eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Microphones for ham radio | Yaesu MH31 Help


Reviews Summary for Yaesu MH31
Yaesu MH31 Reviews: 23 Average rating: 2.9/5 MSRP: $41 Euro
Description: Original Handeld Mic
Product is in production.
More info: http://www.funktechnik-dathe.de/mikro.php?zubehoer
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the Yaesu MH31.

Page 1 of 3 —>

AC0MG Rating: 2/5 May 13, 2019 03:35 Send this review to a friend
Watch for imitations  Time owned: more than 12 months
My MH-31 got intermittent for my Yaesu FT-847. Ordered a new one from ebay. There are a lot of them out there for around $20-25. If you look carefully, the word Yaesu does not appear on the photos of the microphones. I think these are even poorer quality than the originals. The mold they come from is identical. Original and copy both made in China. The copy audio quality is abysmal. Buyer Beware.
 
SV1WS Rating: 2/5 Oct 6, 2017 16:16 Send this review to a friend
sv1ws  Time owned: more than 12 months
This mic have 184OM on mic element and is
very difficult to work well with resistance and
capacitors in parallel and series. No solved the
problem

































































































 
KD7WPJ Rating: 1/5 Sep 20, 2017 10:36 Send this review to a friend
Defective  Time owned: more than 12 months
MH-31 came with FT-817ND. A lot of correspondents complained about audio quality. Some of them mentioned about RFI or bad ground. Finally, microphone stopped work at all. DC resistance is still OK (around 600 Ohm), but no audio at all.
 
W2RS Rating: 4/5 Sep 15, 2017 08:53 Send this review to a friend
Works well with Orion II  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have several mics that I use with the Ten-Tec Orion II, including the MH-31.

What I like about the MH-31 is that it is virtually immune to RF, which is an issue here on some bands where I am using an end-fed antenna.

With the Orion II, Position 2 sounds better than Position 1. However, as some reviewers have mentioned, it still has a muddy bass sound. The cure for this is simple: switch to Position 1 and adjust the TX EQ in the Orion II to -14 dB. Good, clear SSB audio.
 
KD2JF Rating: 2/5 Aug 21, 2017 07:04 Send this review to a friend
Poor audio quality  Time owned: more than 12 months
This Mic came with my FT-847 two decades ago and It came with my FTDX-1200 a year ago. Very poor audio quality on SSB and only OK on FM. The bad thing is it comes with many Yaesu radios and unless the owner tries different mikes he will never realize the true audio quality of his transceiver. Its a shame Yaesu makes great radios and saddles them with this mic.
 
GM1SXX Rating: 1/5 Jul 2, 2016 06:27 Send this review to a friend
Horrible!  Time owned: more than 12 months
The MH-31 stock mic that comes with the FT817 does the radio no favours at all. On SSB it's muddy, muffled and unpleasant. I'd give it a zero, except that it does have some redeeming features... it's fairly ergonomic. I'm going to take that well-trodden path that many others have walked,.... rip out the dynamic mic capsule and replace it with an electret type. I was always convinced the mic was lousy, but having recently tried the 817 with a cheap electret mic instead, I now *know* the muffled dull audio really is all down to the MH-31.
 
K4DES Rating: 0/5 Mar 9, 2016 07:00 Send this review to a friend
UGH!  Time owned: more than 12 months
This horrible microphone uses phone cabling to connect it to the radio. It has never worked right, been back to the factory with no audio for repairs. Cable connections are the weak link.
 
M0HDX Rating: 5/5 May 8, 2015 16:12 Send this review to a friend
Works with MKV Field  Time owned: more than 12 months
The Yaesu MH-31 microphone works great with my yaesu ft-1000mkv field, Not a single day goes by without someone saying how well the two go together and my audio sounds great. I tried the heil goldline, pr-20,various headsets and a uher but always went back to the MH-31 microphone because it sounded so much better.After spending some time messing around with the internal eq in the mkv i finally got it sounding how i wanted with nice rounded audio that is punchy and clear.
 
K7LZR Rating: 5/5 May 7, 2015 23:01 Send this review to a friend
Its not as bad as that....  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have two of these - they came stock with my FT-817nd radios.

They have plenty of audio drive - this has been verified by looking at the output signals from the FT-817 on an oscilloscope and also on a calibrated HP model 8920A service monitor. In all cases the radios easily met rated average output power with normal speech and proper mic gain settings. Honestly people, adding so-called speech processing etc. to these mics - at least on the FT-817 - just makes them sound too punchy and somewhat annoying to listen to.

These mics are also quite rugged, and the ability to disconnect the cord at the mic itself is nice.

I also like that they have button style mic hangers rather than a loop hanger. The loop hangers are nice for hanging on nails, screws, etc. but they seem to get in the way a lot and they bend or break.

In my case at least, I find no serious faults.
 
M0KFO Rating: 1/5 May 7, 2015 00:38 Send this review to a friend
Replace with MH-67  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Another 1/5 of here.

This is an awful dynamic mic (nothing dynamic about it) that is supplier as standard on the FT-450D.

It's muffled, picks up non existent noises and generally gets you the sort of unsolicited audio comments that you're not looking for.

Replace it with the mic that came with the original FT-450, the MH-67 before they cut corners.

It isn't expensive, about 28 in the UK.

If you get the MH-68, set the gain to high and the eq to zero.
 
Page 1 of 3 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.