eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: HF: Verticals; Wire; Loop | Butternut HF9V Help


Reviews Summary for Butternut HF9V
Butternut HF9V Reviews: 77 Average rating: 4.6/5 MSRP: $604.95 USD
Description: Work 9 popular bands; 80 thru 6 meters with a single, highly efficient vertical radiator only 26 ft. tall!
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.dxengineering.com/parts/but-hf9v
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Butternut HF9V.

Page 1 of 8 —>

W3PYF Rating: 5/5 Aug 26, 2019 14:01 Send this review to a friend
Don’t understand negative reviews - mine just works  Time owned: more than 12 months
I am using my second Butternut, having given away the one I bought in the 1980s to a ham down on his luck when I had bought a home with a 50’ tower. Then I had a luck downturn, and ended up buying a used one in 2008 on Craig’s List after giving up on an inferior Cushcraft R7.

Living in a rented little suburban cape in 2008, I didn’t want to bury radials, and so I mounted it on a 5’ Radio Shack length of TV mast driven into the ground, and used the same twin-lead radials shown in my saved 1980s literature. The radials were just 4 feet above the ground, so it was going to be a pain to mow under. But wasn’t sure it would work well at all.

It worked GREAT! I followed the directions for assembly exactly, and my MFJ antenna analyzer showed it was really close except on 80 CW. I guyed it in the middle of the coil section with “parachute” cord, anticipating tough north-of-Boston winters.

Fast forward 11 years through multiple savage winters (including the 6’ snow of 2015) to May 2019, that old Butternut and 11-year-old radials are still working great, except the 15 meter stub is broken. I took it down, cleaned the joints and installed new bolts, replaced the broken 15 meter stub, and re-erected it with a 6’ length of saved Radio Shack TV mast from 11 years earlier (devised a kind of tilt-over with the old 4-foot mast and stainless hose clamps) Couldn’t find a twin-lead source so I cleaned the ends of the old radials and reinstalled them, and a single 67’ copper wire radial for 80 CW.

The 2019 June/July weather is hot, so I ran the coax to my air conditioned office, and attached my Elecraft KX3 - 15 watts CW. And darned if it doesn’t make contact after contact all over Europe and South America. Just for kicks, I decide to check into ECARS on 7255 SSB - I rarely try SSB with the KX3 - and get a surprising S9 report.

When the weather cools, I will move the coax and KX3 to my “sunroom” shack where my TS940S feeds 40 and 80 meter common-feedline antenna up 20 feet for high-angle short-range communication (the Butternut isn’t very good for under 400 miles - too low radiation angle

Now, band conditions in 2019 aren’t anything like they were in 2008. They truly suck. Forget about 80 meter DX like back then, but 40 still has flashes of life, and 30/20 still live.

I find this a very credible antenna. At today’s $600 price, it would take an act of faith to pick it over a cheaper antenna. And I am sure those who decry its need for antenna analyzers and other complaints have their own experience. I’ve just found my two Butternuts - one roof mounted in the 1980s, and mine ground mounted up 4-6 feet with in-air radials - really works. Works well. But then again, I work 99% CW. Your results may vary.
 
LX1DH Rating: 5/5 Jan 1, 2019 16:23 Send this review to a friend
Still working well after 20 years  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased this antenna long time ago. She survived two moves. It is an antenna that must be reinforced in the middle. I added three aluminum "L" to stabilized the junction and since then it has held up well in storms. The antenna is difficult to adjust but once done, it works on all bands. Even on 80m, I can use it on the whole band with a tuner.

The antenna is mounted on the ground and requires multiple radials cables of different lengths. I buried them under the grass.
 
W9BJS Rating: 5/5 Mar 15, 2016 16:45 Send this review to a friend
Additional Data  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I purchased this Antenna from DX Engineering, the phone help was outstanding.
I assembled the antenna using their recommended Copper paste, the recommended radial plate, 20 omni directional counterpoise / ground radials with landscaping hoops to hold the wires down.
The grass has overgrown the wires and are not noticeable anymore.
Please read the instructions, they are well written, but you can get overwhelmed during the tuning process.
Do tune with an antenna analyzer, no room for guessing here.
I have made recent contacts to Southern Argentina, on 10 meters.
Not bad for a ground mounted vertical.
Now that the weather is warming up, I am going to re tune the antenna and pick up those other bands that I did not initially tune for as I just got my General License.
Again, I really like this piece of equipment.
73's
 
W9BJS Rating: 5/5 Mar 11, 2016 10:41 Send this review to a friend
I am totally Impressed  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I got licensed in October 2015,and went through the gambit of antenna shopping, for verticals. In my location, I have to be sensitive for home owners association issues. You Know the drill. I listened to the rants about counterpoise versus no counterpoise.
There are a number of fine vertical antenna manufacturers out there, and I looked at them all. Honestly !
I wanted a simple(not here), inexpensive(not so much),and a well performing antenna system.
When I buy something I try to buy the best for the current need and for the near future.
I honestly did not want to spend the money, however, I ordered the Butternut, and downloaded the manual for study.

When it arrived, I studied the instructions "AGAIN", then followed the instructions and the recommendations for building and installing this unit.
Finished unit pictures can be seen on my QRZ page. Due to the weather, and my license at the time, I did not tune all the bands, rather just the ones that I knew I was going to use right away.
I have 20 thirty three foot counterpoise radials, just under the grass, the only part besides tuning that I did not like..

Use an antenna analyzer on this antenna for set - up. If not then don't buy this antenna, you will do you and your equipment a major disservice.

Since I have been on the air, I have learned that there are a bunch of these out there, if not in use, torn down and stored, people are just not getting rid of these antennas when they move on from it.

The performance of this antenna outstanding! I always get complements on my signal for the power that I am running all the time.
I am impressed with each and every long distance contact the I make. I am in the phone bands primarily, and that is what I am tuned for.

I am running a Yeasu FT-991 usually with the power turned way down.

It's not a beam, for sure.
If I had it to do all over again, I don't believe that I would do it any differently!
I like this antenna system, Again the performance is just outstanding.
73's
 
W5WSS Rating: 5/5 Nov 3, 2015 12:17 Send this review to a friend
DXE- Butternut  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
DX Engineering recently acquired the brand. I included with the antenna their DXE brand radial plate/W their UHF coaxial splice connector mounted to the Plate body,DXE Radials(60),Jet lube SS-30 assembly paste, and their pre assembled 100ft DXE 400MAX w/their newly patented UHF silver connectors.
The performance of this classic multi band vertical antenna with the combined DXE RF Radial system is excellent...The contacts are excellent! I also included a Balun Designs Max choke model 1115DU at the antenna feed point.
 
NE8P Rating: 5/5 Dec 1, 2014 06:58 Send this review to a friend
Still My Pick  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had three HF6/9V's over the last 30 years. Just ground mounted the third one since I've moved to a new short-term QTH and can't put up the tower/tribander.

I still think this is one heckuva vertical antenna. Just played in the CQWW CW contest on 10 meters and worked 105 DXCC entities in eight hours of operating (with 500 watts.) That's pretty darn good! On the other end of the spectrum, it works surprisingly well on 80 meters also (acknowledging it's rather limited bandwidth) as evidenced by logging FT4TA and needing only about 15 minutes to do so.

However, know that a good radial system is very much a part of the recipe. I use fifty, fifty foot radials.

Highly recommended.....

Mike, NE8P
 
M0NST Rating: 5/5 Nov 22, 2014 10:05 Send this review to a friend
mod  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
fir the 17m section had plastic insulator melting so replaced with cermic tile cut and drilled now swr 1.2 on 17m antenna now perfect.
good mod wish I decided earlier
 
NN6CH Rating: 5/5 Sep 23, 2014 11:48 Send this review to a friend
Great All band Vertical  Time owned: more than 12 months
MY dad owned two - one permanently mounted, one just for Field Day

I have had mine for 6 years.

I am in an antenna restricted neighborhood, so I have the HF9V behind a palm tree on my property.

This thing works and works and works.

I have DXCC on 6 bands and WAS on 7 bands using this antenna exclusively.

It may seem a bit more expensive than others, but this antenna really works, I can not recommend it enough
 
M0NST Rating: 4/5 Jul 31, 2014 13:12 Send this review to a friend
good but manual and comenents need more anttention  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
cheap replacement caps found here if you break one http://hvstuff.com/20kv-68pf-high-voltage-ceramic-doorknob-capacitor higher kv that original here my results now if bencher had made it more durable better assemble had redo the q coil connectors badly soldered , the rg 11 also badly soldered pl259 as well as the soldier crimps, use copper its a better quality of cable than steel caps weak but now got the antenna tuned within acceptable limits. If the manual and above had been done properly I would have given it a 5. but tuning needs analyser and a lot of patience. 6m will be raised a little at some point but its acceptable for now. Be careful on 30m coil the cap is very brittle. Here is my new results. Im a lot happier now with it:-

Measured within Band Actual Measured Best SWR Near Band Comments Percentage out
Freq SWR R Xs Lowest Poss SWR Band Freq R Xs
160 M 1.800 Low 2.0:1 160M off by 0 KHz 0.00%
Ctr Freq 1.900 High 2.0:1 0 KHz Bandwidth at 0.000 Center Freq.
2.000 Ctr of Band 0.000 200 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

75/80 M 3.500 9.4 Low 2.0:1 3.689 80M off by 0 KHz -0.05%
Ctr Freq 3.723 1.4 High 2.0:1 3.757 69 KHz Bandwidth at 3.723 Center Freq.
4.000 16.2 Ctr of Band 3.723 500 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

60 M 5.3305 Low 2.0:1 60M off by 0 KHz 0.00%
Ctr Freq 5.3678 High 2.0:1 0 KHz Bandwidth at 0.000 Center Freq.
5.4050 Ctr of Band 0.000 75 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

40 M 7.000 1.5 Low 2.0:1 6.906 40M off by 27 KHz 13.37%
Ctr Freq 7.100 1.1 High 2.0:1 7.347 441 KHz Bandwidth at 7.127 Center Freq.
7.200 1.3 Ctr of Band 7.127 200 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

30 M 10.100 1.7 Low 2.0:1 10.065 30M off by -2 KHz -4.00%
Ctr Freq 10.125 1.5 High 2.0:1 10.181 116 KHz Bandwidth at 10.123 Center Freq.
10.150 1.6 Ctr of Band 10.123 50 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

20 M 14.000 1.4 Low 2.0:1 13.478 20M off by 261 KHz 74.43%
Ctr Freq 14.175 1.3 High 2.0:1 15.393 1915 KHz Bandwidth at 14.436 Center Freq.
14.350 1.3 Ctr of Band 14.436 350 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

17 M 18.068 1.8 Low 2.0:1 18.035 17M off by 21 KHz 21.50%
Ctr Freq 18.118 1.5 High 2.0:1 18.244 209 KHz Bandwidth at 18.140 Center Freq.
18.168 1.5 Ctr of Band 18.140 100 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

15 M 21.000 1.5 Low 2.0:1 20.778 15M off by 226 KHz 50.33%
Ctr Freq 21.225 1.1 High 2.0:1 22.125 1347 KHz Bandwidth at 21.452 Center Freq.
21.450 1.1 Ctr of Band 21.452 450 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

12 M 24.890 1.1 Low 2.0:1 24.587 12M off by -34 KHz -34.00%
Ctr Freq 24.940 1.0 High 2.0:1 25.225 638 KHz Bandwidth at 24.906 Center Freq.
24.990 1.1 Ctr of Band 24.906 100 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

10 M 28.000 1.3 Low 2.0:1 27.409 10M off by -477 KHz -28.03%
Ctr Freq 28.850 1.5 High 2.0:1 29.338 1929 KHz Bandwidth at 28.374 Center Freq.
29.700 2.4 Ctr of Band 28.374 1700 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band

6 M 50.000 1.4 Low 2.0:1 47.272 6M off by -2496 KHz -62.39%
Ctr Freq 52.000 2.2 High 2.0:1 51.737 4465 KHz Bandwidth at 49.505 Center Freq.
54.000 3.4 Ctr of Band 49.505 4000 KHz Bandwidth Needed to cover full band
50.549 1.1
andy
M0nst
 
M0NST Rating: 4/5 Jul 30, 2014 19:23 Send this review to a friend
a lot of work tuning   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I give it a 4 due to the fact im not happy yet with its tune the tuning could be better got 16 wires 10m long buried plus 3m x2.4 m of mesh under patio as earth for it , I want to get 18m and 20m lower swr any tips here's my results so far
75/80 M 3.500 9.8 Low 2.0:1 3.678
Ctr Freq 3.723 1.1 High 2.0:1 3.768
4.000 16.2 Ctr of Band 3.723


40 M 7.000 1.5 Low 2.0:1 6.917
Ctr Freq 7.100 1.3 High 2.0:1 7.347
7.200 1.4 Ctr of Band 7.132

30 M 10.100 1.3 Low 2.0:1 10.063
Ctr Freq 10.125 1.1 High 2.0:1 10.191
10.150 1.4 Ctr of Band 10.127

20 M 14.000 1.5 Low 2.0:1 13.526
Ctr Freq 14.175 1.4 High 2.0:1 15.423
14.350 1.5 Ctr of Band 14.475

17 M 18.068 1.8 Low 2.0:1 18.038
Ctr Freq 18.118 1.7 High 2.0:1 18.243
18.168 1.7 Ctr of Band 18.141 1.6 all through band form 100
15 M 21.000 1.5 Low 2.0:1 20.780
Ctr Freq 21.225 1.1 High 2.0:1 22.100
21.100 -21.450 1.2:1 Ctr of Band 21.440

12 M 24.890 1.0 Low 2.0:1 24.500
Ctr Freq 24.940 1.0 High 2.0:1 25.205
24.990 1.2 24.853 1.2 24.940 1.1:1

10 M 28.000 1.3 Low 2.0:1 27.313
Ctr Freq 28.850 1.6 High 2.0:1 29.305
29.700 2.5 28.309 swr 1.3

6 M 50.000 1.3 Low 2.0:1 48.020
50.200 1.2 :1
High 2.0:1 51.612
54.000 3.5 I have not finished tuning yet will have another go tomorrow will raise 6m a it and try and get 20m down any tips
in uk we do not have the 7.2-7.3 MHz part of band.
due to the amount of tuning and not completely understandable instructions (a lot hazy in places ) I had to repair this several times as I have retuned(fine tuned) it now about 150 times . sometimes this ahs thrown the antenna out a lot , I have my manual tuner in bypass mode for tis antenna so these are native figures, I used mfj269pro for taking he readings . any help for getting 20m and 17m down lower would be greatly appreciated as I would like tom use my ft857d on this antenna as well as "my boat anchor" the ts530s which I a brilliant radio , reason being putting a switch in to switch between radios some relay system, and the 857d don't like swr being greater than 1.5:1 as a rule where the ts530s handles that with ease
The radials are buried.
the resulst are a cut and paste form the xls spreadsheet made by ac8de but with my results in.(avail in the yahoo group) .
oen tip for you guys I have found don't always move the mount sometimes just adjust the coils for fine tuning(ie stretch of compress a little). movie the up or lower swings the swr to much
 
Page 1 of 8 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.