eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Microphones for ham radio | ICOM SM-20 microphone Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM SM-20 microphone
ICOM SM-20 microphone Reviews: 70 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $259
Description: Unidirectional, electret microphone w/up/down switches
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.icomamerica.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM SM-20 microphone.

<— Page 3 of 7 —>

KC9FSH Rating: 5/5 Jan 8, 2010 21:52 Send this review to a friend
Excellent Mic  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased this mic about two or three years ago to use on my IC-706mkiig. I always got excellent audio reports and a few stations couldn't believe that I was using a 706.
Well I just picked up a IC-756ProII and instantly hooked up the SM20 to it. Every station that I have worked commented on how great the audio sounded.

Overall I am very happy with the microphone however I wish that the mic was positioned a bit higher but that is a minor complaint.

I picked up my SM20 for $80 used.
 
W1JUS Rating: 5/5 Sep 2, 2009 14:53 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic  Time owned: more than 12 months
The wonderful SM-20 works super on my fabulous IC -
7700 (tried the FTdx 9000 - didn't come close !) & the do it all IC- 7000 . Great audio reports with
both ! FYI on both rigs I set trans up as follows:
Wide - 100 - 2900
Mid - 200- 2900
Narrow - 300 - 2900
Why would one want to chop off the highs ?
73 Ray
 
N2SLO Rating: 5/5 Apr 5, 2009 14:05 Send this review to a friend
Excellent - 7 Years Running  Time owned: more than 12 months
I originally reviewed the SM-20 on October 19 2002... Didn't realize I made the purchase 7 years ago.. I use the microphone with a W2IHY Audio equalizer, and an ICOM 746 with a couple of different VHF amps.. The audio reports on 6M SSM are fantastic, and also 2M FM repeater and simplex. I paid $189 from HRO.. Never an issue, would buy again.. Why fool around? price is reasonable for audio performance....
 
WB3DYE Rating: 5/5 Apr 5, 2009 09:24 Send this review to a friend
GREAT MIKE/HIGH PRICED  Time owned: more than 12 months
Bought the SM 20 about 5 years ago for my 706 mk2g. Paid about 150 new. Works great! I was thinking about buying a second for my 2 meter 440 rig when I got a look at the price! WOW! no second mike for me ;-(
 
W3UT Rating: 5/5 Jul 30, 2008 07:20 Send this review to a friend
Nice Mike  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased mine new about 5 years ago along with my Icom 746. Since then I've used the mike with a
756 pro and and several 756 pro2s. I've always received excellent audio reports with this microphone. It may seem a bit overpriced but most name brand accessories are. The SM-20 has performed well for me and looks nice on the desk. It does its job well and I'm happy with my purchase.
 
K1FEV Rating: 2/5 Jul 29, 2008 18:41 Send this review to a friend
Just died  Time owned: more than 12 months
I bought the SM-20 with my Pro III about 14 months ago. Worked great. Last week it just died. There are no replacement parts and to mic head won't come apart. Got a Heil PR-781.
 
W4KVW Rating: 5/5 Jun 25, 2008 10:49 Send this review to a friend
GREAT MIKE  Time owned: more than 12 months
I use the SM-20 now as a backup mike to my HEIL PR-20 because I PREFER a boom microphone for hands free operation.The SM-20 is a GREAT sounding mike & I have used it on an ICOM 746,746 PRO,& my 756 PROII with GREAT audio reports.I can NOT tell ANY difference between the SM-20 & SM-8 audio on the above listed rigs.BOTH are GREAT desk mikes with a LOT of punch in the audio.A little high in price in my opinion but it's a GREAT sounding mike. }:>)
 
PA3HGT Rating: 4/5 Jun 19, 2008 11:41 Send this review to a friend
nice mike  Time owned: more than 12 months
This nice mike was connected to a 756,PROI,II and 775DSP with nice results.
Audio was very good.
To adjust the audio-level on the bottomside is quite a job because you got already more then enough audio when the trimpot is almost minimum with a good ALC !
I had this with 2 SM20's !I had open the trimpot for a millimeter so when i adjusted the SM20, i never touched it.
Up en down switches are not nice to play with,thet're feel like plastic and when you push the up or down they feel cheap.
 
HB9KL Rating: 3/5 Jun 13, 2008 05:29 Send this review to a friend
Looks good but not a good choice  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I bought a IC-7700 with the SM-20 Mic one month ago. Unfortunately I noticed that the mic is too sensitive and picks up too much environmental noise. A disadvantage is additionally the unidirectional pattern (fan noise).
I have replaced the SM-20 with a Heil PR-781, a professional quality dynamic mic which has a cardioid pattern.
I am now very satisfied and the audio reports are outstanding.
 
VK2FTNY Rating: 4/5 Apr 13, 2008 06:36 Send this review to a friend
timeless  Time owned: more than 12 months
Well what can you say about the sm20.Been around for ages and almost all icom buffs own one.They seem to work well and look good so i suppose thats part the reason they still sell well.I reckon for the money thou you can get a better mic both looking and performance.I still own my sm20 but now run a heil iCM boom mounted mike operated by a footswtch for not to many more dollars.But having said that if you want the matching piece to your icom setup you wont be disappointed in the sm20
 
<— Page 3 of 7 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.