eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Amplifiers: RF Power - HF & HF+6M | SPE Expert 1K-FA Help


Reviews Summary for SPE Expert 1K-FA
SPE  Expert 1K-FA Reviews: 93 Average rating: 4.9/5 MSRP: $ 2700 Euro
Description: 1 KW Solid State Fully Automatic Linear Amplifier HF and 50Mhz

Product is in production.
More info: http://www.linear-amplifier.com
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the SPE Expert 1K-FA.

Page 1 of 10 —>

WX2CX Rating: 5/5 May 4, 2019 17:58 Send this review to a friend
Great Amp  Time owned: more than 12 months
I am not going to get into the technical data of the equipment, very versatile and fool proof amplifier. Delivers full 1200w no problem on 110v. I like it so much I just upgraded to the 1.3k. The construction is fantastic. 1k is not in production any more. SPE is offering the 1.3k-1.5k and 2k.
You cant go wrong with this amp.
73
 
K4FN Rating: 5/5 Feb 19, 2019 04:55 Send this review to a friend
Great for remote operation  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
I bought this amp used based on the recommendation of a fellow ham. I tried several other solid state amps and this unit outperforms all of them. The built-in antenna tuner is a real plus along with the SO2R features. The ALC system allows running your exciter with no manual drive adjustment.
In addition I am impressed with the control software. It allows seamless remote operation as you can monitor every parameter that is available from the front panel via a RS-232 link. I have my entire station automated for remote operation and this amp integrates nicely.
All of this and a US based repair facility.
 
K6HR Rating: 5/5 Mar 11, 2018 22:01 Send this review to a friend
Expert 1K-FA Wow!  Time owned: more than 12 months
Without a doubt the best amp I've owned thus far. Once you have tried a fully automatic amp, you will not want to go back! I use the 1K-FA with Flex radios and the operation is seamless. I can just click and work ANYWHERE. You must properly train the internal antenna tuner to obtain the best results.

1K-FA:
Radio 1: Flex 6300
Radio 2: Flex 6700
Ant 1: Mosley TA33JR-N-WARC
Ant 2: 130 ft Dipole
SO2R Ant: W6LVP Magnetic Loop Antenna

The 1K-FA is an amplifier I will keep, and perhaps even invest in one of the newer models. According to SPE/Bob Hardie, I own one of the first units brought into the US. It still performs perfectly in daily use. Make sure you have a solid ground connection to the amp. I have to use caution not to TX if both radios are on the same band, since it seems to "confuse" the internal antenna tuner. I protect the front end of my radios for this reason. I notice if I TX while on the same band, the tuner may need to be "retrained" for both radios for that band, otherwise I have not had any problems.

More info on my website: www.k6hr.com
 
9K2SJ Rating: 5/5 Jun 21, 2017 13:42 Send this review to a friend
1K-FA like a dream   Time owned: 6 to 12 months
This 1K-FA linear passed my wildest expectations it works like a charm never failed me. I tried half power 600w perfect and full power hits 1200w. With CAT installed just turn it on and go dxing. Smooth system with a great menu so portable with internal tuning system i take it with me to camp and dx.

I ham happy with 500w output rarely i push full power just when needed the extra punch.

In one word FLAWLESS.

It is discontinued now they don't make it anymore but if you can get one new or working used get it and you won't be sorry.
 
WB8LBZ Rating: 5/5 Feb 9, 2017 10:11 Send this review to a friend
only one you need  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have had the 1K-FA for several years. It has never failed me and always gives me the extra punch for a solid contact. I did pay a little over 4K for it but it was worth it. I introduced myself to Bob Hardie(Expert Linears of America) and told him this was the only time I would be talking to him since the amp was so good. I'm so confident I have not considered a back-up.
 
W0XXX Rating: 5/5 Feb 9, 2017 09:40 Send this review to a friend
Fantastic!  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
Solid state is the way to go...

It is of my opinion, that the tube market has seen its day. I will admit I was an Alpha guy long ago, I've owned two 87A boxes at one time and loved them. What causes me concern these days is the flooded market of manual and auto-tune high power amps on the trade boards. 20 years ago, I had complete confidence in ETO/Alpha. I cant say that any more. Things have changed, and modern technology is winning this battle. Those older 4cx/3cx driven amps will always have a fan base, but there will be a huge cost associated with it.

On to the review...

This was not an impulse purchase. This sort of investment (at least for me) requires some sort of research. I really like what SPE is doing. They have three models, and these three models have the same fundamental structure. Through my eyes, simple always wins at this sort of thing. There are no radical departures within the designs of these three models. That saves a TON of $$$ while doing research and development. On top of that, you have a local rep (in the USA) who has a solid RF background and understands the product. I did my research on Bob Hardie before I contacted him concerning my order.

Everything about this purchase was wonderful. The un-boxing confirmed I made the correct purchase. Its packaged perfectly. The carry case is something I wouldn't have expected, and it's classy. The menu system on the amp is simple and easy to navigate.

Dan Tassell made my cable set for my IC-7600. He got it right. I plugged it in, and it worked. I've since ordered a set for my TS-590SG as well.

Another thing which impressed me was the fault log. I can tell Bob did a solid run-up on my amp because I can see the faults which were created to make sure this thing was ready to go. It seems he didn't wipe the fault log after testing, and left it in place as proof. I like that.

SPE has me as a customer now, and I'm sure I will be working my way through their product line.
 
WX2CX Rating: 5/5 Feb 9, 2017 03:20 Send this review to a friend
Great amp  Time owned: 6 to 12 months
Great solid state amplifier, 1.2k on all bands. Very simple to set up and operate. Built cable as per manual to follow band and works fantastic.
 
ZS5WC Rating: 5/5 Jan 29, 2017 05:36 Send this review to a friend
QRO IN A BLINK!  Time owned: more than 12 months
I Simply LOVE the 1K-fa to bits!..
I have used it over a year with the TS-870, IC-7700, and now the Yaesu FTDX-3000.
Easy to interface , easy to set up and work DX.
With the FTDX I use the Band Data to control the amp-faster than the serial connection as it is simply a BCD combination.

Quiet, stays cool and is a pleasure to use.
I reset the Bias on my 6 Mosfets a while ago to correct spec. , and now she is even better.
Only negative comment there-the Bias set pots should REALLY be multiturn!.

The other nitpick is the front panel stiff membrane keypad. Would have preferred something along the line of a membrane keypad of a rig.
But it does work well, and you would be advised to use short fingernails and no sharp objects to operate the keys.

To All the Naysayers out there biased against Solid State amps, this one is the "prancing horse" of SS QRO.
Way of the future.
 
G0MJK Rating: 5/5 Jul 12, 2016 03:27 Send this review to a friend
Keeps on performing  Time owned: more than 12 months
I thought it was time to update my review having used this now for nearly two years. It has primarily been used with my Icom 7700 but I have also used it with an Icom 7600, both radios were linked to control the amp from the radio. I cannot fault this amplifier which keeps on exceeding my expectations. I may upgrade to the later 1.3KFA sometime but the waiting list currently is 3-4 months so am happy where I am.
 
G7NKS Rating: 5/5 Feb 28, 2016 07:46 Send this review to a friend
Excellent purchase and well pleased  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've had my SPE1K now for just over 1 year. I added it to my station alongside my trusty TL922. It's driven by a JRC JST 245 and it simply "works". It has significant levels of "operator error annulment" built in and it gives a good healthy 1 kw out, though I tend to run it on the half power setting as 500w out the back is often all that's needed for most Dx. I got mine 2nd hand off a nice chap on an auction site and it came complete with bag, box, discs etc. I still use the TL922 too, but the SPE1K is a nice "fire and forget" solution. Worth the money. Jim G7NKS IO92ub
 
Page 1 of 10 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.