eHam.net - Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) Community

Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net


Reviews Categories | Transceivers: HF Amateur HF+6M+VHF+UHF models - not QRP <5W | ICOM IC-7600 Help


Reviews Summary for ICOM IC-7600
ICOM IC-7600 Reviews: 159 Average rating: 4.7/5 MSRP: $3,950
Description: The ICOM IC-7600 has been unveiled at the Tokyo hamfair August 2008. DSP based HF/50 MHz 100W transceiver keeps the best of IC-756PROIII with the look and convenience of IC-7XXX seiries rigs.
Product is in production.
More info: http://
Email Subscription
You are not subscribed to this review.

Subscribe!
My Subscriptions
Subscriptions Help

You can write your own review of the ICOM IC-7600.

Page 1 of 16 —>

W0BKR Rating: 5/5 Jun 27, 2019 14:38 Send this review to a friend
Great Radio  Time owned: more than 12 months
Good performance mid range or top end. Really enjoying mine.
 
WD9IQN Rating: 5/5 Jan 26, 2019 23:27 Send this review to a friend
NICE RIG !!  Time owned: 3 to 6 months
I have several HF rigs. This IC-7600 is a very impressive radio. Great receive and transmit audio. Easy to operate. The DSP works great.
It's a keeper.
 
W8NIC Rating: 5/5 Jan 26, 2019 22:17 Send this review to a friend
Why did I wait this long?????  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
A good friend was kind enough to let me try his spare ic-7600 for a few weeks while he was travelling the world and because of this, I ended up buying one. It will be sitting permanently on my desk next to it's bigger brother the ic-7700.
I also had 2 yaesu radios, namely the ft-991 and the ft-897d which I'm now selling.
Icom radios are by far, superior radios in my opinion and I've had many radios to compare them to. The only radio I would say can out perform icoms would be the k3s, outside of that, nothing else come close.
 
N7RD Rating: 3/5 Aug 8, 2018 22:32 Send this review to a friend
Always Broke Down  Time owned: more than 12 months
I've owned this rig for 2 years now. When it's on my bench it's good, but spends too much time in the repair shop. Three times to be exact, the DC converter has gone out twice and now it's back in the shop once again. I might have gotten a lemon but it will be the last Icom lemon I get. Going back to my old solid performer Yaesu. Pretty rig just runs like a Edsel.
 
SA3AYF Rating: 5/5 Jul 2, 2018 14:53 Send this review to a friend
Great rig !  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have used this radio over 7 years now, and IMHO it is a winner in all aspects.
With the upgraded firmware you even get the waterfall on screen, a great tool when contesting or chasing DX.
In the updated FW you also get a ring-free CW filtering!
The FW update is easy to apply on your rig, just follow the simple instructions.
I have also owned several 746/756pro, 756pro II, proIII and combos like the IC-7000 and 7100 during these 7 years.
It has been great fun to have all of these side by side in my shack to do some real A/B testing compared to the 7600.
Ok, I like the 756pro-series, but they are all outdated by the 7600 in every aspect.
How anyone can find the layout (?) and buttons (??) any worse or located wrong compared to the 756:s is a mystery.
I canīt see any significant difference anywhere?
The RF power is adjusted on a small pot lower left hand, just as on all 746/756 series radios. No change.
Only different as the small pots on the 7600 dissapears when pushed in ! Great!
This is a real step up from the wobbly, flimsy controls on the 746/756 radios, where you could break those "toothpicks" in a snap.

As far as receiving and DSP circuitry, this radio outguns the older radios every day of the week.
In a crowded band, with very strong signals mixed with faint ones, is where the receiver realy shines.
It is picking the rare ones out buried where the 756xx radios would not even find them!

One thing bugs me, and that is the dull and midrange-proned audio from the built in speaker.
It sounds like listening to an old telephone compared to the "HiFi" sound of itīs preceeding 746/756 sibblings.

Other than that, if you get a chance and a good deal, buy one ! As simple as that :)
73//
 
W3WW Rating: 5/5 May 27, 2018 00:57 Send this review to a friend
One of the Best  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have used most Icom radios and this one runs right along with the IC-7700 and the 7300. Somehow I always go back to the 7600. Runs a close 2nd to the K3. Just a fun radio to operate.
 
W4HM Rating: 5/5 Dec 18, 2017 08:28 Send this review to a friend
Great Receiver  Time owned: more than 12 months
I purchased two Icom IC-7600's new before the IC-7610 came out. The rig is very well built, the main knobs and buttons are well laid out, it's called ergonomics. The main knobs and buttons are their on the front panel for easy access, which means no deep menu searching. The menu system itself is pretty simple and understandable.

The receiver is really good. It has excellent characteristics as far as 2 kHz spacing IMD, better than any other Icom rig I've ever owned, which includes a IC-718, IC-751A, IC-746 Pro, IC-756 Pro/2/3 and IC-7300. But it does not beat out the newer designed but since discontinued IC-7410. It also falls a little short of the Kenwood TS-590/SG and Elecraft K3(S). But for day to day operations the receiver is top notch.

On transmit it produces very high quality audio that get's lot's of compliments. I use the Heil iCM and HM-12 microphones on it.

The rig is also great as an SWL'ng receiver with excellent performance on HF and MF band but falls short on LF without a preselector in front of it like a Grove TUN 3/4.

If I had one criticism it would be the ventilation fan that turns on sometimes even on receive. But there are no overheating issues with the rig on transmit and the fan is not to noisy when it kicks in.

It's a great rig and you should grab one when deeply discounted before it's discontinued due to release the new IC-7610.
 
KY3W Rating: 3/5 Sep 7, 2017 06:02 Send this review to a friend
Disappointed  Time owned: more than 12 months
I thought I was upgrading from a 756ProIII to a 7600. After 3 years, I can share it wasn't much of an upgrade. After spending time with both rigs I can say the build quality of the ProIII is superior. The fact my ProIII is 10 years old and still working perfectly and my 3 year old 7600 just cost me $846 to replace a faulty logic board in no way effected my rating. It would have been the same. Here's why. The AGC suffers from transient spikes, making it almost useless in a contest or DX environment. I always set it to fast. The spectrum scope is useless for finding weak signals. The ProIII's analog scope is actually better. Elecraft's P3 makes both of them look sad. I was excited bout the v2 firmware until I saw the scope, which was no improvement. Perhaps if an option allows the scope to fill the screen vertically, it might see weak signals. Unlike K3's, 7600's cannot send voice recordings via software such as N1MM+. I'm forced to use .wav files from the PC. Very discouraging for contesting. Poor front panel layout. Why NR or CW Pitch is on a large knob and RF Power is not is beyond me. The latter is adjusted far more often. Buttons too close to the VFO. Impossible to push them without bumping it. A Power button that has to be pressed twice to power the rig. Anyone understand why? One of my primary reasons for upgrading was to get 3 and 6khz 1st IF filters. After reading lab tests my suspicions were confirmed. The 3 is much higher than 3 and the 6 is a little higher than 6. I believe due to the high 69Mhz IF making it difficult to achieve advertised specs. Knowing what I know now, I would have bought the INRAD filter for the ProIII. All is not bad. The 7600 does have a superior NB and NR circuit for instance. Overall though, the 7600 offers little more than the ProIII. I paid $3283 for my 7600 and consider it to be a big mistake. It is now worth roughly $2000 and I have over $4000 in it after just 3 years. A K3S line is looking more appealing all the time and is far more functional than an Icom.
 
K8CMR Rating: 4/5 Jul 2, 2017 07:32 Send this review to a friend
Good receiver, not great. Great features.  Time owned: more than 12 months
I have owned this one for about 1 1/2 years. Found the features to be terrific. Love the band scope and the ability to use a mouse to jump to a new signal instantly. Love the built-in RTTY and decode function for it. CW is superb especially if you use the APF feature or other filters. SSB is noisy and not nearly as quiet as my Icom 765, but if you learn to use the NR control along with the filters, it is quite adequate. Still not as pleasant to listen to as the IC 765. You have to learn to use the filter shapes and widths to hear the weak signals, and it takes some practice. Audio is great with both my Heil Heritage and Behringer xm8500 mics. Internal equalizer works well and is sensitive to small changes. Sherwood Labs ranks this rig at 39 and my Ic 765 ranked at 26 on their list and I agree with that. There are better receivers out there, but unless you're a contester, it doesn't matter that much.
 
IK0TIX Rating: 5/5 Mar 2, 2017 13:27 Send this review to a friend
5 stars radio  Time owned: 0 to 3 months
I had
FT757 GXII
TS140
TS850SAT
FT897/857/817
FLEX 1500
TS2000
this is the best radio ever!!!!
 
Page 1 of 16 —>


If you have any questions, problems, or suggestions about Reviews, please email your Reviews Manager.