eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - HF & HF+6M | Alpha 87A Help


Reviews Summary for Alpha 87A
Alpha 87A Reviews: 99 Average rating: 4.8/5 MSRP: $6500 + shipping
Description: The Ultimate Linear Amplifier
Product is not in production.
More info: http://www.rkrdesignsllc.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Alpha 87A.

Page 1 of 10 —>

K7LFY Rating: 3/5 Aug 20, 2018 12:32 Send this review to a friend
An okay amplifier but ages poorly   Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had 3 87A's. The first was incredible (reliable) and I still have it after one return to the factory for repairs due to aging and corrosion. The other two I tried to add to the station never worked well. One had RF choke issues and would fry the choke on 15 meters if you weren't watching and went to 15 on auto-tune. The third one never worked well - ever...all were purchased from Alpha. I finally traded the last two in for a 9500 - an even bigger mistake. See my review on this turkey. The 87A is not a really good amplifier because of the weird tubes used. They are not available and very expensive. Better and cheaper amplifiers are available and many cover 6 meters which is another big Alpha failing in general. While I like the 87A it is really only a fair amplifier and the remote software is a joke. Don't even consider trying to have it out of the shack. Again - much better and cheaper options are out there today.
 
KE4AMQ Rating: 5/5 Mar 28, 2018 17:13 Send this review to a friend
I love it  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have a alpha 87a its sn 99xxxxxx so it is one of the last ones made with all upgrades. I did encounter a problem with the amp where it was in fault 1 because of a resistor that was blown on the hv board. Other then that the amplifier is amazing, auto tuning, so many safety features its unreal. This is one of the alphas you could put a brick on the key for 24 hrs. Watch the 6 part video on you tube with W4ETO talking about this amp, well he is the guy who built it. I have had many amps the 77dx the 77sx 374's al1500's and al82's and the 87a is the best.
 
KH6VP Rating: 5/5 Jul 28, 2015 04:21 Send this review to a friend
Wonderful linear   Time owned: 0 to 3 months
While visiting a friend who used to be a ham, I found this gem hidden under magazines stuck on the stairs leading to the attic and the shack. I got it for a song.
Since I already have a TenTec Titan linear (with two 3CX800A7 tubes - just like this one), I thought it would be an interesting comparison.

I got the transformer and the tubes out (man, this amp was full of dust), and got all this shipped as luggage to my QTH.
I cleaned, turned it on and got an error message. An email to RKR designs (who supports Alpha amps) got a code sent to me to unblock the linear. The code was uploaded via the serial interface.

Because of the computerized control, there is no way one can damage this linear. It will even tell you when a cable is not connected to the RF output and will not even let you transmit or anything.

Output power is similar to the Titan, it can do 1500W from about 55Watts in.

Great linear and it should last a long time. Just connect it and forget it.

Well worth the money!
 
NI7F Rating: 5/5 May 31, 2015 19:33 Send this review to a friend
Love my 87a  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my Alpha 87a new 20 years ago. It has been a workhorse and has never failed me. I have looked at the new Alpha 9500 but concluded why spend any money when the 87a has been the perfect HF amplifier.
 
OH6RP Rating: 5/5 Jan 14, 2014 03:29 Send this review to a friend
Best  Time owned: more than 12 months
Excellent amp. Support received from the factory fast and professional assistance with problems.
 
W6DDU Rating: 5/5 Dec 25, 2013 17:25 Send this review to a friend
the best amp ever  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
got mine about 8 mo ago. you cannot beleve the signal reports i get. this amp is great. i am one of the net control ops on MMSN 14.300 so it gets used a lot. i also chase dx get one you will love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
W5DXE Rating: 5/5 Dec 21, 2013 21:10 Send this review to a friend
The Best Auto Tune Amp Ever Built  Time owned: more than 12 months
The 87a is without a doubt the best auto tune amps ever built. Period. Only thing I would of liked to see is vacuum relays as well as something better than the Pin Diodes they use. Still... far and away the best ATA out there.
 
W4LWZ Rating: 5/5 Dec 21, 2013 14:58 Send this review to a friend
Super Amplifier  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought this amplifier from a friend a couple of months ago. I have used it for general rag chewing and in a couple of contests. I absolutely love it.
This amplifier has really renewed my interest in amateur radio. This is not the first amp. I have owned, but it is by far the best.
 
NN4SS Rating: 5/5 Dec 21, 2013 10:19 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have an Alpha 87A that I purchased in 1992. It has worked flawlessly for over 20 years & still looks & operates like brand new. Same tubes, same everything. CW QSK is totally silent and all you have to do is transmit to change bands. Takes about 60 watts for 1500 watts out.
 
KB0UGS Rating: 5/5 Dec 8, 2013 16:48 Send this review to a friend
best investment ever  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Never realized just how good the Alpha amps were till i bought a used 87a with less than 20 hours on it....wished i would have done it along time ago...
 
Page 1 of 10 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.