eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Antennas: VHF/UHF+ Omnidirectional: verticals, mobile, etc | Comet SBB-2/SBB-2NMO Help


Reviews Summary for Comet SBB-2/SBB-2NMO
Comet SBB-2/SBB-2NMO Reviews: 31 Average rating: 3.5/5 MSRP: $39.95
Description: 20" long 2m/70cm dual band mobile antenna. 1/4 wave, 2.15 dB gain on 2m, 5/8 wave, 3.8 dB gain on 70cm. VSWR 1.5:1 or less. Maximum power 100W.
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.cometantenna.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Comet SBB-2/SBB-2NMO.

<— Page 2 of 4 —>

K6JPR Rating: 1/5 Oct 19, 2014 16:46 Send this review to a friend
poor  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Have the NMO version. SWR is 1:1 on 70 cm but I'm not convinced it radiates! On 2 m it is crap! After adjusting for hours could not get the SWR below 6:1.....Never again....Larsen next time.
 
N0YK Rating: 2/5 Sep 14, 2012 05:35 Send this review to a friend
Weak above coil...  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I've used this antenna for the last 8 months with great success as far as performance goes. The antenna is weak right above the base coil and I've had it break in half twice. $35 for a new base coil so not worth it, you can just buy a new antenna for that price almost. Comet's reasoning for this weak part of the antenna was they make them like this on purpose so if you hit something the antenna breaks before your mount or roof of car does. Sure, I'll buy that but find a different antenna in the meantime.

Like I said, good performance but be very careful no to put any pressure on the antenna beside wind loading. I'm moving on to something else...

 
K9XXX Rating: 5/5 Oct 31, 2011 06:31 Send this review to a friend
low profile, good performance  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought the SBB-2NMO to serve a specific purpose;local use within 10 miles of my town of 13,000. The local club has a 2m and a .7m rpt.
I never need >5W in town. I have a number of mobile antennas and swap them as needed.
The flat black finish is beautiful,especially without the Comet sticker,which I removed.The antenna doesn't attract attention and doesn't hit
things.
No one will ever hear me complaining if the SBB-2NMO doesn't outperform a 7/8 wave.

 
N7SZF Rating: 4/5 Aug 22, 2011 09:25 Send this review to a friend
Decent Antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
It's not a Larsen, but it's not bad.

I own the UHF and two NMO versions of this antenna. It is YL approved as a "cute" antenna for the vehicles.

The UHF mount model won't do better than 2:1. I've tried it with several mag mounts and on two brands of NMO to UHF adapters. 2:1 is the best it will do. I've run it into branches and parking structure concrete on the mag mount - it still works.

The NMO models do 1.5:1 all over the band on a Larsen NMO mount.

The NMO ring on this antenna is short. If you have the Larsen NMO mount, it will sit about 2-3mm off the surface of your car. A large-ish O-ring or a bead of removeable silicone will keep the rain off your NMO mount.
 
N0FPE Rating: 0/5 Sep 14, 2010 15:04 Send this review to a friend
Junk any way u slice it  Time owned: more than 12 months
I had one of these things. used it for abt 30 minutes. never could get the SWR below 2:1 on any freq. 2.15 dbi gain really means ZERO gain in the real world. I will never use a "shortened" antenna. Compaired to a real antenna like a Larsen 2/70 this antenna is just a waste of money. It now resides in the junk box along side the radio Shack RG-58 coax. Both are as useful as a hangnail
 
KK9H Rating: 5/5 Sep 14, 2010 05:36 Send this review to a friend
Good small dual band antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought my SSB-2 and mount at Dayton in 2007. I had a new Ford Escape and I needed an antenna that would go in and out of my garage. The antenna is mounted in the left rear corner of the car near the top of the rear door. It has held up well and still looks pretty good after 3+ years of driving. When I go through the car wash, I always remove it and put the little cap on the mount. I live in the Chicago suburbs and  
am able to reach all the repeaters I want on both bands. It performs exactly as I would expect for a 2M quarter wave and small collinear on 70cm. My antenna is the SO-239 version and while my other antennas are NMO types, I have found this version to be problem-free. I would rcommend this antenna for anyone needing a smaller dual band antenna.
 
K5DRH Rating: 5/5 Dec 3, 2009 14:39 Send this review to a friend
Works Great  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I purchased this because it is small enough to mount on the roof of my car and still clear the parking garage at work. So far no problems. It's very rugged feeling, hefty for a small antenna. It's rigid so won't flex at highway speeds. I've even had my Subaru up to 100mph at one point - no problem with the antenna. It's actually mounted to the roof rack and run through the rear hatch of the wagon, connecting to the radio with about 6' of coax. SWR is very low, I checked it thoroughly on both VHF and UHF using a Daiwa CN-103L. Very happy with this antenna.
 
N3TCR Rating: 1/5 Feb 1, 2008 17:13 Send this review to a friend
Short Life - Disposable Antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased the UHF-mount variant of this antenna in January 2005 as a replacement for a broken Diamond NR770HB. I liked its small size (less than half the size of the Diamond) and it initially worked well.
After having trouble in September 2007 hitting local repeaters even with 5W from the HT in the vehicle, I looked at the SWR. It had gone up to over 5:1 over the entire 2M band.
No cause of failure has been determined, but I won't be buying another as a replacement.
 
W5GSR Rating: 5/5 Jan 2, 2008 10:03 Send this review to a friend
Good mobile antenna  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I mounted this antenna on the roof of my truck (drill in mount) and it works great for a 20" antenna,swr on 2 meters and 440 are darn near flat.I also checked the swr on it @ 462.675(GMRS) using a buisness band radio and it was about 1.3 at 25 watts.swr on 2/440 was checked at high and low power on a Alinco Dr-635.
 
K7JGB Rating: 5/5 Apr 9, 2007 19:29 Send this review to a friend
Great Dual Band Antenna  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned two of these antennas and they have worked great. The SWR is under 1.3 on VHF/UHF. It is also a good receiver antenna for railroad and UHF public safety frequencies. I would buy another one if I had another vehicle to put it on!

-Joshua K7JGB
 
<— Page 2 of 4 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.