields a usable amplifier and interface that can generate 1500 watts out on 160-10 meters and upwards of 600 watts on 6 meters. I have used the amp in contests with good results. With the recommended fans, it operates cool and rarely trips our on SWR, power, or high temp faults even under the harshest conditions. On this basis I can recommend the amplifier.

The Bad:

The first amplifier I ordered got stuck in US customs because it had the wrong import designation codes on it (Type of merchandise). This took a couple of weeks to resolve but not problematic in and of itself. However when the amp arrived, the packing was so unprofessional that one corner of the amp had been bent in shipment. To the credit of RF Kit, they swapped out my amp with a new one, taking a few weeks to resolve. Once unpackaged, all of the parts were present and accounted for. To assemble the kit you need instructions, and they are posted in the files section of the associated GROUPS.IO group. Unfortunately this is disorganized as you are never sure if you have the latest instructions... or if the instructions pertains to your version of the kit or not. Originally, the ATU did not work because the firmware was not ready. This has been resolved through a later release of firmware. Elecraft, while using a GROUPS.IO group to communicate with their patrons, got all of this right... by posting instructions, firmware, and announcements on their website… and letting the discussions take place in the groups. There were a few updates that were a bit difficult to discern as to when they were appropriate... what rev level, etc. I suppose that is left to the reader in the end since it is a kit. There seem to be a lot of LDMOS failures reported on the group as of late. Not sure what it is all about... maybe poor calibration or too much over-drive but that needs to get resolved. The RF-KIT group is a bit regimented in it's control and free thinking is not tolerated. This may well be worth the upwards of $2K+ you can save with this kit.
 
W3FRG Rating: 5/5 Dec 25, 2018 01:38 Send this review to a friend
Excellent choice  Time owned: more than 12 months
I received my B26 RF-2K+ kit, with optional antenna tuner, in mid April 2017.
I had to wait a few additional months for a newly designed and tested LPF since other LPF units available did not meet technical requirements.
I built up the amp and tested it as far as I could go until the LPF arrived.
Once the LPF arrived, assembly and alignment was completed.
Procedures are readily available walking you through all of the necessary alignments.
This is an electronic kit designed for “Hands on Individuals” who can use their
knowledge, and hands on experience.
When you receive this amp kit, you become the owner and must take responsible for its completion.
There is no warranty, so when things go wrong you can’t just send it back and relax.
This isn’t to say there isn’t any advice to your questions and issues, on the contrary, there is a lot available. Using the RF-2K Reflector Groups.IO, email, Skype or the phone, you can get all the help required, but you must have the capability to perform the task at hand.
Having the test equipment and knowledge to use it, troubleshooting and the ability to remove and replace devices when required is a bare necessity. Good ESD procedures when handling, or soldering, smd or replacing LDMOS devices and wiring changes is essential.
Additionally, using the built-in VNC capability, remote operations are a snap.

This amp is a workhorse and will perform well beyond your expectations.
 
NG7M Rating: 5/5 Dec 24, 2018 18:01 Send this review to a friend
95% Complete QRO LDMOS Amplifier Kit that will not disappoint  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
A big thumbs up and Kudo's to Reinhard DH3NAB for bringing this amazing project to the Amateur Community: https://www.qrz.com/db/dh3nab

I have been a happy owner of an RF-KIT b26-RF2K+ since August of 2018, and made an extensive set of YouTube Videos that document my Journey assembling the kit: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCE7Pm45Q_M690wC0oLa6qUQ

Static Pictures of my assembly: http://www.nc7j.com/pa/main.php?cmd=album&var1=NG7M%2FRF-KIT%2F

Don't let the length and detail of my videos give you the impression this is a difficult amplifier to assemble!!! To the contrary and to echo what others have said, the kit can be assembled and be on the air in 1 or 2 days. Join the groups.io group here: https://b26-pa.groups.io/g/main

Do the research and you will discover that even with limited technical and soldering skills you will easily be able to get this amplifier on the air in short order.

As of August 2018 with the US Dollar to Euro exchange rate at that time, I was able to take delivery of my b26-RF2K+ with the antenna tuner option for ~$3600, shipping included. Of course your price will vary based on the exchange rate etc... Plan on another $80 to $100 US Dollars to purchase the additional items to complete the kit. Power cord, Raspberry PI 3 B+, three fans.

The remote capabilities with the b26-RF2K+ are excellent along with Transceiver integration options. You have a full Linux distribution on the Raspberry PI and can remote in and see the 7 inch touch screen panel as though you are sitting in front of the amplifier.

My videos will give you all the details on power required for power output across the bands etc. And make sure you use the latest documentation and reference the groups.io group where any new information will supersede what I have covered in the videos and pictures. You should keep in mind that this is a Kit! Expect to learn something along with way. The documentation will continue to be refined as time goes on. It will require some research and attention to detail to get the most out of the amplifier.

Max NG7M
 
WB5IRI Rating: 5/5 Dec 24, 2018 17:58 Send this review to a friend
Outstanding amp evolving constantly   Time owned: 6 to 12 months
A great amplifier that is still a work in progress. For the experimenter and technically minded, which is what hams are supposed to be, not mere appliance operators.

So, I am giving it a 5, even though, as a work in progress, sometimes things need tinkering. This amplifier represents the best bang for your buck, backed by solid German engineering and construction. As it evolves, the online suppport group provides a solid base of assistance and encouragement.
 
N4PY Rating: 5/5 Dec 24, 2018 12:15 Send this review to a friend
Great Amp  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I put this kit together in 2 days. I am so impressed with the quality in this amplifier. I have never seen such amazing protection from overdrive. It even has protection for a failure in its low pass filter. The gain of the LDMOS transistors is around 1500 times!
 
W6IZT Rating: 5/5 Dec 23, 2018 12:43 Send this review to a friend
Well built piece  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
This is my initial review having received the amp just 3 days ago. The amp is well designed and well built. Some assembly and alignment is required. Simple tools and a DVM are all that is needed. The user needs to provide a Raspberry Pi and fans. RF-KIT provides the software for the Pi on a micro SD card. Equipped with an ethernet port the amp is easily controlled remotely using UDP and VNC. The amp loafs along at 1500 w out. Drive power is determined by a user selected input pad. I have run the amp on FT8 @ 1500 watts on a number of bands without issue. Support from RF-KIT the user forum is outstanding.
 
W1XYZ Rating: 5/5 Nov 14, 2018 21:25 Send this review to a friend
Powerful, fun, sophisticated  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
If you are game to build a simple kit and can follow the many alignment instructions this amp will serve you well on 160 through 6. The Raspberry Pi IO controls and the Arduino internal switching controls are brilliant, the RF deck is superb, the high pass filter board is excellent, the tuner is very good and the fan noise - depending what you supply - can be almost zero. Just a couple of watts drive on 80 will get you over 600 Watts and this amp easily exceeds 1500 W on 160 through 10. On 6 M it is 2 dB less which doesn't bother me. It was fun to build, and supported by a great community. Also the display GUI is really nice! It is a centerpiece of my shack now.
 
Page 1 of 2 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.